We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners”
Review of Les Bruyeres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Bruyeres
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Phil and Heather have gone. It didn't work out for the new owners either, and by Christmas this B&B will be run by an Australian couple. I wish them well, as this is a super place. The location in the village is excellent, with just a pleasant stroll to the Dixieland bar, the tearooms and mill, restaurants and local attractions. The village is a great base from which to explore this beautiful part of France. The rates may change with the new owners, but we found it to be extraordinarily good value.
The layout of the rooms makes it ideal for groups and families, with the ability to be self sufficient with a kitchen and laundry, plus there is a charming garden and deck. Secure parking. The decor is a little cheesy but the rooms are very comfortable. Just mind your head on the beams of the barn conversion!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Les Bruyeres
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here in September with family. My family have been staying here for over 5 years back and forth with Phil and Heather.

The B&B itself is located in a small village with the most beautiful surroundings. It is an old barn converted into the most lovely B&B. They have everything you will ever need and nothing is ever too much bother.

Phil and Heather are 2 of the loveliest people you could meet. They talk to you like they've known you for years and always up for a good oule banter. I can see why my family keep going back. They are down to earth, genuine people.

The B&B is well decorated, the beams inside in the bedrooms are amazing; the garden is like a wee secret get away. The entrance is done with two large gates opening up to gorgeous beams, dark woods and white stone.

Its clear that Phil and Heather take pride in their work, it truly shows through.

This was the first time I had been to France, it really is truly a beautiful country. What made it even better was Les Bruyeres and everything else that came with it. The overall welcome, the fact you get hot water as soon as you turn on the tap (the showers are brilliant) the garden, and mainly the people :)

Thanks Phil & Heather,
Steph, Caroline & Duncan xo

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2, however room 1 is apparently the best one
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Travelling through France we came across Verteuil - what a find! The place is awesome and u snlike any other in France
We stayed one night at Le Bruyeres and then headed for Le Couvent across the river. Both places were exceptional in their own right. Le Bruyeres was homely and comfortable were Le Couvent was sophisticated and chic.
Verteuil should be proud of itself having 2 such great places in such a small community
We will recommend to all our colleagues in NZ

Room Tip: Top floor at les Bruyeres - any @le Couvent
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A warm welcome from our hosts and a stunning building with huge bedroom for the first part of our holiday in France! The garden was delightful, red squirrels in the hazel tree, bats at dusk and interesting birdlife if you're interested in that kind of thing. The kitchen was well equiped and we made use of it on a couple of evenings, buying local sausgaes and lots of fresh veggies from shops in the village! It is a pretty spot for walking and the river is beautiful. The owners had provided plenty of local info and we enjoyed a visit to Cognac during our four day stay. Thank you for making our stay in the Charente a memorable one.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room next to the kitchen which was very roomy with a huge bathroom. We were sl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have been to this part of France many times as I have family here. My husband and I stayed here for three nights in May. This is a beautiful old building, restored to a high standard and spotlessly clean throughout. The B&B has three rooms, one off a communal kitchen and two above. Be aware that the two on the first floor have only roof lights, no windows (due to the historic fabric of this beautiful old building) which meant that we had to keep them closed when it rained, which was difficult as it often rains at night here.

I wont comment on the service as the owners, Phil and Heather are leaving. We did get the chance to meet the new owners, by chance when we were there, and they seemed very pleasant. If the price continues to be as low, and the standard of cleanliness and overall care of the building stays the same, this B&B represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starkadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Les Bruyeres on our way back from a holiday in Spain - we arrived tired and hungry and felt totally spoilt by Phil who cooked a lovely meal to save us looking elsewhere.
The bedroom room was large and airy as was the bathroom, both were spotlessly clean.

We have never stayed in a B&B where you had the use of a large, fully equiped kitchen - it was so handy.

We want to return next year - to explore more of the surrounding area.

Sheila & Michael Byrne

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent one night in this excellent B and B. It is situated in beautiful Verteuil on the river Charente. The owners have done an excellent job of sensitively renovating a very impressive set of buildings. The rooms are large and well equipped. We slept very well and heard nothing of our fellow quests. Phil prepared a lovely breakfast (as good a plate of poached eggs on toast as one could wish for!) quality croissant etc. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verteuil-sur-Charente
15.5 mi away
Chateau de Nieuil
Chateau de Nieuil
#1 of 1 in Nieuil
172 reviews
5.0 mi away
Charente B&B
Charente B&B
#1 of 1 in Bernac
16 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Lavandiere
La Lavandiere
#1 of 2 in Vouleme
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bruyeres

Address: 1 impasse des Tanneurs, 16510 Verteuil-sur-Charente, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Verteuil-sur-Charente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Price Range: $60 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the river Charente, just round the corner from the stunning village chateau. Superior bed and breakfast accommodation with private bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, secure parking, WiFi, English TV and garden. Verteuil sur Charente is one of the prettiest villages in this part of France and has all amenities within walking distance including a choice of 3 restaurant/bars. Situated only 5 minutes south of the bustling market town of Ruffec. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing