We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on Par With Navy Inns and Air Force Inns”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Carson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IHG Army Hotels on Fort Carson Colorado Inn
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spruce Inn at Colorado Inn, Room 211, rank 05, stayed one week:

This was our first experience with Army Inns. Other than the friendly staff, we were disappointed. We will likely NOT stay at an Army Inn again.

We thought we had booked a suite with a kitchenette for our week in Colorado Springs with our family of three and our two small dogs. (We booked directly with the hotel - Website photos VERY MISLEADING!) What we got instead was a 14 x14 room with too much furniture for the space, smelly carpeting, NO KITCHEN, and a dinky bathroom with a missing drain stopper and a cracked and peeling sink.

Pros: the staff was friendly and courteous. Good Breakfast. Microwave, Mini-Fridge. Free Laundry. The housekeeper was courteous and the room was very clean except for the carpet.

Cons: Room very dated and not in working order. We thought we booked suite w/ KITCHEN for 3 people. Room was 14x14 w/ small bathroom - NO KITCHEN.

Details:
The hallways had sound absorbing wall covering which was peeling away in places.

The room - Our room was approximately 14x14 and had a full bed, a night stand, a roll-a-way bed, an amoire containing the mini fridge and microwave, a small dresser on top of which was a TV and DVD player, a table and one chair, a dirty, broken recliner with a missing lever and protruding sharp screws. Too much furniture for that small space even without the roll-a-way bed. The beds were soft and not totally supportive. We did not sleep well.

There was a locked door in our room which was labeled "kitchen". When we asked at the front desk, thinking this was our missing kitchenette, they said it was no longer functional; it had been gutted and locked. When we asked about our reservation for a suite, we were told what we had WAS indeed a suite. Hmmm.

The bathroom - the sink, which was the ONLY sink in the room (due to the lack of a kitchenette), was missing a drain stopper and the cultured marble was cracked and peeling revealing the cast iron base beneath - looked like black mold, but was not. We were uneasy about using small items in this bathroom due to the open drain. We were also unable to use it as a wash basin for washing small items such as silverware (again expected a kitchenette) or lingerie. The rest of the bathroom was okay.

Carpet in the room smelled like stinky feet. We aired out the room each night and bought Fabreeze, but it did not help. We alerted the staff at check out so that the next guest might have a cleaner carpet.

The Internet is Ethernet cable ONLY no wifi - we knew this upon initial booking.

The on-site laundry - the machines need maintenance. The traditional top loading washers do not spin clothes very well and the dryers squeal as if they are burning a rubber belt or bushing. They do not launder very well. We had to air dry our items in the room on hangers. One plus is that the laundry was free.

Also, if you stay during a holiday weekend, there is no cleaning service during that time.

Bottom line: We have stayed in many Navy Inns and Air Force Inns and had expected this experience to be on par with these. It was not even close. This Inn needs a complete overhaul. I would not stay there again and, this being our first and only experience with Army Lodging, I will think twice about booking an Army Lodge again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$ and stay in town. If you stay here during a Holiday, ask the front desk or houseke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels on Fort Carson Colorado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback helps us to improve and achieve our goal of being 'Great Hotels that Guests Love' and your continued loyalty is very important to us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We are working with some limitations on post due to the age of the buildings. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Camp
General Manager
IHG Army Hotels on Fort Carson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had a conference at fort Carson army base this weekend. I was surprised to see that holiday inn was running temporary lodging. Having grown up in the military, we spent a lot of time in temporary lodging. For me the buildings brought back some great memories. Then the rooms were redone traditional HI style. Everything was comfortable. No housecleaning on the weekends and dogs were allowed in. I will use these hotels again.

Room Tip: No elevators so ask for the first floor if you don't want to hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsaLoveAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels on Fort Carson Colorado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you UsaLoveAsia, for sharing your positive experience and perspective regarding your recent stay at IHG Army Hotels on Fort Fort Carson.
We are actually not a Holiday Inn branded hotel. We privatized 1 May 2013, and continue to make great strides to improve our guest services and amenities.
As you recognized, we now offer enhanced guest room features and comforts. We also recently renovated to include a convenient and modern Continental Breakfast dining area. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

IHG has taken over a lot of Army lodging contracts and has really improved most facilities and services. So I booked it. Fort Carson is the exception. It is disgusting and terrible. Hopefully this will make the list to revamp in the near future. Do not stay here. They still take your full per diem and I cannot think of any family friendly adjectives to describe this dump.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyWifeCallsMeCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels on Fort Carson Colorado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

On behalf of the IHG Team at Fort Carson, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations. InterContinental Hotels Group acquired this property a few months ago. We, along, with our owners, are working diligently to improve, as we near completion of our continental breakfast dining area, business center and food and beverage convenience shop in our lobby. We understand first impressions are very important, and hope you received superior service during your stay. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity in the future, after renovations are complete and apologize for your experience during this transitional period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Carson
6.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,014 reviews
6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#68 of 104 in Colorado Springs
122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Springs/I-25 South
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Sp...
#8 of 104 in Colorado Springs
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorado Springs, A Dolce Resort
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorad...
#17 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,488 reviews
Show Prices

Been to IHG Army Hotels on Fort Carson Colorado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IHG Army Hotels on Fort Carson Colorado Inn

Address: Building 7301 Woodfill Road, Fort Carson, CO 80913
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Fort Carson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fort Carson
Price Range: $66 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our on-post accommodations are convenient, located nearby Evans Army Hospital, The Elkhorn Conference Center, state of the art DFMWR Iron Horse Fitness Facilities, Shoppettes and the Commissary. Complimentary Daily Grab & Go Continental Breakfast & Weekly Wednesday Evening Socials, High Speed Internet, Complimentary Guest Laundry, courtesy on-post shuttle and outdoor playground. Bldg 7301, 7302, 7304 and 7305 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing