We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice gastro pub.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fishpool Inn

The Fishpool Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Delamere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Fishpool Inn is a cosy, characterful inn dating back to the 18th century.Having undergone a year-long sympathetic restoration the doors to the new Fishpool Inn opened February 2013.Serving real ales, fine wines and freshly prepared food using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, the menu features traditional home comforts and modern British and European dishes.The open kitchen allows diners to watch the chefs at work whether creating succulent healthy dishes using our innovative Inka charcoal oven or making flat breads, pizzas and handmade pies in our Woodstone oven.We hope to see you soon.
Crewe
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice gastro pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

First visit to this pub, we were recommended to go, it was a good recommendation. We went in December at the weekend and it was full of Christmas parties. The atmosphere was nice. The interior of the pub is very nice, the Christmas tree is fantastic, worth a visit to see that. The theme inside is countryside. The food menu is good, a great varied selection, with a specials menu also. A reasonable wine list with good choices, catering for the majority. We all had different choices and enjoyed them. Good local real aisles and selection of lagers. We have re booked for 2 weeks time with the family.
You should book a table at busy times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    416
    222
    107
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and service excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked for 17 people to celebrate my husbands special birthday. Richard was very helpful with our requirements and we all had the 3 course Christmas Fayre menu the food and presentation was excellent. Well done Fishpool

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pops64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is my second review of the Fishpool, I decided to review it again as I went with a friend who had never visited before. We went for lunch having just visited the Hollies Farm Shop. We both had the pie of the week which was very good and plentiful. We were seated next to a roaring log fire in what was the orginal part of this country pub and the part which feels more cosy.

The decor of this place is stunning and their Christmas tree at the entrance is truly lovely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helpet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What an incredible place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We parked our car and walked to the entrance not knowing what to expect, once inside we were blown away, what a stunning restaurant, our eyes were everywhere as the interior was quite stunning, we took our seats and a member of staff approached with menus, drinks ordered and our food order was taken and not waiting too long our fayre arrived, absolutely yummy. Staff were very friendly, service was excellent, food was yummy, reasonably priced, the seating and decor was incredible, would I recommend, most certainly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony080951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This is a great pub and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have been to this restaurant a few times and wanted to let you know how lovely it is. The pub itself has been extended and it has been done to a very high standard. The food is lovely and a good selection. The staff are also very friendly and very informative about other hotels and restaurants that are part of the same group. We have also booked for next year to take the family for a special birthday celebration.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishpool Inn also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Fishpool Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing