We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
13
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 15 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Hooke farm over the august bank holiday. We had asked for a family room as we did not want to share a bed and were told there was a single bed in the room, which was just a very small put -up bed, not suitable for an adult.
The first time we met our host was for breakfast. I am vegetarian and we werent asked what we would like for breakfast and there was no choice. The breakfast was poor, with poor quality sausage and bacon, the egg and toast were cold and our host was more worried about his hangover than making sure we were happy. When presented with a cooked breakfast I ended up with one tomato, one egg and one mushroom i.e. the meat was removed from the plate and no effort made to 'jazz things up' for me.
On the second day much the same thing, an awful breakfast, which was almost inedible. The owner did not seem in the slightest bit interested in trying to be sociable and was more worried about his dog having been bitten by a badger. Coincidentally the dogs were roaming around in the kitchen, which I did not feel was ideal.
We got the impression that the owners of this B and B were a little bit over the whole thing, and clearly did not offer the level of service they have offered historically. This may be because they are selling up and have lost interest. I e- mailed Lucy (whom we never met) and expressed our disappointment of the whole experience. The response was perfunctory to say the least.
THis was such a shame as we were so looking forward to a great stay. Our experience could not have been more removed from another recent review on tripadvisor, so I just hope they were having a very bad weekend indeed when we were there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaylovesWBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We decided to end a weeks honeymoon in Padstow with a stay in Dorset visiting friends in Beaminster.

Hooke Farm was a fantastic B&B with a warm and friendly welcome, lovely room and great breakfast - You couldn't ask for more and was great value for money.

Will be recommending to friends!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flissnmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We decided last minute to make a trip down to Dorset for one night during the August long weekend and as such thought it might be hard to find accomodation. On the off chance on the Thursday beforehand, I sent off some emails enquiring as to vacancies at different hotels/b&bs in the area and was delighted to receive a prompt response in the affirmative from Richard at Hooke Farm. We arrived at Richard and Lucy's beautiful home/b&b late Saturday afternoon to be welcomed by Lucy with some lovely tea and biscuits as well as directions to our dinner reservations later that night in Lyme Regis. We were given a stunning bedroom with lovely ensuite and sweeping views of the Dorset countryside. We had a brilliant night's sleep and awoke to the smell of a wonderful breakfast below. This breakfast was fantastic and was comprised of muesli, fresh yoghurt, strawberries, toast and a selection of jams and the piece de resistance - the full english that concluded the meal. All in the all, the owners were very friendly without being overbearing, the accomodation was lovely and the area stunning. Would we stay there again? The answer is a definite yes!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

A real find - secluded and slightly off the beaten track, we were made to feel extremely welcome the moment we walked through the door. A cold glass of white wine upon arrival went down a treat!

The farmhouse is beautifully decorated - cosy, warm and comfortable. The rooms are spacious, with great views. Richard and Lucy are consumate, friendly hosts, helping us find our way around the area by bike (slightly mad, given the stunning, hilly terrain on the doorstep), prepare for the wedding we were attending on the Saturday and even collecting us at the end of the night! And, of course, the homecooked breakfast was simply excellent.

We would heartily recommend this lovely place and will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassius81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

So pleased we found this delightful and friendly farmhouse b&b in Dorset. The area around Beaminster is a lovely part of the country to visit, and it was great to have such a welcoming and comfortable place to spend two nights. Beautifully furnished, blissfully quiet and we would recommend it without reservation. We certainly hope to stay at Hooke Farm again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbquisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews