We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outback Excellence”
Review of Kilcowera Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thargomindah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcowera Station
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outback Excellence”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Greg and Toni are the friendly and gracious hosts at Kilcowera Outback Station, a large working cattle property hosting guests in the cooler months. We have thoroughly enjoyed our four trips to the property.

Each time we stayed in the converted shearer's quarters which are basic but clean and have all we have needed for our self-catering holidays. Greg and Toni do offer a group evening meal service that was nutritious and very tasty.

Exploring and reflecting on the stunning beauty of the varied landscapes and searching out the wide variety of native birds and wildlife filled our days with great pleasure and reward.

We look forward to our next visit and highly recommend Kilcowera to others. A great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Thanks Ron, we are happy that you enjoyed your time at Kilcowera and appreciate that you have been to visit us 4 times. The fifth visit is a little overdue we reckon! Toni and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elanora, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I went looking for a pet friendly destination far away from the crowds - I found KILCOWERA.
I, my wife and the family pet arrived and set camp at the shearers quarters. The walks on station racks are full of the unexpected as you never know what will hop/slither or fly across your path. I took a station tour with Greg which covered the entire property out to L. Wyara and around the various artesian bores located throughout the 120,000 acres. The bird life is fascinating and the night sky undulled by city lights. Winter days are cool and the nights cold but sitting around a camp fire with a glass of something is the best tonic. The camp kitchen is often used for roast beef dinners with a home made desert with Greg as the host chef. This place is a must for those wanting something away from hustle and bustle. Thanks Greg and Toni for sharing Kilcowera and outback knowledge. Our only regret was not staying longer and we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 911Paul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Paul, we hope that you and your family come and visit again one day. Regards Toni and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Well - what a great website this is; this is my first ever review.

I want to tell the world about this working cattle station (Kilcowera - out near Thargomindah) that caters for winter visitors - it's a very rare find. We went there in 2013 and had a fantastic holiday; we were so impressed by the set up that I put together a short YouTube clip on it - it might be worth a look (Best outback camp in Australia - 'Kilcowera').

The owners, Toni and Greg Sherwin, have put in a lot of work to provide a unique outback experience - the camp sites are very private (you could be forgiven for thinking that you are the only people on the whole planet) and the self guided trip out to Lake Wyara (part of Currawinya National Park) was brilliant; we'll definitely do that again.

Kilcowera really deserves five stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for your positive review for our place! And we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Great video too! Regards Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korumburra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were lucky to find Kilcowera Station on our travels in Queensland last year. We always try and find station stays compared to parks because we love the outback and what it has to offer. Having been on the land all my life but in Southern Victoria, I am fascinated by station life and enjoy staying there to find out how you farm without rain. I know what it is like to get 1300ml of rain each year, but not what it is like to get 300ml.
Kilcowera is by far the best station stay we have ever stayed at. Greg and Toni are great hosts and are more than happy to share stories about life on their station. They have also set up great campsites around the lagoon that offer privacy and peace and quiet. They have really put some thought into what type of experience the visitor is looking for.
The information package with maps and bird lists etc was invaluable and given we only had 3 days on our way home to Vic, we are most certainly going back this year. The self drive tours and just simply some of the walks are a great way to fill your day. Then it is back to the campsite to light the fire and enjoy a nice wine while cooking some pretty impressive meals in the camp oven and cob cooker. If you love the outback, serenity and very friendly hosts, then Kilcowera Station is a must for your next adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for your lovely kind words about our place and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time at Kilcowera. We hope to see you back again one day. Cheers Toni and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I were at Kilcowera for a week. We stayed most of the week in the units (converted shearers quarters) that are neatly presented with lots of room for comfort and socialising in the large central communal area and kitchen. The hot showers are outside of the shearers quarters but very close.

The wildlife is right outside the door but when we spent a couple of days at the end camped out by the lagoon the wildlife was even closer. It is great to sit and watch the sun set over the water and wake up to the sound of the birds.

Greg and Toni run the property as a working cattle station but they also make time to make their guests feel right at home and very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to write about us here on Trip Advisor. The Lagoon is a wonderful place to camp isn't it? Might see you again some day, Regards Toni and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very freindly owners that make your stay feel very special. Nice very clean shearers quarters or get a powerd site or even a none powerd site down by the water and Tony and Greg go out of their way to help. Tony cooks very good home style meals and will join you as well for Dinner, I recommend it. If you are a bird watcher this is the place to say and you might be lucky to see the Grey Falcon.
Enjoy
Keith ( IGGIE )Hindley

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I hope that you did spot the Grey Falcon while you were here. Kilcowera certainly has a fantastic amount of birds and wildlife. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Cheers Toni and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I just spent a wonder filled time with my wife and friends at Kilcowera Station, everything was excellent. The self drive tour maps are excellent, signs to tell you what that tree is, and other points of interest. Toni and Greg are such good hosts, nothing was too much trouble, They even lent us a yabbie net to catch a good feed .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thanks for the review Greg, we enjoyed meeting you all and sharing our part of the Outback with you. And we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Toni and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilcowera Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcowera Station

Property: Kilcowera Station
Address: Hungerford Road, Thargomindah, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Thargomindah
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Thargomindah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vastness and natural beauty of the Outback at Kilcowera Station, halfway between Thargomindah and Hungerford in SW Queensland. Kilcowera is a 49,000 ha working cattle station which also offers accommodation and camping for travelers. Visitors can take the sixty km self drive tour around the property and view Murderer’s Bore, Rustlers Roost, Cardenyabba Lagoon and the RAMSAR listed Lake Wyara. Guests are given an information pack on arrival to assist them in finding the various lagoons, creeks, waterholes, gorges, caves and wildlife to be seen on their tour of the property.Accommodation is provided in clean, comfortable Shearers’ Quarters. Linen is supplied and beds made up for visitors. We can supply meals or visitors can self cater in the fully equipped kitchen.Campers have the option of three separate campgrounds. The Shearers’ Quarters campground is set amongst green lawns and shady trees, power is available and guests will find BBQ’s, fireplaces stocked with wood, picnic tables and a basic camp kitchen.Camping doesn’t get any better than at Cardenyabba Lagoon which has secluded campsites right on the water’s edge with fireplaces and wood. Light the fire, throw your yabby pot in, sit back and watch the birdlife and the sunset over the tranquil water. Better still bring your kayak and have a paddle! And lastly there is true bush camping to be had at Youlaingee Springs where visitors will have a ten thousand star night sky, silence and a very real sense of peace and seclusion.Activities include guided or self guided tours to scenic areas, four wheel driving, bird and wildlife watching, yabbying, bushwalking, camp oven cooking and superb photographic opportunities. Your hosts Greg and Toni are available to answer the many queries you’ll have about Kilcowera and living and working in the Outback. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing