We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service, lovely view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Tempio

Il Tempio
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Fitts
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Lovely Beach Bar and Restaurant located on the quit beach of Fitts Village on the west Coast of St.James.That serves Lunch,happy hours and dinner. The bar is open until late and the happy hours on Fridays and Sundays are incredible with original cocktails and complementary finger food. For Lunch is served also Pizza while the dinner with all homemade pastas is elegant casual,in a romantic candlelight atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, lovely view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

If you like italian food, you should go. We had a starter portion of gnocchi that home made and in a lovely tomato sauce - terrific! We then had ravioli and another stuffed pasta (forget the name but it was filled with gorgonzola and pear) and both were amazing too. Il Tempio is not on the cheap side, but it is by no means expensive. The wine isn't a rip-off either, and was a reasonable £20 or so for a bottle of good Montepulciano is fairly OK

I think it's worth the money for the quality of food which is amazing, and the service is professional and polite.

We will definitely visit again on our next visit to Barbados.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    87
    54
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kittyfinn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a great beach side resturant, beautiful setting with amazing sunsets late afternoon. We ate both at lunch time and also in the evening and the food and service was always top notch (seriously good risotto, excellent fillet steak and they were happy to do pasta with pesto for our little boy even though it wasn't on their menu) - the guys who own and run this place are very friendly and accomodating - they have a happy hour every day from 4pm and serve yummy complementary nibbles - expect a very warm welcome, the service is excellent service and its well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kittyfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food - Decor a little tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Food and location are outstanding. Right on the beach. Service was attentive and courteous. Perhaps a little pricey, but the home-made pastas (gnocci especially) were excellent. Only slight negative is that the decor somewhat tired. Would dine there again. Parking right outside.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced! £90 for 1 Course (2 People) & Wine: Not Good Enough !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We visited Il Tempio because 1) It was recommended to us by some friends and 2) Our appartments were walking distance to it. We went for lunch so sat on the beach for an hour or so to catch some rays, that cost us $25 BDS (£8) and the small Heineken bottles were $10 BDS (£3.50) each until Happy Hour. We took a look at the menu which was very pricey but thought we would have one main each and have a good drink of wine.
When we went to get a table in the restaurant area (overlooking the beach) which I presume is why they were charging SO MUCH, we were accosted by a lady (playing cards at another table) She informed us that the floor was being swept ready for dinner so could we sit at the bar? We explained that we were eating and that we wanted to be able to see the sea, not the bar. It took about 3 minutes of negotiating to be able to get a decent table (bearing in mind the place was empty except for us) There was no way we were paying through the nose to sit at an out of date bar just to please this woman, so that got our backs up.
We ordered a decent bottle of white wine, which was chosen by the card players husband, who also owned Il Tempio. This guy was great, pity he's not running the place on his own.
We ordered the Lasagne and the Seafood Linguine: both really good, but not THAT good. This restaurant needs to improve on their style, choice on menu and service before they charge 'Michelin Star' prices. We ordered a second bottle of wine and the bill came to $270 BDS (£90) I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone who is keen on getting good value and service for money. No Wifi, clean toilets, and car parking outside.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Loob1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loryBarbados, Owner at Il Tempio, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
We remember very good the two guests that wrote the review because they entered in our restaurant when the lunch time was finished and the restaurant was opened only in the bar area while the dining area was cleaning to be ready for the dinner.
We were relaxing in the bar playng cards because was our time off,but the guests asked us to have something to eat and to drink because they were desperately hungry and they have no chance to eat anywhere at that time...around 4.00pm.I personally told them that the only area available was the bar aerea but they insist very much to get a table in the dining aerea promising that they were leaving before the dinner time.At this point we gave them the table in the dining aerea overlooking the beach and we serve them two bottle of wine and the food .They left very happy because we pleased them also during the off lunch time.We can not understand the reason of their complaints because they supposed to thanks us for our kindness.They drunk two bottle of good wine and the main course and anyhow if they found the place costy why order the second bottle of wine????Of course they were alone in the dining area because was after the lunch time and before the dinner time.In our job we try always to please the customers but in this case was not our problem but their problem and personally I will say to these two people "good luck and good night"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best beach bar on the west coast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This bar is very small right on the beach outside fits village. The staff are very friendly. The drinks are pretty cheap too. Happy hour from 4-6, 4-7 on weekends. The restaurant is pretty pricey but the food is good.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Potsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tempio also viewed

Prospect, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Il Tempio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing