We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our friend's engagement feel very special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Couvent des Cordeliers
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been to Le Couvent twice. Once with family and friends over the summer where we sat outside in the elegant and pretty patio by the river and more recently when we took our friends after they had just got engaged five minutes before the booking and dined inside. (He got his knee wet on the pretty little bridge in the park in Verteuil and we had booked a table to celebrate). Both times have been very good but the second time deserves a special mention as we were the only people there - yet somehow it didn't feel soulless or strange at all. In fact, the English Maitre D couldn't do more for us and made us feel like we were having our own private dinner party. The interior design is refined and has a boutique hotel/restaurant feel yet still felt cosy and inviting. Food was great. Simple but delicious starters of pate and salamis, hams etc - mains were huge salads full of flavour and good fresh ingredients. Washed down with a bottle of celebratory Champagne - made the engagement meal one to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

What I found most impressive wasn't the delicious meals, tranquil atmosphere, or beautifully appointed decor- it was the personal attention the staff paid to me. I felt truly welcomed from the moment I arrived to when I left. It would be a pleasure to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is truly beautifully designed with excellent and thoughtful taste. We had a very restful night here and the staff were delightful.
The only problem was the parking - none available to guests on site as all space was given over to the lovely gravel-covered outdoor area. This meant finding a space a couple of hundred metres away and dragging cases back to the Couvent - not helpful on a boiling hot evening and you certainly couldn't have managed small children and cases for such a trek.

Room Tip: No air conditioning (unusual at 160 euros) but useful free Wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrscherylsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
335london, Owner at Le Couvent des Cordeliers, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at Le Couvent. Unfortunatly parling in Verteuil is somewhat restrictive due to the narrow streets, however as you stated parking is available relatively close by and we do offer a "load and unload" service with baggage at the front of the property and there is always someone on hnad to help with the luggage.
Also the entire building has an effective air cooling system particularly the bedrooms, however given some of the extremely high tempratures we have been experiencing of late I doubt the air conditioning in most modern of establishments would cope let alone our 14C building
We look forward to welcoming you to our Couvent again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great ambience, excellent food, friendly and pleasant staff, comfortable rooms, perfect location. I highly recommend Le Couvent des Cordeliers! Its welcoming touches make u feel like you're at home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soulfulsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We took my mum and her partner to this restaurant last night for a meal having had it recommended to us by a neighbour.

I have a special interest in interiors and gardens and found the ambience to be chic and tasteful whilst still relaxing and in keeping with the ancient historical town of Verteuil in which it is set.
The proprietor, Jean Claude was friendly and welcoming and genuinely interested in the comfort and enjoyment of his patrons.

We all had an excellent meal with one of our party saying he had not had such a good steak in ages, praise indeed from a New Zealander! AND I had a well done steak ( 'Sacre Bleau ' I hear you say?)..- it was excellent and just as I like it- the chef who prepared it as requested can only be praised.

I have read some comments on here which do not do Le Couvent des Cordeliers justice at all. Admittedly its not cheap but to my mind well worth every penny because of the excellent service ,gorgeous setting and beautifully prepared food. We left feeling privileged and happy to have spent the last evening of our holiday here with my mum and her partner before their return to New Zealand.

We will almost certainly be back when next we fancy a great meal out in a lovely ambience.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evieb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I first visited Le Couvent when it first opened and was delighted to find this amazing place. I returned last month with great excitement to find things have changed. No longer were the staff as bubbly and attentive as on my first visit! Whatever has happened please sort it out before I come back to this beautiful part of France

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank canadian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
335london, Owner at Le Couvent des Cordeliers, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Sorry to hear you were not happy with the staff on your recent visit, however I can assure you all our staff are professional and attentive at all times which I am sure you will observe on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We all had a superb gourmet meal which I can highly recommend and the service is what you would expect from a high quality establishment.

The detail and presentation of the food is first class. Great steak and the scallops were cooked to perfection.

Definately be going back. We are very lucky to have this restaurant close by. One of the best meals we have had in the area and we have had a few!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charentees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Couvent des Cordeliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Couvent des Cordeliers

Address: 8 rue du Docteur 2 Despres | Charente, 16510 Verteuil-sur-Charente, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Verteuil-sur-Charente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Price Range: $240 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the river Charente in the heart of the historical village of Verteuil dominated by its famous castle whose foundations date from 1080 and where many French Kings stayed, the ancient Couvent was founded in 1471 by Jean de la Rochefoucauld, Lord of Verteuil. Here you will find Le Couvent des Cordeliers, a unique, chic, elegant Chambres D’Hôtes de Prestige and Restaurant.Bordered by the river Charente and set in beautiful walled grounds, the courtyard garden and terrace is arranged around the roman-style pool and fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Couvent des Cordeliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing