We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply idyllic!”
other travelers have booked this property
The mill at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars. This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars.
This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
The master bedroom
beanbags for hiding away with a book
double bedroom
the snug
DVD and Books in the lounge and staircase to the master bedroom.
The swimming pool
a favourite spot for breakfast
just swimming here is a unique experience...
Sunset on the mill
our favourite dining area
The BBQ at sunrise
The front door
the swing
just one place to curl up with a good book
the outhouse - its's just where we store stuff.
more milky way
spectacular night skies
The milky way
the drive
Springtime is so colourful
Autumn
early morning walk
Zambugiera
nearby lake
The gate guardian
not a bad spot for breakfast
morning after a November storm
November 2009
Spring sunrise
Th sand terrace
evening by the bio-pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ourique, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
reebeeYor...
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply idyllic!”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at the Mill in April 2015. The Mill and its gardens are fantastic, plenty of places to relax by yourself or socialise with a group. The amenities at the Mill are great, there’s even a huge dvd library and games player for the odd inclement day.
We loved the attention that has gone into making it as eco as possible, and it appears to be totally off grid. The eco pool is fantastic!
The area around the Mill is very Portuguese, and the people in the local village are very friendly, we spent an evening in the village restaurant and we treated fantastically and made to feel very at home.
We can’t recommend the Mill enough, we’ve been trying to write a review for a few weeks and everything sounded contrite but the fact is, it’s a great place for a romantic week or a base to explore this area of Portugal. Even the drive to the Mill is fantastic, with what seems like hundreds of Stork nests on pole tops.

Can’t wait to return!

Ann-Marie and Neil

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prof_Hatm...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The most peaceful place in Portugal”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful, tranquil spot and a great place to recharge batteries. The mill itself is quaint but it has all you need to cook a great meal (with Portuguese ingredients) and generally chill on terrace. If it is actually chilly evening - rather than chilling - there are log stoves in the kitchen and lounge (although we only needed these twice on April evenings). There is even a visiting cat who appreciates a box of food from the local supermarket!

Local wine is superb!

Apart from relaxing, there is not a great deal to do in the immediate vicinity, but a 40 minute drive gets you to a range of excellent and very quiet beaches that my kids loved (so we did this a lot). In the opposite direction there is a supermarket 20 minutes away that is reasonably large. One very local highlight if you like horses is , a great stable owned by very knowledgeable English people who were very helpful and set us up with a great hack. There is a handbook of places to go locally, but we did not use this as the beaches and stables were enough for our kids (aged 10 and 13). There are several good restaurants around and I will try to review these separately.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineL...
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the mill”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
8
people found this review helpful

Had another fabulous fortnight at the mill in July. Really tranquil, with unsurpassable views. Great accommodation for our family of 4 plus son's girlfriend. Had some good day trips to the beaches at Odeceixe and Zambujeira do Mar. Food in local recommended restaurants was excellent. Mill is very comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing holiday away from it all. The starscape at night is fantastic. We all loved the new ecopool. I would not hesitate to recommend the mill. In fact the area is so appealing that my husband and I are buying a house just down the road!!! You'll not regret it if you go and stay here. One last major plus point: the butcher's in Santa Luzia is great, good meat and a range of other useful foodstuffs

Date of stay: July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mill surroundings
Liked least: We needed to put some blankets on the window to avoid ligth in the morning :-)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing