We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love but a bit far of from anywhere”
Review of Solar de Febrer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solar de Febrer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tirgo
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love but a bit far of from anywhere”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Solar de Febrer is in Tirgo, population 231. The hotel's own restaurant was closed for the night, so we didn't have anywhere to eat in. I would have hoped the hotel had a bar/cafeteria. The location is OK f you have a car and don't mind driving everyday.

It's a lovely hotel with modern and elegant furbishing. The room my partner and I stayed in was large and light. It was too hot to sit outside, but the common areas inside the building and out, looked comfortable: great for a group of friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyputti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    5
    0
    11
See reviews for
11
61
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encamp
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is located in Tirgo, a quiet village close to Casalarreina and Haro, very convenient if you plan to visit the wineries in this part of La Rioja. It is an old village stone house totally and recently renovated with noble materials and decorated with taste in a modern rustic style. Modern paintings and sculptures, with round motifs and rust material, decorate the house and a small garden complete with a fish pond, relaxing chairs and large umbrellas. There is another large garden used as a parking by the house.
Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, with wooden floor, tv set, phone, free wifi, a convenient bathroom with shower, and two windows, one overlooking the garden with the pond and other with a view on the fields surrounding the village. The bed was comfortable and there was silence all around.
Buffet breakfast, included, was copious and varied, served attentively by Maria Jesús, the owner. Her husband greeted us at the reception and is a wealth of information about the area and a very gallant host.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

While touring the LaRioja region, three couples traveling together stayed at this delightful little hotel. All six of us loved it. The rooms were spotless, well appointed and nicely decorated; the staff was helpful and cheerful. Tirgo is a quiet place, which we especially appreciated after several nights beforehand filled with bells every hour. Recommend it highly -- excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Fernando has encyclopedic knowledge of the Rioja region and shares it freely. All of his recommendations were spot on: LaGuardia, Ezscaray, Casalareinna, etc, etc, etc. His restaurant suggestions, driving routes and overall genuine demeanor made an indelible impression on our group.
The hotel was great. We booked a suite and found it to be superb. I will return without a doubt as many times as I am able. On a scale of 1-10, the Hotel Solar de Febrer takes it to 11! Mucho contento!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobQuixote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

In terms of values for one's money and service this is by far the best hotel I've been to in Spain. The hotel itself is immaculate, boutique-style, and Fernando will make you feel right at home. Mar, the owner, is top-notch, and I highly recommend buying a case of the house wine they serve at their restaurant: Caecus. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

From the minute we arrived until we left, the service and friendliness was outstanding - you did not feel like you were being waited on, but somebody was always there to make sure that you did not go wanting (gracias Fernando !). The hotel and accommodation is very well kept, cleanliness was outstanding. Rooms were of ample size, and considering breakfast was included, at a very good price. Location - Tirgo is very small, don't go there expecting a wide variety of bars & restaurants - the hotel is just a very good base from which to explore the winelands. That said, there is the hotel asador (Asador Pimiento) - we ate there on 1st night - whilst the menu was not overly elaborate, the interaction with the staff (Juanita) and both of the owners (Mar & Pepe) was exceptional. We were in no doubt that we would be going back on the 2nd night, and we were certainly not disappointed - we all notched that up as an experience we wanted to repeat - we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Normal size rooms are more than enough for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plett_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Refurbished guest house owned by Fernando is a good example of "savoir faire". located 15 minutes by car from Haro is perfect to enjoy La Rioja Alta surroundings and vineyards. Spotless rooms, well decorated, and cozy. Enough amenities even hair dryer.
Good continental breakfast served from 9 am. Restaurant next door owned by them as well, we didn't try, but I guess it is the only diner option in Tirgo Village.
I will recomend this hotel to those who wants to relax, eat, drink and love in la Rioja

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirgo
7.3 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
591 reviews
11.3 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
5.5 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#3 of 6 in Laguardia
251 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palacio de Casafuerte
Palacio de Casafuerte
#1 of 1 in Zarraton
57 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Villa de Abalos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Febrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Febrer

Property: Solar de Febrer
Address: Calle Salvador 8, 26211 Tirgo, Spain
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Tirgo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tirgo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Febrer 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solar de Febrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing