We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
East Hoathly, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
morrisdra...
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights in September with wife & dog. The cottage was in a quiet lane with no through traffic & a five minute walk to the lovely village with 2 pubs. The cottage was first class...spotless,very comfortable & with everything you could want. It was very tastefully decorated & finishings were top quality...no expense spared.Stephanie (owner) was very welcoming & left some lovely provisions. Even though we were next to owners,it was not an issue with noise etc.
Lovely walks from front door for dog....he had a great time.
Would fully recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & quality of cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you so much!
I'm really glad you enjoyed it. We would be happy to welcome you again any time at Hesmonds Oast Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike45
Manchester, UK
1 review
“Lovely clean cottage in quiet location.”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The lodge is attached to the owner's house but with a separate entrance. The owners were very helpful but didn't impose themselves.
It is very well fitted out and equipped.
It was a good location for days out in and around Sussex.
We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhawkinso...
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“Immaculate guest house”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently stayed two nights in this beautiful guest lodge with our teenage daughter and loved every minute of it. We really enjoyed the lodge’s private entrance and beautiful terrace. Inside, the home is furnished and decorated with a sophisticated sense of style. The fixtures and appliances were all brand new and top quality. We found East Hoathly to be a lovely village with two very nice pubs, both of which are an easy walk from the lodge. Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners are fantastic people!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thank you so much. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elayne M
1 review
“WELL APPOINTED COMFORTABLE HOLIDAY COTTAGE”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very nice clean property in delightful E Sussex village not far from the coast. We stayed at Hesmonds Oast Lodge to ensure we enjoyed our visit to Glyndebourne without having to drive home afterwards. It is very conveniently placed for the Opera, being only 10 or 15 minutes away by car. The very comfortable two bedroom two bathroom cottage is completely private, self contained, peaceful and quiet. We found the cottage extremely well appointed, with small but luxurious bathrooms and tastefully decorated throughout. The kitchen was a great size with all mod-cons including a dishwasher and washing machine. The owner was very welcoming and thoughtfully left provisions for breakfast. We slept well and were only too sorry that out stay was only overnight! Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDFLONDON
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful private cottage, with lovely, comfortable interior”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Hesmonds Oast Lodge enormously and would love to return. The cottage is a beautiful old Sussex building , with a modern luxurious interior, with a country feel. Everything was brand new and spotless, comfy beds, warm and cosy bedrooms. The owner lives next door, so the cottage is completely self contained, but she was very friendly and helped us with info on local walks, and eating in the local pub, only 5 minutes walk into the village. We were there in December, so didn't get to use the terrace, which in summer would be great to sit out, and be completely private. A great place to hunker down and get away from it all, with Lewes and lovely country walks nearby. We'll be back !

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbert C
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing