We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kemps Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 East Stoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Last minute deal”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would first like to say that although the hotel is a "Country House Hotel" it was in my view run more like a bed & Breakfast and by that I mean it was informal and not at all stuffy. The owners were lovely and very approachable. We called at the last minute and got the LAST room available, which was the "Bridal Suite" and as it was not already booked as such we were given the room £60 cheaper. We joked with the owner about possibly having bath robes and bath sheets (rather than bath towels) in the room, he said that they had taken those out along with the champagne as we were not paying the full price. We saw the funny side and accepted that this was perfectly acceptable. They do after all have a business to run. Room would benefit from those bath sheets though!! The bathroom was spotless and roomy, it had a very ellaborate shower cubicle with all sorts of gizmos, I was determined to try this but was unable to work it. I asked Ian (The owner) if he knew how to work it, sadly he didn't. This wasn't a real problem because the shower above the HUGE bath was very very powerful and sufficient. Ian did say that he intends to remove the gizmo shower and install a jacuzzi bath in the not too distant future. The Room itself was beautifully furnished, with everything you could need and although at the front of the building with the noise of the road and train line nearby, it didn't spoil our enjoyment of the stay at all (we stayed 2 nights and wanted a 3rd but the hotel was fully booked) The bed was beautifully comfortable, I did have to ask for another 2 pillows but was delivered of them very promptly and courteously by the room maid.
We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was very good although on the second night I ordered the pork which my husband had ordered the night before, his was a full fillet of pork sliced into medallions. Mine arrived and sadly it was what looked like the end of the fillet cut diagonally into two pieces. It was very dry and I was a little disappointed. However, everything I had other than the pork dish was excellent. I would suggest though that they serve their Prawn Cocktail with soft brown bread and butter and their home made soup (which was devine) with a large chunk of crusty french bread. The cold breakfast buffet lacked a little imagination but was adequate.(some might expect more for the price paid for the room) The cooked breakfast was very fresh, hot and appetising. The porridge was BRAW!! (Ian will know what that means, he being a fellow Scot)

It was the time of year where craneflies are everywhere, (Daddy long legs) Ian was very good at coming to my rescue whenever there was one of these annoying things near me. He and his lovely wife were a pleasure to talk to and when we had drinks in the bar each night the juke box was a great conversation piece.

All in all, we were looked after very well and with a few small tweaks here and there, and possibly some better weather our trip would have been perfect.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, warm welcome, nice people, good food, what more could one ask??

Room Tip: Try calling at the last minute, like we did and get the bridal suite at the normal double room rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBB090858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    100
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
51
180
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night having been directed from the Monkey World website.
To be honest we were just looking for somewhere that was ok to get a meal and crash for the night having visited the park. We were really pleasantly surprised. We did book the honeymoon suite as it was our wedding anniversary, not something we usually go over the top about but, thought we would pay the extra bit as a treat.
The food here was outstanding for the price, beautifully presented and efficiently served. The drinks a the bar were not over the top on price, and the wine was decent enough. An extra surprise was the half bottle of chilled champagne in our room after dinner, thank you, was much appreciated.
The place was spotlessly clean, yeah a little worn in places, but certainly not anything to moan about.
We found the hosts amenable and friendly.
Overall lovely, would certainly consider staying again if in the area.

Room Tip: Book on line to get a great dinner deal I think about £10 off per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim777London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, I have never before slept so well in a hotel . Actually, this is not called a hotel but a country house and that is just what it is - run very efficiently by the owner. He was always on hand if needed and nothing was too much trouble, he was also a very nice person, always ready for a greeting and to listen to any complaints. The only one we had was regarding the shower room - water ended up from the shower area all over the floor. However, the shower itself was very efficient and easy to control and there was a well heated towel rail which was nice. There was a problem with the handbasin tap as it only "trickled" The king size bed was most comfortable and the room heating easy to control. We were located on the ground floor, which is what I requested, but it did seem to be more suitable for disabled visitors. The food was good, both at breakfast and dinner and nicely presented - a professional touch. Should we ever be in the area again, we would undoubtedly choose to stay at Kemp's.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 1 without ensuring that the shower room has been put to rights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to Kemps. Stayed 2 nights 11-12th September. We personally would not stay anywhere else and will be back again. We love Kemps, we have stayed in the family rooms before and this time we were in one of the rectory rooms. All the rooms we have stayed in are well furnished, nice bathrooms, tv's and very clean and comfortable. We are happy to book whatever is available. We know the area quite well and there are plenty of things to do, we love Monkey World! The restaurant serves a very good breakfast and you can dine there in the evening if you want a full meal or if you want a lighter snack there are plenty of places to eat around Wareham. The staff are always pleasant and we have always been well looked after. Thank you for our last stay, Kemps, we will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janepullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The room was nice and big but the bathroom tiny and the shower dirty/sprayed everywhere. Not great cleanliness and tired decor. TV tiny as well which for £130 a night I'd expect bigger. Not particularly welcoming atmosphere - a rather unfriendly "humourous" sign at reception about it not being your day for help! Not a great impression. Food okay - breakfast was actually very good and to be fair the service was fine but it just felt like everything you asked for was a hassle. The communal areas were like a retirement home. No atmosphere. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfoxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Food was good.
restaurant was good.
The hotel is marketing a slightly up market product.
No one in reception except the manager in shorts with a child in tow.
No offer of help with our bags.
No fridge in the room.
Got peckish in the evening, could not get anything, no crisps, nuts or chocky.
We checked out early and paid for the the second night so that we could get away from an unwelcoming atmosphere.
We will not be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed one night at the beginning of September. The room was called Purbeck View on the 1st floor, very nice room, good size, everything very clean. We ate in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and the food was good. The only down side to the restaurant was that the carpet was in a dire state and definitely needed replacing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VascoHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stoke
5.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
928 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
355 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemps Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemps Country House

Property: Kemps Country House
Address: East Stoke, East Stoke, Wareham BH20 6AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > East Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Stoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kemps Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kemps Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemps Country House Hotel East Stoke
Kemps Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing