We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemps Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 East Stoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I recently stayed here for several nights whilst on business locally.

The first point to make is that this is not a hotel. It is a guest house with a restaurant and bar. If you are okay with that then this is a good place to stay.

The staff were all very friendly and really did their best to accommodate requests, including arranging for the chef to come in and prepare breakfast earlier than advertised as I had an early start for work!

The bar is a good place to have a drink and listen to the (free) jukebox and the food in the restaurant is excellent and the prices are very reasonable.

The accommodation is in a separate building. My room had a large size bedroom with a seating area. The bathroom was a little small but was very well equipped, the only thing missing was a bath (the shower was great though!)

The whole venue is very clean.

Overall I would definitely recommend this country house as a place to stay. The only negative point in my view was the quality of the ingredients in the cooked breakfast. For an establishment of this quality I would have expected top quality local produce but the bacon, sausages and the mushrooms could have been better. (However if that is all I have to moan about then it can't be bad!!)

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 318 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

One night stay with friends in terrible weather in January. Knew nothing about the hotel prior to arrival. Agree with another review that room prices expensive given time of year. Hotel obviously not full so rates should be lower I feel. Having said that, it was roomy and well equipped. Owner very helpful and friendly. Food excellent at dinner and breakfast. Will definitely try the Sunday car very. Will be back to dine without doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a one night stay here at the weekend and the staff are outstanding as is the quality of the food which is exceptionally reasonably priced. Delicious rib eye steak. However I have to question the price of the room, £125.00 B&B is excessive for a guest house I feel. The room was spacious, comfortable, warm and very clean. But we left feeling it was overpriced. The food however was a very high standard and underpriced in my opinion. We would return to eat there and to try the Sunday Carvery which is priced at £8.95!!! If the quality of that is as good as dinner and breakfast then it's a must try. Hope they get the room rates a little better in tune though.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GloucestershireGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We all gathered together at Kemps to celebrate the 70th Wedding Anniversary of my wife's parents. We had seven rooms in total and everyone was pleased with the quality and ameneities available. The beds were very comfortable, lovely en suite bathrooms and large LCD TVs.

The staff were extremely helpful. All in all a very successful occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a flying visit to see relatives and chose the Kemps through the reviews on Trip Advisor. We will definately stay again, the family room and bathroom were spotless beds very comfortable.The heating had been put on for our arrival lovely and toasty. Breakfast.... a fabulous choice on the menu quite spoilt for choice. The staff couldn't do enough for us especially Ian SO this lovely review is for Ian as promised, see you next time we travel south.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4, you can slightly hear the train but it isn't a problem at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited the tank museum near by and had a look in our navigation system for accommodation.
So we saw some stars we visited Kemps and shure we`ll do it again on our next trip to Great Britain. This an excellent location in all areas. The room was very clean and fresh. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom also was absolute clean. The service in the hotel and restaurant was first class. The evening meal in the restaurant was very high standard. The bar has a long range of typical englisch beers and it`s one of the very rare hotels where three languages are spoken: English, Scottish and German. The staff was very friendly and everything was not a problem. I forgot: Parking was free. Shure this hotel is much different from bigger, cold and dirty ones of course it`s managed by the owners and shure we`ll come back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just a short distance outside the ancient town of Wareham and in the beautiful area of the Jurassic Coast, this quietly elegant and comfortable hotel combines friendly staff and very tastefully decorated rooms. A fully stocked tray in the room provides ample tea,coffee, chocolate and biscuits and mineral water. The breakfast alone is 'worth a detour'... the Full English sublime and masses of other delicious dishes to choose from. Can't wait to find an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stoke
2.7 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
479 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,232 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemps Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemps Country House

Address: East Stoke, East Stoke, Wareham BH20 6AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > East Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Stoke
Price Range: $169 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kemps Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Kemps Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemps Country House Hotel East Stoke
Kemps Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing