We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Comfortable Base to explore the island”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of 5 Ajoupa Villas

18 reviews | other travelers have booked this property
Townhouse 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 4 Pets not allowed Save
#5 Ajoupa Villas
#5 Ajoupa Villas
Front view with pool
Main bedroom
View from main bedroom
Second bedroom
Upstairs hallway looking into the second bedroom
Living room
Living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room
Dining room
Pool area
Front gates
Looking over the pool at the villa
View from the side of the house
Garden next to the house
Pool
Deck chairs infront of the pool
View from the sea
Sunset from Ajoupa Villas
Local Batts Rock Beach
One of the many beaches in Barbados
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Sitting on the balcony watching the sunset
Liked least: Lack of TV as its nice to watch even the local news.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chris3101
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
What a gem!
2
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from 11 nights at 5 Ajoupa Villas. First of all Barbados is amazing with white sands, turquoise sea, beautiful weather and lovely people. This villa which is part of a small 14 villa gated complex is not in a touristy area which is fantastic. Its a very short walk to the road to pick up the fabulous yellow reggae buses and also to the beach. Jordans supermarket - which is well stocked is about 5 mins walk away. I will say that food is expensive, the locals told us that it had doubled in the last 2 years - almost everything is imported. Bigger supermarket in Holetown, a short bus ride away that even stocks essential waitrose stuff!!! There is very easy acces to all the island by the buses - not to be missed is Fish Fry night at Oistens and we got the bus from the the nearby road straight there. We did hire a car for 2 days to see the interior and I would advise doing that from the UK as we had real problems getting one once we were there.

Back to the villa. It is set in the most beautiful grounds and has a lovely shared pool right outside the front door. We were met by the lovely Manager Monica who showed us everything and even booked our return taxi to the airport. It is well furmished with a complete kitchen with washing machine and dryer and everything you need. We did eat in a few times as eating out can be dear and we were glad of the full size cooker. There is air conditioning throughout - a must. There are 2 lovely bedrooms. My husband and I slept in the double at the front and had gorgeous views of the sea. The other bedroom at the back is a twin. Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers and there is a safe in one of the rooms. There is a full size bathroom with a really good shower. The sheets and towels were changed halfway through our stay and the villa cleaned. The other residents were mainly the other owners so we had lots of tips from them but there is a lot of info in the villa.

Loungers are provided for pool side use too. We loved it so much we are planning to go back next year.

We got to know the locals on our walks to/from the beach - so friendly - everyone asking if we were enjoying our holiday and did we like the island. They are so proud of it and quite rightly.

Roz the owner was so helpful througout the booking process and even emailed us the week before as she was on holiday there.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Not in a tourist area and the setting
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hagglers visiting property to sell you food
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BeachandR...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
viva barbados !!

loved the location . great little house. really enjoyed our stay. local bar Wendys is great for watching the sport and staff where friendly weve even sent them a Everton shirt for the bar. Roz the owner was a pleasure to deal with and we would highly recommend this villa to any of our friends x

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: very homely
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonPSur...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012 for a stay in April 2010
A west coast hidden gem!
5
people found this review helpful

We've lost count the number of times we've visited the wonderful island of Barbados, but for a change we decided to spend Easter on the west coast and selected Ajoupa villas for ten nights for a family break. Roz the owner was very responsive to our enquiry, we booked everything easily and after arranging flights... Virgin and hired our car again (Raymond and his wife Daniella - bajan car rentals -google them, thoroughly recommend them) and headed to the villas, very easy to find, wonderful settling, pool directly outside, grassed area, and the villa was everything we wanted.... Clean, well proportioned, all the mod cons needed, very comfortable bedrooms, excellent bathroom and powerful shower! Air con perfect and well time to relax, switch off and explore the beaches and places away from the tourists....

The memory of ajoupa villas was standing on the upstairs balcony at sunset and seeing the cruise ships silently glisten as they pass by...knowing they are looking at us and vice versa! I'd never swap a cruise liner for a villa in Barbados.

So..thoroughly recommend the villa, Roz an absolute pleasure, we've been back three times to Barbados since this trip..so it was a pleasant surprise to see the villa and I had to reply! We are going to try and book again for Easter...so if the villa is free and I can use my air miles up... It will be to ajoupa villas.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The noise from the neighbours..nothing pound, just as though we were part of the local scene..
Liked least: Could benefit from a television that has channels ( this may have changed by now)
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktb671
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
A reader's paradise

A beautifully RELAXING getaway. The neighbours are lovely welcoming folk. A quiet, relatively newly built townhome complex in a village a 20 minute bus ride north of Bridgetown. The owners are easy to contact by email. Try not to engage with the Jehovah's Witnesses (unless you want bible study while you are away!)
I would go back. Food is expensive!! There is a grocery store in walking distance (we only ate out for 2 meals). I wished I had studied Bajan cuisine before I went so I would have had a better idea about using the veggies there. Sorrell and other things I wasn't familiar with. I recommend booking a rental car ahead of time.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$90
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.