We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favourite dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy XO

Embassy XO
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $61
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delicately fusing together modern Asian and Chinese fine dining, Embassy XO in Sunshine Beach overlooks the picturesque surf beach and quaint village, amidst soft lighting and exotic modern decor. Distinguished by majestic red and orange lights, a winter fireplace, dark timber and stylish Asian furnishings, Embassy XO's lounge bar is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail or chilled wine. Serving up a variety of unique dishes, Embassy XO's menu is a delectable delight, also offering a number of banquet options incorporating a selection of entrees, mains, sides and desserts. Yum cha is available at Embassy XO every Friday, Saturday & Sunday from 12noon until 2pm. The restaurant also offers a delicious $49 three-course Locals Menu every Wednesday & Thursday evening from 6pm, this also includes a glass of wine or beer (not available in peak times).We aslo have a delicious range of $5 bar snacks and other great specials in the Lounge from 3pm-6pm everyday.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A favourite dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We make it an occasion on each visit to Sunshine Beach. Dinner at Embassy XO. We love the room, the fresh air through the windows, the friendly staff, and of course the meal. Thank you for another lovely night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    97
    33
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly superb desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We expected great fusion fish courses from the banqueting menu at this understated restaurant sitting above a rather special wine shop. Not disappointed. Great bugs, prawns, snapper. Interesting grilled oyster ( but why not leave them Ungrilled?). All fine, nice. But we expected nothing much for dessert and were blown away by dim sum steamed buns with liquid chocolate centre and a pear cream crumble... Now where did that come from?
And quite exemplary service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sillyfillyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classy Modern Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful, modern asian menu with good service. it's at the premium end of Asian dining, with a strong wine menu for support.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Defcon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Banquet for the Senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor we ventured into Embassy XO. This upstairs restaurant has a chic 'east meets west' ambience and attention to detail in decor, artwork and lighting makes for a wonderful first impression. On the advice of another reviewer we opted for the basic banquet and were not disappointed - it was generous offering with three different entrees, three mains shared between the two of us, followed by a delicious dessert. The food was modern, creative, fresh & full of flavour - sensational. I can see why this restaurant has been voted in the Top 10 Regional Restaurants in QLD by Gourmet Traveller past two years running. PS We also went to the #1 restaurant on TrAd and couldn't understand why EXO is rated #2 as the food at the latter is undoubtedly superior in our experience. Highly Recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb food and even better service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

4 of us ( and a six month old) visited and had a wonderful meal. We had the locals deal which is 3 courses for $39 on tues and weds. The scallops, pork belly, duck and ocean trout were all good or great (the former 3 were the starters and out did the mains a bit actually). The stand out was the attentive service which made it extra special and made it easy to enjoy the meal with our sleeping child with us.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embassy XO also viewed

 
Sunshine Beach, Noosa
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Embassy XO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing