We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chic Restaurant in Gorgeous Ancient Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Couvent des Cordeliers
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We took my mum and her partner to this restaurant last night for a meal having had it recommended to us by a neighbour.

I have a special interest in interiors and gardens and found the ambience to be chic and tasteful whilst still relaxing and in keeping with the ancient historical town of Verteuil in which it is set.
The proprietor, Jean Claude was friendly and welcoming and genuinely interested in the comfort and enjoyment of his patrons.

We all had an excellent meal with one of our party saying he had not had such a good steak in ages, praise indeed from a New Zealander! AND I had a well done steak ( 'Sacre Bleau ' I hear you say?)..- it was excellent and just as I like it- the chef who prepared it as requested can only be praised.

I have read some comments on here which do not do Le Couvent des Cordeliers justice at all. Admittedly its not cheap but to my mind well worth every penny because of the excellent service ,gorgeous setting and beautifully prepared food. We left feeling privileged and happy to have spent the last evening of our holiday here with my mum and her partner before their return to New Zealand.

We will almost certainly be back when next we fancy a great meal out in a lovely ambience.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evieb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I first visited Le Couvent when it first opened and was delighted to find this amazing place. I returned last month with great excitement to find things have changed. No longer were the staff as bubbly and attentive as on my first visit! Whatever has happened please sort it out before I come back to this beautiful part of France

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank canadian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
335london, Owner at Le Couvent des Cordeliers, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Sorry to hear you were not happy with the staff on your recent visit, however I can assure you all our staff are professional and attentive at all times which I am sure you will observe on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We all had a superb gourmet meal which I can highly recommend and the service is what you would expect from a high quality establishment.

The detail and presentation of the food is first class. Great steak and the scallops were cooked to perfection.

Definately be going back. We are very lucky to have this restaurant close by. One of the best meals we have had in the area and we have had a few!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charentees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from
a 4 night stay at Le Couvent for our friend's wedding. It was also our first trip abroad with our 10 month old baby. The owners Jean-Claude and Jan and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. We had brought some of our own food and purées for our daughter with us which they kindly stored in their freezer and fridge and then microwaved whenever needed. They were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were of an excellent standard and our room was so big that it comfortably fitted the travel cot in. Our baby slept so well! On the first night le couvent had arranged for the wedding party to have our evening meal on the terrace on a candlelit table under the trees. It was beautiful and set the tone for the rest of our stay. The food is excellent - we had our evening meal and our lunch their twice. Again nothing was too much trouble and when I requested a combination of two salads at lunch they were happy to accommodate and it was delicious! The chocolate fondant is also to die for! It is a gem of a place. The main positive for us was the service and the personal touch. Thanks to Jan for organising the impromptu travel breakfast on the morning of the wedding which ate on the way to the hairdressers! We felt so comfortable there. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ap123Lymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent location (although no on-site parking) and good food, but very expensive and poor service. High basic price for the dinner menu consisting of 3 courses only. Cheese course is extra even if you do not have a dessert. No 'mise en bouche', just cheap nibbles with an aperitif. Aperitif, wine and coffee all at extra cost. Food was good, but not outstanding and the service was amateurish. There are several better options for dining in this area of the Charente.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank wingc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Travelling through France we came across Verteuil - what a find! The place is awesome and unlike any other in France
We s tayed one night at Le Bruyeres and then headed for Le Couvent across the river. Both places were exceptional in their own right. Le Bruyeres was homely and comfortable were Le Couvent was sophisticated and chic.
Verteuil should be proud of itself having 2 such great places in such a small community
We will recommend to all our colleagues in NZ

Room Tip: All of them in Le Couvent, top floor in les Bruyeres
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Recently had to do some business in Verteuil so I stayed in "Le Couvent des Cordeliers" overnight. The room was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced! They had a great selection of wine. The location itself is amazing and staff were exceptional. I will be staying at this lovely place again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Verteuil.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Couvent des Cordeliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Couvent des Cordeliers

Address: 8 rue du Docteur 2 Despres | Charente, 16510 Verteuil-sur-Charente, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Verteuil-sur-Charente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Price Range: $241 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the river Charente in the heart of the historical village of Verteuil dominated by its famous castle whose foundations date from 1080 and where many French Kings stayed, the ancient Couvent was founded in 1471 by Jean de la Rochefoucauld, Lord of Verteuil. Here you will find Le Couvent des Cordeliers, a unique, chic, elegant Chambres D’Hôtes de Prestige and Restaurant.Bordered by the river Charente and set in beautiful walled grounds, the courtyard garden and terrace is arranged around the roman-style pool and fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Couvent des Cordeliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing