We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking location”
other travelers have booked this property
The mill at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars. This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars.
This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
The master bedroom
beanbags for hiding away with a book
double bedroom
the snug
DVD and Books in the lounge and staircase to the master bedroom.
The swimming pool
a favourite spot for breakfast
just swimming here is a unique experience...
Sunset on the mill
our favourite dining area
The BBQ at sunrise
just one place to curl up with a good book
The front door
the swing
the outhouse - its's just where we store stuff.
more milky way
spectacular night skies
The milky way
Springtime is so colourful
Autumn
early morning walk
Zambugiera
nearby lake
the drive
The gate guardian
not a bad spot for breakfast
November 2009
Spring sunrise
Th sand terrace
morning after a November storm
evening by the bio-pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ourique, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
annasofu
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking location”
Reviewed May 29, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We were guests at the Mill for 2 weeks and loved it, although we had intractable problems with the photo voltaic electricity supply which forced us to rely entirely on the generator and to finally cut short our anticipated 3 week stay by one week.

We are world travelers and the Mill is one of the most engaging places we have ever stayed in. The amenities are simple but quite adequate. This area of the Alentejo (Ourique - Odemira) is exceptionally unspoiled and lovely and green in the springtime, with the hills and fields carpeted with wild flowers.

We recommend the Mill to those looking for isolation, peace and quiet, and don't mind fueling wood stoves in cooler weather. A special place, but not for everybody!

Anna and Michael from Ottawa, Canada.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed October 13, 2010 for a stay in August 2010
8
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford
Reviewed September 25, 2010 for a stay in August 2010
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Unique and tranquil place to stay; spectacular views
Liked least: Problem w boiler so no hot water/cooker for a while; wasps!
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed September 5, 2010 for a stay in June 2010
4
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Otley. West Yorkshire
Reviewed March 20, 2010 for a stay in May 2009
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scotland
Reviewed March 4, 2010 for a stay in April 2009
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LONDON
Reviewed December 4, 2009 for a stay in May 2008
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: It's uniqueness, it's position and the peace.
Liked least: N/A
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing