We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful renovated building - in a lovely location”
Review of Les Bruyeres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Bruyeres
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly wonderful renovated building - in a lovely location”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Les Bruyeres on our way back from a holiday in Spain - we arrived tired and hungry and felt totally spoilt by Phil who cooked a lovely meal to save us looking elsewhere.
The bedroom room was large and airy as was the bathroom, both were spotlessly clean.

We have never stayed in a B&B where you had the use of a large, fully equiped kitchen - it was so handy.

We want to return next year - to explore more of the surrounding area.

Sheila & Michael Byrne

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Hilaire des Loges, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent one night in this excellent B and B. It is situated in beautiful Verteuil on the river Charente. The owners have done an excellent job of sensitively renovating a very impressive set of buildings. The rooms are large and well equipped. We slept very well and heard nothing of our fellow quests. Phil prepared a lovely breakfast (as good a plate of poached eggs on toast as one could wish for!) quality croissant etc. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Les Bruyeres is a super Chambres D'hotes and B&B in Verteuil sur Charante. It's located right on the Charante River. It's spotlessly clean, has a delightful courtyard area and garden, and a large kitchen with everything you could possibly want at your fingertips.

Our room and bathroom were large, clean and comfy. Phil's hospitality made us feel welcome. To top off a wonderful visit, Les Bruyeres is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What more can I say - a warm welcome and nothing too much trouble. Have stayed in Verteuil previously but happily stumbled on Les Bruyeres for this trip. Spacious room with an equally generous bathroom. A nice selection for breakfast which was unexpected and so was something of a bonus. No hesitation in recommending and no hesitation returning. A beautiful location with everything of interest within easy driving distance once you have exhausted the immediate locality on foot. Beautiful. Charming. Feel lucky to have found this jewel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Spent one week at Les Bruyeres. Did not get bored once as there was so much to do locally. We visited the museum in Angouleme, spent a day at Futuroscope and loved it, went fishing, ate at numerous restaurants, enjoyed long walks in the beautiful village of Verteuil and generally had a wonderful relaxing time. The rooms were immaculate, comfortable, spacious, warm, airy and beautiful. The host Phil was very accommodating and could not have done anymore to make our stay comfortable. He was friendly, helpful but also gave us the space and privacy that we needed as a family. He also serviced the room daily when we went out, keeping it lovely throughout our stay. The kitchen came in very handy one evening when we did not fancy eating out. All in all, by far the best bed and breakfast we have ever experienced! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We called on Phil last minute as our planned place of stay suffered frozen pipes owing to the extraordinary low temperatures. The setting is absolutely fantastic. Phil provided excellent service. The rooms were warm, clean and spacious and both had en-suite facilities. We decided to eat the first evening, then the next ... we eventually decided to eat in all week with Phil providing a wide range of tasty meals and at great value for money. The kitchen/dining area provided enjoyable social times with other guests and for that essential coffee. Local bars are within short walking distances and we even stumbled across 'live' entertainment one evening. I also arranged a second stay that was equally as good and we intend using Les Bruyeres each time we need a place to stay - if there is room! There appeared to be plenty of people wanting to stay with many 'returners' of which I am glad to say I have now become one myself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a really excellent choice when visiting this area of France. Verteuil sur Charente is incredibly picturesque, with its chateau and riverside setting, and this B & B is comfortable and stylish. The rooms are big and spotlessly clean, and owner Phil could not have been more helpful. He also rustles up a great breakfast and is on hand for lots of useful advice. He even made restaurant reservations for us. The big plus here was the well equipped kitchen area where you could help yourself to tea and coffee, plus use the full kitchen facilities to self cater. Mostly it was used as a sociable place to chat to the other guests and share the adventures of the day. Les Bruyeres is walking distance to several bars and restaurants, and has parking facilities, too. We will go back to this area in the near future, and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagull70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verteuil-sur-Charente
5.0 mi away
Charente B&B
Charente B&B
#1 of 1 in Bernac
16 reviews
7.6 mi away
Le Logis des Tours
Le Logis des Tours
#2 of 4 in Villefagnan
14 reviews
8.2 mi away
Logis de la Cantinoliere
Logis de la Cantinoliere
#4 of 4 in Villefagnan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bruyeres

Property: Les Bruyeres
Address: 1 impasse des Tanneurs, 16510 Verteuil-sur-Charente, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Verteuil-sur-Charente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the river Charente, just round the corner from the stunning village chateau. Superior bed and breakfast accommodation with private bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, secure parking, WiFi, English TV and garden. Verteuil sur Charente is one of the prettiest villages in this part of France and has all amenities within walking distance including a choice of 3 restaurant/bars. Situated only 5 minutes south of the bustling market town of Ruffec. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing