We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful isolated spot, great for a break around Sleeping Giant Park”

Karen's Kountry Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Shuniah
Cuisines: Canadian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: local, organic, homemade, fresh; patio; lake view; NE of Thunder Bay off of Hwy 11/17, enroute to Sleeping Giant Provincial Park
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
347 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful isolated spot, great for a break around Sleeping Giant Park”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Staying with a relative in Thunder Bay for a few days, and went for a drive with friends round Sleeping Giant National Park. We stopped for a light lunch at Karen's on what turned out to be only the second day of opening for the summer - and we were the first customers of 2014.
Karen makes everything herself and it all sounds great. We chose various quiches and the savoury strudel, all accompanied by a lovely house salad, or the Caesar's salad that I had. All delicious, freshly cooked and very tasty.
We split a couple of raspberry brownies to finish with - scrumptious.
This is definitely worth stopping at whilst driving around Sleeping Giant.
Thanks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Karen!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Karen has created an absolutely wonderful restaurant that continues to be a favourite with our family year after year! Over the recent Thanksgiving weekend, on our way home from Silver Islet, we were delighted to find Karen was open for lunch for the last day of the season. Even with a limited menu and some dietary restrictions in our group, Karen made some great suggestions and we had a wonderful luncheon. Her kind approach creates a warm atmosphere that always makes us feel so welcome!
We will return, thank you Karen!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Don't be in a hurry!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have had lunch here many times since Karen opened. The food is consistently of high quality, prepared while you wait. This past summer we waited a long time on one occasion-didn't get our drinks until we had finished our lunch, despite reminding the young waitress. The next time everything came quite quickly. We are used to the wait, and usually are content to enjoy the scenery and enjoy good conversation. Karen's desserts are to die for, and we have often taken food home. If you have young children, be sure to have something for them to do while waiting for their drinks or food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curlew1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Yummy and Worth the Drive!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Are you driving from Thunder Bay to Sibley Provincial Park, or maybe from Thunder Bay to Nipigon or farther East? Then I recommend you should make a small stop to this little country restaurant. Locals know about the great food here, and you should too!

Food is prepared fresh and locally grown, there are many farms in the Pass Lake area. There may be only one or two people serving the restaurant so service may not be as fast as a big city restaurant, but worth your wait as everything is prepared fresh and the staff are charming, friendly and take time to chat to their customers.

If it’s a nice day out, I recommend having a seat on the great balcony outside overlooking Pass Lake. I have had most things on the menu and I have not found fault with anything, and save room for a dessert too you won’t want to share. Be prepared to pay with cash, I do not think they have a debit machine. Though I think there is one next door at the Store.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful entertainment!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Delicious home cooked meals full of flavour. Entrees came with homemade buns and salad with wonderful homemade dressing. Beautiful location too. The best part for us was the staff. Very friendly and entertaining kibitzing with the waiter made the night memorable for all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen's Kountry Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Karen's Kountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing