We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely stay - 3 days nowhere near long enough!”
other traveler has booked this property
Your villa awaits
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your villa awaits
Your entrance to tranquility Your bedroom overlooking the vines
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Your villa awaits
Your entrance to tranquility
Your bedroom overlooking the vines
Interior of Papillon opening onto garden
One of our favourite restaurants
Your walk through the woods to Villeneuvette
A local market
The vendage late September
A view of the garden
Your picnic awaits
Here come the girls..........
Lac Salagou for sailing, bathing and picnicking
The Tour de France whizzing past
The local baker- can you resist?
Herbs at Clermont market.
Watch the sun go down with a good glass of wine.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Clermont l'Herault, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anthony S
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely stay - 3 days nowhere near long enough!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We only stayed for 3 days - because that was the only vacant period when we wanted to go. 3 weeks would be better if you want to make the most of both the property and the general area! Barbara and Richard made us very welcome, and were very helpful when asked for anything, though otherwise they were careful not to disturb us. We stumbled on the Foire aux Huitres at Bouzigues which was great fun, and there are plenty of places to visit in the general area. All in all a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury and tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in S France, Gardens and Pool less impressive”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We went here for 10 days for our honeymoon. Our cottage, Papillon was neat, tidy and well kept. The owners had provided us with a picnic on arrival, which was much appreciated as our journey was hot and tiring. The accommodation was lovely and it cannot top anywhere we have stayed so far.
On the other hand, whilst you have your own cottage, the gardens and pool are not so well kept. Although our cottage was not overlooked, at times it felt fairly uncomfortable as you are aware that there is another couple in the cottage opposite. Whilst we knew the pool was shared, ideally we would have preferred to have had more space between the cottages and pool sharing really doesn't work. Whilst one couple goes in, the other scarpers and vice versa likewise.
Don't get me wrong, the location and the cottage itself are lovely- it is just my personal preference. The owners were there for part of our stay- and they were both lovely. Reading our review book which was left in our cottage it appears that when the owners were there the reviews were very good. For us, we could have done with a little guidance of where to go etc rather than just a pack of information with just a long list of expensive restaurants.
My (new) wife- this was our honeymoon both gave our ten week break 6.5/10- I think next year we will do a more active holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage interior
Liked least: The shared pool- which wasn't very clean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2012
We have two cottages/villas which in the advertising clearly states they are on the same grounds, with a shared pool. Whether honeymooners, or holiday makers, everyone is different as to how much interaction they wish whilst they are away. The gardens are designed for privacy, but without building walls absolute privacy is impossible. For total privacy Le Grand Hermitage can be booked on an exclusive basis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJaneF
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A return to heavenly tranquility!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was our second year at Le Grand Hermitage - the first in Papillon! Both properties are almost identical although Papillon has the larger garden area. It was so like coming "home" driving through the gates again - Barbara and Richard are the perfect hosts and there are so many thoughtful touches that make one want to return! The area has so much to offer and we have fallen in love (again!) with the Languedoc, the people and Barbara and Richard (lol!). We cannot imagine staying in a nicer place with nicer people - discreet, kind and full of helpful suggestions to make your holiday that bit more perfect. The whole place screams comfort, homeliness, elegance and luxury without being pretentious in any way. We shall return.....for a third time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley R
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced,inconvenient and uncomfortable.”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

My stay was for 6 months- Oct-March. The mattress was so thin that you could feel every board,the linen was mis-matched,limp and needs replacing.The bath in the bedroom was totally impractical on wooden floor in front of glass doors overlooking the road! Half the electrical points did not work. There was no ironing board or mop.The wood-burner suffocated you upstairs whilst cool downstairs.Chasse dogs howled and barked right through the night at times.The chickens were charming but messed everywhere.A car was needed to go anywhere for anything.The small pool was filled with dead leaves most of the time. Washing machine was in a shed.Villas are too close together - no privacy. Very disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The actual building is very attractive to look at.
Liked least: No privacy - too close to next villa.Having to use car to go anywhere.Chasse dogs howling
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2012
The mattress is 6” deep on a sprung slatted support. All our previous guests have commented on the comfort of the bed. We supply 4 different sets of Egyptian cotton sheets for our long lets. We can only assume that the reviewer got the sets mixed up. The floor around the bath is coated in marine varnish and perfectly suitable for its purpose. The road is a country lane and is barely visible through the trees. Half the colour coded electrical points are on dimmer switches and are designed for filament bulb lights only. The reviewer was told this verbally and in our hand book. There is an ironing board and mop, along with a good stock other appliances and cleaning products the reviewer was shown this on arrival and is informed of it in our hand book. The wood burner can be easily regulated. The reviewer was given two demonstrations on lighting and using it. We live in the countryside and some of the farmers have dogs. We keep the area clean of chicken mess. The website counsels the advisability of having a car. We do not cover the pool in the winter as we consider a winter cover unsightly and dangerous (because of the fixings). We endeavour in the winter to keep the pool clean. We will try harder in future. The washing machine and tumble drier are in a brick built garage adjacent to the accommodation. The villas are designed so that they do not overlook each other. We were living in the villa next door for the entirety of the reviewer’s rental period and were entirely available. We cannot understand why she did not bring any of these points to our attention at the time. We believe that our winter monthly price, being less than the summer weekly price offers excellent value. Please see our other reviews
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidytrave...
england
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a romantic get away from it all”
Reviewed August 9, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

a perfect place to spend a week, two weeks, or longer! Privacy, help at hand when needed, beautiful surroundings, very quiet, could not fault it - in fact this is the first self-catering holiday where we have not eaten out at least 4 times during the week - we wanted so much to take advantage of the lovely evenings at le Grand Hermitage. - thanks so much to Barbara and Richard for making it such a great place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing