We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, an outstanding place to stay”
Review of Solar de Febrer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solar de Febrer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tirgo
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is located in Tirgo, a quiet village close to Casalarreina and Haro, very convenient if you plan to visit the wineries in this part of La Rioja. It is an old village stone house totally and recently renovated with noble materials and decorated with taste in a modern rustic style. Modern paintings and sculptures, with round motifs and rust material, decorate the house and a small garden complete with a fish pond, relaxing chairs and large umbrellas. There is another large garden used as a parking by the house.
Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, with wooden floor, tv set, phone, free wifi, a convenient bathroom with shower, and two windows, one overlooking the garden with the pond and other with a view on the fields surrounding the village. The bed was comfortable and there was silence all around.
Buffet breakfast, included, was copious and varied, served attentively by Maria Jesús, the owner. Her husband greeted us at the reception and is a wealth of information about the area and a very gallant host.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMPla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

While touring the LaRioja region, three couples traveling together stayed at this delightful little hotel. All six of us loved it. The rooms were spotless, well appointed and nicely decorated; the staff was helpful and cheerful. Tirgo is a quiet place, which we especially appreciated after several nights beforehand filled with bells every hour. Recommend it highly -- excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Fernando has encyclopedic knowledge of the Rioja region and shares it freely. All of his recommendations were spot on: LaGuardia, Ezscaray, Casalareinna, etc, etc, etc. His restaurant suggestions, driving routes and overall genuine demeanor made an indelible impression on our group.
The hotel was great. We booked a suite and found it to be superb. I will return without a doubt as many times as I am able. On a scale of 1-10, the Hotel Solar de Febrer takes it to 11! Mucho contento!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobQuixote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

In terms of values for one's money and service this is by far the best hotel I've been to in Spain. The hotel itself is immaculate, boutique-style, and Fernando will make you feel right at home. Mar, the owner, is top-notch, and I highly recommend buying a case of the house wine they serve at their restaurant: Caecus. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PR_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

From the minute we arrived until we left, the service and friendliness was outstanding - you did not feel like you were being waited on, but somebody was always there to make sure that you did not go wanting (gracias Fernando !). The hotel and accommodation is very well kept, cleanliness was outstanding. Rooms were of ample size, and considering breakfast was included, at a very good price. Location - Tirgo is very small, don't go there expecting a wide variety of bars & restaurants - the hotel is just a very good base from which to explore the winelands. That said, there is the hotel asador (Asador Pimiento) - we ate there on 1st night - whilst the menu was not overly elaborate, the interaction with the staff (Juanita) and both of the owners (Mar & Pepe) was exceptional. We were in no doubt that we would be going back on the 2nd night, and we were certainly not disappointed - we all notched that up as an experience we wanted to repeat - we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Normal size rooms are more than enough for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plett_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Refurbished guest house owned by Fernando is a good example of "savoir faire". located 15 minutes by car from Haro is perfect to enjoy La Rioja Alta surroundings and vineyards. Spotless rooms, well decorated, and cozy. Enough amenities even hair dryer.
Good continental breakfast served from 9 am. Restaurant next door owned by them as well, we didn't try, but I guess it is the only diner option in Tirgo Village.
I will recomend this hotel to those who wants to relax, eat, drink and love in la Rioja

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel is absolutely superb. It is in a quiet location just outside Haro in the Rioja region and is beautiful in every sense. The hotel is immaculate and everything is perfect.It can truly be described as an outstanding boutique hotel which incorporates some excellent design features. The rooms have all the necessary features and are kept in excellent condition.
We stayed for three nights whilst touring the Rioja region and were extremely satisified. The staff are excellent and very helpful suggesting some fantastic restaurants. It is difficult to find fault with this superb place.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a converted casa and all the rooms have a thoroughly modern design
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirgo
12.4 mi away
Hotel Villa de Abalos
4.1 mi away
Palacio de Casafuerte
Palacio de Casafuerte
#1 of 1 in Zarraton
63 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Hotel El Mirador de la Chana
Hotel El Mirador de la Chana
#1 of 2 in San Asensio
124 reviews
7.3 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
702 reviews
7.4 mi away
Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda
Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo d...
#2 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Febrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Febrer

Address: Calle Salvador 8, 26211 Tirgo, Spain
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Tirgo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tirgo
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Febrer 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solar de Febrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing