We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Sunday roast”
Review of The Golden Heart

The Golden Heart
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Winterbourne
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: With a fantastic range of menus incorporating a wide range of starters, light bites, mains, and desserts, The Golden Heart is a fabulous village pub that is renowned for serving up top notch food alongside an eclectic range of wines and cask ales. Bringing together elements of contemporary and traditional design, this pub has been eclectically furnished to the highest possible standard, allowing you to relax, unwind, and indulge in truly unique surroundings. Situated in the heart of Winterbourne Down, there’s even an inviting outdoor space - perfect for a spot of al fresco dining during the summer months. A great family pub, bar, and restaurant, The Golden Heart should be your first port of call for brunch, lunch, or dinner, no matter what the occasion. If you’re driving, there is also plenty of car parking available.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Are Sunday lunch was stone cold and half are plate was filled with beetroot chicken was really dry and wasn’t much gravy at all and it definitely wasn’t worth the £30 we payed for it we will not be returning to this restaurant and also discovered a twig in my gravy very disappointed

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graceweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I am sorry your visit was not up to the standard that it should have been, I will be looking into this.
If you would like to discuss your visit please do call on 01454 774392.
Kind Regards
The Golden Heart Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had to return our Sunday lunches as they were cold. Second attempt was much better but overpriced really. We had the trio of meats and some of beef was quiet sinuous and inedible. Roast potatoes were very disappointing and were supposed to have been cooked in beef dripping, they were not crisp as they should have been. Won't be rushing back which is a shame as staff and venue was good.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greenmodelmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank You for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I am disappointed your visit was not to the usual standard we offer. If you would like to discuss your visit please do call me on 01454 774392.
Kind Regards
The Golden Heart Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was soo good couldn't fault a thing, very friendly staff. Will definitely recommend to anyone. Cant wait to return

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lemi1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

First visit to The Golden Heart and i was very very impressed! The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive. The food was quick but lovely and the drinks very good. Even though they were very busy everything ran very smoothly. Well done to all will definatly be returning and recommending to others.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lucketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerA406, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
Please visit us again very soon.
The Golden Heart Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

This dish is very nice, but be aware the "crab" element is so fine it cooks down into the broth, so don't expect flakes of crab. The waitress mentioned that a number of customers had asked the same question about "Where's the crab?", so I thought it was worth putting it out there.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Ada1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Hello Ada1207,
Thank you for pointing this out on TripAdvisor for us. This is a frequent issue with this particular dish. The crab is rather fine and it does tend to blend into the sauce but I can ensure you that it is definitely there. I will start pointing this out to guests as they order the dish to prevent ongoing issues.
Thanks again,
Dominic and The Golden Heart Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Heart also viewed

 
Nibley, Gloucestershire
Long Ashton, Somerset
 

Been to The Golden Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing