We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm and tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beyond the Giant Nature Retreats

Beyond the Giant Nature Retreats
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shuniah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beyond the Giant Nature Retreats
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of calm and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the log cabin lodgings and hospitality. The hosts saw to our every need and were generous with local's tips. The cabin was beautiful, both rusty and comfy - well stocked with a full kitchen. We were kept well stocked with supplies (water, wood, etc.). Sunrise across the lake was breath-taking. Loan of the canoe was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my husband, brother & sister in the Mystic cabin which had more than enough room. Love that they are Eco friendly & very private! The cabins have everything you would need for a comfortable stay. It is located on a beautiful inlet with gorgeous views. The owners are very friendly and make you feel at home. I enjoyed my stay during our Superior Adventure & hope the be back one day!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KL_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Neither adventurous nor a risk-taker, I’m an anxious traveler. I like to know what I’m getting myself into before going anywhere. So it surprised me when I uncharacteristically booked a week stay at one of the eco-cabins at Beyond the Giant Retreat (http://www.beyondthegiant.ca) after only viewing the images and information on their website. However, although I’m an anxious, cautious traveler, I also crave the solitude and sanctuary that only time in a natural environment can provide. So, based on Beyond the Giant’s site, I took a leap of faith and reserved a week at their “Mystic” cabin for my husband, sixteen-year-old son and myself.

Upon returning from our week as guests of Brenda and Bruce Wing, I can honestly say it was probably the best holiday we’ve had as a family. The location of the cabin, perched at the edge of Black Bay, offered the tranquility that’s a prerequisite for our family vacations; water lapping against the rocks, glorious sunsets and blissful silence. And without the techno-distractions of home, we were able to experience, the wind, water and woods of our comfortable home away from home. Making use of Brenda and Bruce’s single and tandem kayaks was the ideal way to experience the area!

The cabin itself suited us perfectly! The Mystic has a deck open to the breezes off the bay, as well as a screened porch that offers shade and shelter during short-lived showers. Many hours were spent deep in the pages of a book or enjoying our meals al fresco. The Mystic boasts a beautiful, large open kitchen and dining room. We’d been to eco-cabins in the past and the size and temperature of the refrigerator were less than desirable, but we were quite pleased with the capacity and coolness of this eco-cabin’s fridge.

Comfortable, clean, spacious and decorated with a natural aesthetic, we were more than happy with the living arrangements. The master bedroom in the cabin’s loft is large and warmly lit as the morning sun pours through the balcony off the bedroom and illuminates the wood floors and ceiling of the space. The second bedroom, located on the main floor, is cool during the warm days and cozy as thunderstorms roll in over the bay at night.

What made this the perfect holiday for our family of three was that we could enjoy the privacy and serenity of the cabin, while still being able to jump in our car and investigate the surrounding area. We were able to explore Sleeping Giant Provincial Park’s trails, beaches and lookouts, as well as the tiny community of Silver Islet at the tip of the park. Just a short drive east of our cabin, we spent hours “digging for treasure” at North America’s largest amethyst mine. From Kakabeca Falls just west of Thunder Bay, to the steep cliffs of Ouimet Canyon, the varied topography was a feast for the eyes; so different from the consistency of the prairie landscape to which we’re accustomed!

Knowledgeable and welcoming hosts, Bruce and Brenda were more than accommodating and it was obvious it was their sincere desire we have the best possible stay. The location, the cabin, the surrounding area and our gracious hosts made for a vacation we will always remember with great fondness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjtownsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was the perfect place to relax and unwind, right on the water's edge. You fall asleep to the sound of the waves lapping on the shore. They just have a few cabins at this Retreat. They are all private from each other. Our cabin had a loft bedroom upstairs, with a small deck to sit out and look over the water on Black Bay, so peaceful. The cabin runs on solar power and propane. The open kitchen was well equipped. The hosts are very gracious in explaining how everything works. They had kayaks and canoes there which we enjoyed numerous times over our 2 day stay. It was just a short drive to the Sleeping Giant to spend a day hiking there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beyond the Giant Nature Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond the Giant Nature Retreats

Property: Beyond the Giant Nature Retreats
Address: Portage Dr, Shuniah, Ontario P0T 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Shuniah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Shuniah
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Beyond The Giant Nature Retreats Ontario/Shuniah, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing