We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely pub and great food”
Review of The Golden Heart

The Golden Heart
Reserve with OpenTable
The Golden Heart is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Winterbourne
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really lovely pub and great food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved this place. All our meals were delicious. They agree squeezed us in without a reservation and it was terrific.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jetol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    123
    60
    59
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best ever”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

went there for lunch it was very good the staff are very attentive and make sure ever think is just as you want enjoyed it so much that we have booked for a 70 birthday meal and we are so looking forward to it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oric69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“WORTH GOING THERE AGAIN”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We called in to the Golden Heart on a Saturday lunchtime. It was relatively quiet and service was reasonably efficient. The venue is very nicely decorated in the style of a beamed country pub. A spacious modern style conservatory is situated to the rear of the restaurant and this has double doors opening onto a spacious patio. We have small appetites and therefore chose the sharing tasting platter. The idea of this was to advertise the restaurants wares and to tempt palates. This it certainly did and we enjoyed the spread of onion rings, fried brie,braised belly pork and several other delights. All of which were accompanied by various sauces and pickles. Along with drinks the total bill was very reasonable and even though we had shared a platter we could not have eaten more. We did despite this, have a further share, that of a chocolate tart with salted caramel and whipped fresh cream. This alone was worth the visit. We will be visiting again soon, very pleased with the discovery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food and environment”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have eaten here numerous times and each time the food has been fabulous. Sometimes a little slow when it's busy, but always worth the wait.

The variation on the menu is great and always nice generous portions.

It is really cosy in the winter when they light the fires and is lovely in the restaurant too.

My favourite place to eat in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb food and great service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A really cosy pub with a beautiful dining room overlooking the rear garden. My mother does not have a great appetite so she chose a starter as her main course (which was no problem). I had beautifully cooked duck - probably the bect i have tasted. When my mother decided she would like some bread half way through her meal we were very quickyl brought some lovely soft oven baked bread. The service was very good - the waitress apologised for not collecting our plates quickly as they were very busy - but we had not waited long. I would definitely return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Heart also viewed

 
Hambrook, Winterbourne
Nibley, Gloucestershire
 
Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
Long Ashton, Somerset
 

Been to The Golden Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing