We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit for walk & lunch at cafe...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rapaura Water Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We didn't stay at the accommodation here - but thought this place deserved a mention just for the pretty walk and the fantastic lunch we had there. If you think the price of the walk is a little pricey - I would still recommend the 10 min or so drive along the gravel road to have lunch there. The chef is passionate about his food and was very friendly & helpful. He's won awards for his beef - which prompted my husband to try his open steak sandwich - which he thought was one of the best steak meals he has had anywhere in the world...he loved it. I had the spicy kumara soup - which was very very good. Food was top quality, beautifully presented - and it was such a lovely setting to have a meal - we sat outside, surrounded by native bush and the sound of birds in the trees...a really beautiful setting. There is a small gift shop, and the walk past the big lily-filled ponds up through native bush to the waterfalls is worthwhile if you haven't spent all your money on their delicious food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Rapaura Water Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

This accommodation is a perfect getaway from the noise of the city. Tranquil, natural and different, it will make your weekend perfect. Thumbs up to the hosts who have put a huge amount of effort to maintain the place after a number of floods.
It is situated close to a variety of walks if you're keen on hiking. Great coffee in Waiomu Beach Cafe as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We felt so lucky to have found Rapaura (thanks to Tripadvisor) and spent a wonderful week there. The lodge is much more gorgeous than than the photos - a relaxed charm with interesting art work and collectables everywhere. It has an Asian/Bali feel and is extremely spacious. Being one level up, we looked over the most beautiful gardens through the trees. It was totally private and quiet - the only noises being the stream and birds. Self catering suited us and it was the perfect place to relax after energetic walks in the Coromandel area. It's remote - with no wifi, mobile signal, nearby shops - but if that's what you're after you couldn't do better. The restaurant in the Gardens, which opens during the day, wasn't yet open for the summer season - but gearing up to open and we saw their delicious menu. Breakfast supplies were provided. The owner Sally and her son Sacha were charming and helpful but never intrusive. We plan to return!

Room Tip: The Lodge is better than the cottage and probably worth the extra $'s
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed in the cottage. It is the little things that count, secluded, friendly owners, scentred oils, bubble bath, classical cds, elect blanket, wood burning fire. need I go on.
Magical garden with water fall. Wished we had stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: Stay 2 nights
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

The gardens are truly magical, especially as we had them to ourselves (bring your swimming costume for an additional experience!) The accommodation was charming, definitely aimed at those who want to ‘escape’: no TV, no cellphone coverage, no WiFi, but lots of CDs, magazines, and wonderful views wherever you look. Make sure you bring food for an evening meal (there's a kitchen and a gas barbecue) as you are miles from shops and pubs. Breakfast is provided, and plenty of it (cereal, bread, milk, fresh eggs). When we stepped outside in the morning we were greeted by a badling of ducks and hens, which entertainingly accompanied us on another walk around the gardens. This was a thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We came across the watergarden while wandering around Coromandel. Mrs. Sank kindly showed us the cottage which we immediately booked for one night but now wish it had been longer. Such a marvelous hidden treasure about 6km off the main road between Thames and Coromandel town - if we had known about it, we would never have bothered with the latter.
So we wound our way back to Rapaura for the night and had a magical stay in the cozy cottage during a torential downpour. We had taken our own food in and therefore could just sit back and enjoy the rain, peace and quiet, and solitude. fortunately today we had a lovely clearing spell and could enjoy the gardens. Absolutely stunning - how lucky the Sank family is to live here.
Koru - the cafe is a delight and staffed by Sacha - chef extraordinaire. Excellent baked goods and coffee and you just don't want to leave.
When we come back to NZ, this will be the first place we will head...
You come away totally refreshed and ready to face the world...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed one night in the Boutique Lodge on our honeymoon trip and this was the most unique experience.
The house is set in the very beautiful Rapaura Watergardens and after the park closes at 5p.m. you are there all by yourself and you can wander around, marvel at the beauty of nature and even go for a swim in the pond of the waterfall...but in November the water was just too cold, so we skipped that. :-)
The house itself is an architectural gem fully made from wood which has such a special charm. It has many balconies and after dark it is so romatic to just stand there, watch the stars and listen to the sounds of nature.
Both Sally and Sacha were very friendly and helpful during our stay.
We can recommend this place to everyone who is looking for a special place to stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena_Stephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tapu
17.9 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 18 in Coromandel
81 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
14.0 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 24 in Whitianga
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Villa Toscana
Villa Toscana
#15 of 24 in Whitianga
30 reviews
22.2 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
121 reviews
16.1 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapaura Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapaura Water Gardens

Address: 586 Tapu-Coroglen Road, Tapu 3575, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tapu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tapu
Price Range: $105 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated as a base from which to explore the Coromandel, we offer comfortable self-catering accommodation in a boutique lodge or garden cottage. While the estate is open to the public during the hours of 9-5, in the evening it becomes your private playground. Take a bush walk, swim at the waterfalls, barbeque and experience nature at its best. No TV, just peace and the sound of running water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rapaura Water Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing