We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect escape”
other travelers have booked this property
Your Nid Amour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Nid Amour
Sumptuous bedroom, with bath & wet room Kitchen area, with Dish washer, SatelliteTv etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Your Nid Amour
Sumptuous bedroom, with bath & wet room
Kitchen area, with Dish washer, SatelliteTv etc
Villa and pool
The pool looking over the vines
Your entrance to peace and tranquility
Bathtub with views over vines
Your view from the bath
Kitchen opening onto pool
Your welcoming picnic on arrival
Grapes almost ready
Smell the flowers
Visit Villeneuvette an easy stroll through the woods
La Source our local retaurant walk from Le Grand Hermitage
We can arrange a fantastic days sailing for you
The enchanting walk through the woods for lunch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Clermont l'Herault, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cocktail2...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect escape”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

After a long journey we arrived late but to a lovely warm welcome from Barbara and Richard. The villa was also very welcoming and due to the time of the year the fantastic log burner was on. It was very efficient and heated the whole villa.
The villa was lovely with the bonus of a pool it was also very comfortable. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. The location was perfect and not far from Clermont that has a great weekly market and all the shops that we needed. We were surprised how good the weather was for March and would certainly consider having a holiday at that time again as we normally only visit in the Summer months.
Barbara is a fantastic cook and can make life easy for you if you want to have her cook for you. We had a lovely meal during our stay. We just want to thank Barbara and Richard for making our holiday one to remember as nothing was too much trouble. Hope to return again.
Thanks Barbara and Richard.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2017
Thank you Jane and Gordon t was a,pleasure looking after you. Out of season is always wonderful. The weather is gentler but you can nearly always rely on getting Sun.
We hope we see you again at Le grand hermitage, it would bravely to see you again.
Very best wishes Barbara and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Richard and Barbara were always on hand to resolve any queries for us. The villas are tastefully decorated and fully equipped. Barbara had prepared a lovely picnic for our arrival. Highlight for us was the design of the area around the pool an d the fact that the pool was only a couple of paces from the living room door. Although the D8 runs past there is barely any traffic on it whatsoever so the location is wonderfully peaceful. Bedding and toiletries are high quality. Surrounding scenery is delightful as were the chickens. There are several villages, towns, areas etc to visit in a 30 mile radius.
While we were there in early September the day time temperatures were in the thirties and more importantly the night time temperatures in the twenties, so the absence of air conditioning was more of an issue than we expected. However, the bedroom did have a huge ceiling fan.
Wi-fi was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Hello David and Mary, many thanks for your review, we hope Mary carries on with her well being after your stay with us, and hope we meet again. Very best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flynnstud...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Adjectives don't really do it justice”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It has been said "Why would you go on holiday and stay somewhere not as nice as home?". Well now you need not. Barbara and Richard's two barns: Papillon and Cigale are about as special as one would hope for in a retreat away from the bustle of life. Walk into the barn and immediately you know you have made a good choice. I even forgot about the cicadas after a while, and they annoy me mightily. Very close to Clermont L'Herault for an abundance of supermarkets to stock up on essentials (except on Sunday), and a smattering of restaurants, bars, shops and bustling market day. Easily within reach of Montpelier, Beziers and most of southern Languedoc. But none of that really matters when you have such a pleasant home from home in which to relax. Get yourself some wine, beer and confit de canard from the supermarket and just give yourself that well deserved break. Oh, and do take advantage of one of the host's dinner evenings. They are both excellent hosts, serving lovely home-cooked fayre, local wines and good conversation. We shall most certainly be returning as most guests seem to do. Wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chickens
Liked least: Not Applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
How lovely to hear from you and thank you so much for your review.
We really hope you do return to us, you will be more than welcome. Dinner is of course on the house for returnees - just another little temptation. Hope your fabulous art is going well. Eat your heart out Warhol.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken-Pamel...
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sublime, relaxing and luxurious. Very French.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A truly wonderful relaxing holiday. On arrival Richard and Barbara greeted us warmly and showed us around the property. Beautifully and imaginatively equipped with subtle touches by Barbara. A delicious picnic basket was gratefully consumed in the garden when we had unpacked.
The setting is magnificent with delightful views of surrounding country and yet convenient for local amenities in Clermont. Well equipped, very comfortable and spotlessly clean throughout. Such a pleasure to cool off in the inviting pool adjoining Cigale/Papillon. Richard and Barbara were always discreetly available had we required anything. Richard was of great help to all when lightning struck locally.
We took the opportunity to dine with Richard and Barbara which was delicious and thoroughly recommend as part of your stay. Quite clearly more than "enthusiastic cooks" !
Hopefully booking for return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and privacy afforded.
Liked least: Leaving !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing apart from the odd bit of stormy weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
Hook
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It really is that wonderful!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fantastic week in Cigale's twin gite, Papillon. It was quiet, sunny and perfect for catching up on some 'us' time. The facilities were comprehensive, everything you needed, not that we did much cooking, and the situation is idyllic. The pool was warm and inviting and the chickens were friendly and came and joined us every day. The gives are close enough to the Med to allow an easy drive to the sandy beaches, but far enough inland to avoid the traffic. It was so peaceful, despite the vignerons starting the vendage and driving around in their little tractors. Richard & Barbara were friendly and helpful, but also melted away when you wanted to be undisturbed. It was the French dream!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: Being woken up by Monsieur and his little tractor!! Nothing like staying in the country!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from bath and hammocks!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing