We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Treanquil”
other travelers have booked this property
Front entrance of the apartment part of O Ninho
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance of the apartment part of O Ninho
A front view of O Ninho, the apartment being on the left.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front entrance of the apartment part of O Ninho
A front view of O Ninho, the apartment being on the left.
Lounge with log burner. There is feather board beamed ceilings with a veiling fan.
French doors to private back garden. All doors are fitted with retractable fly screens.
Kitchenette with tall fridge/freezer, microwave, worktop oven, 2 burner gas hob, cutlery/crockery.
The Monte has been restored retaining original features.
View through dining room stable door.
The bedroom with a wardrobe, ottoman, and under bed drawers. A stable door  to the front garden.
The bathroom has overhead shower, W.C., bidet, and basin. Also a wall fan heater.
Alternative steps to the rustic front ones.
Garden view from the drive.
Back garden of apartment with sun loungers, table/chairs, Sun Sail Shade and BBQ.
The Utility Room where the washing machine is shared with the owners.
In shared garden, away from the house when too hot. a breezy spot in the shade of the tree
Beja with the plains in the background. The hottest town in Portugal.
Lupin fields in the area in Spring.
Black pigs having a swim in the August sun. 10 minutes away.
Almodovar (20 minutes away) all ready for the festa.
An Alentejo Choral Group in the Almodovar festival of voices. Did they win or not? Very serious.
Milfontes - about an hour away
Barragem Da Monte Da Rocha - about 15 kms away - we have rods etc. - a licence is only 2.99 euros
Goats - taken on a local walk along the lanes
The Partridge Family - taken whilst driving locally
Storks in our olive tree. They come in Oct; breed; then leave in June/July when the little ones fly.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ourique, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pat L
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treanquil”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

O Ninho is spotlessly clean, well equipped, has great views and friendly owners.
This place is great if you like rolling countryside ,peace and quiet, great views, friendly locals and nice food. If you are a birdwatcher the place is heaven! We had excellent views of all the must see birds of the area, right on the doorstep. The wild flowers were amazing, late April into May. Lovely local produce, a good supermarket nearby and restaurants if you want to eat out. We will be returning for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnfaste...
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
“The place that you will love to be ....”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived late , I mean, first couple hours of the day ... We were a bit lost and tired and we called Richard and he gave us the right instructions to find the place and was easy to spot it . He was making light signals towards us. Finally, after a long journey we could breathe :). Richard was very kind and wellcoming and show us all we need to know.
The next day, during day light we start to visualize the property and the outskirts, believe me, it´s worth it and better than the picturs. We were in a place that is kind of a battery recharger .
You have the facilities to cook ( supermarkets near by ) or going to near by restaurants ( ask Richard ). You can explore the Costa Vicentina which is amazing , you can explore the Algarve and Baixo Alentejo too ... ( can even go to Spain ) . You are located on a middle position which is great. Jan , Richard´s wife, its a lovely lady and makes sure that you have all the information needed. We spent 6 amazing days in this lovely house and I just felt like we would stay for 60 :) Thanks Richard and Jan , you both are an amazing persons and thanks for let us enjoying those magnificents sunsets, we want to return.... :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoyng dinners at home
Liked least: Not staying longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford...
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic great place for a quiet getaway”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Would like to thank Richard and Jan for there fantastic welcome to their apartment near Ourique. Lovely setting and the apartment is set in a pretty garden. The hosts were extremely helpful and pointed us to attractions and cafes off the beaten track giving us a chance to experience the true Portugal. The only must is a car as the public transport is virtually non-existent. Am already planning a return trip

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clytie69
1 review
“Country tranquility”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at O Ninho for 2 weeks in August. The property is well kitted out and the owners keep it scrupulously clean and genuinely care about their guests' experience. There are two outside areas, one private, one technically shared with the owners although they did not use it during our stay. The outside areas are beautifully planted and there is shade provided by sails and umbrellas and plenty of garden furniture to relax in. You definitely need a car for your stay as the property is located in a sparsely populated area and ideally a car that is reasonably robust as many of the roads in the area have not yet been upgraded by the local authorities. Having said that, access to key services - supermarket, pharmacy, doctor, post office, banks - is good with two reasonably sized towns less than 15 minutes away. If you are considering a high summer stay, be aware that this part of Portugal can be exceptionally hot. We would love to go back in spring, early summer or autumn. We had an amazing stay, really made by the hosts Jan and Richard who were discreet if you wanted privacy but on hand and helpful if you need anything or just fancy a chat! They were very kind to us - making sure my sick partner was ok, giving us fresh eggs from their garden - and definitely made our stay the pleasure it was.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millieSto...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August/September. The accommodation has everything one could wish for in a self catering holiday. As for the owners Jan and Richard--nothing was too much trouble for them, we both enjoyed chatting to them over a glass of wine or two and yet they gave us our own space and respect our time to ourselves.We fell in love with Millie monster and Henry their beautiful cats. I would recommend this cottage for couples or single people only and not for children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: There was nothing that I liked least!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumbago...
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just returned from a great holiday at O Ninho. This is our second visit.
We are a retired couple and found here idyllic. Hosts are a super couple. Nothing is too much trouble. Very peaceful area suited us perfectly.
Accommodation is very comfortable all you need is there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility.
Liked least: I had to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing