We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value meal”
Review of Coconut Grove - CLOSED

Coconut Grove
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value meal”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have eaten at Coconut grove twice in the past week. They are currently offering a three course menu plus a glass of wine or beer for the meagre price of $29. This is great value in a region that is often overpriced due to high rental costs. The menu changes each week and offers two choices for each course. The servings are generous and the quality is excellent. Needless to say, the restaurant is full and even has to turn people away. Bookings are essential. The service is excellent, unobtrusive, but attentive. The only downside is that the restaurant is very noisy, making conversation difficult. We intend to continue to go each week while this special deal lasts. A special deal is also planned for the coming Summer season. We look forward to it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Congratulation to Andy and the Crew at Coconut Grove, Sunshine Beach”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

An impressive lunch on a dismal day. Great food, friendly staff and an inviting, stylish feel to this restaurant. A ladies lunch with an entree choice of Steamed Prawn & Water Chestnut Wontons, Soy, Lime & Honey Dipping Sauce or Pressed Duck Terrine, Balsamic & Puy Lentil Vinaigrette. Both well received.

The Main Course of a Traditional Bouillabaisse of local Seafood, Frech Baguette & Rouille was a winner for me.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NautilusNoosaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,214 reviews
2,906 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Have been coming here for many years but typically find new owners each time we arrive.
A lovely atmosphere, good food and friendly service.
As part of the Duck Waddle event for the Noosa Long Weekend, we had a wonderful duck dish with professioanl and wonderful service.
It did miss though on the wine - we had a cold red wine which we assumed to be a rose but the colour was too dark.
It turned out to be a pinot which didn't really work with the duck - otherwise a restaurant that you would keep returning to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful food and great service”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Andy and his team at Coconut Grove excelled themselves in holding our wedding reception recently. Nothing was too much trouble, great food and great location. Andy on the night so many of our guests commented on how friendly your staff were. Thanks for a great night Andy, see you next year for our anniversary. Karen and Rod

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Croyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food on the Sunshine Coast”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have dined at Coconut Grove twice now and will go there on a regular basis now. They have this 3-course dinner deal on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night, where you get 2 choices for entree, main and dessert, including a glass of wine or you can bring your own wine and they will wave the corkage with this special deal. The menu changes, I think it is every week, so you will never get tired of going there. The Food is to die for, so full of fresh flavours, the portions are just the right size and the service is just wonderful and the surrounds are very well presented. When dining here you really feel spoilt and the price is ONLY $29 pp. Please take my advice and spoil yourself you won't regret it. You can find this restaurant on facebook and also see what the current menu is.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelleViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Grove also viewed

 
Sunshine Beach, Noosa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing