We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”
Review of Kilcowera Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thargomindah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcowera Station
Frankston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very freindly owners that make your stay feel very special. Nice very clean shearers quarters or get a powerd site or even a none powerd site down by the water and Tony and Greg go out of their way to help. Tony cooks very good home style meals and will join you as well for Dinner, I recommend it. If you are a bird watcher this is the place to say and you might be lucky to see the Grey Falcon.
Enjoy
Keith ( IGGIE )Hindley

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I hope that you did spot the Grey Falcon while you were here. Kilcowera certainly has a fantastic amount of birds and wildlife. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Cheers Toni and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taree, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I just spent a wonder filled time with my wife and friends at Kilcowera Station, everything was excellent. The self drive tour maps are excellent, signs to tell you what that tree is, and other points of interest. Toni and Greg are such good hosts, nothing was too much trouble, They even lent us a yabbie net to catch a good feed .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Kilcowera Station, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thanks for the review Greg, we enjoyed meeting you all and sharing our part of the Outback with you. And we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Toni and Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful camping trip to Kilcowera Station. We never realised the Australian outback was so beautiful and Kilcowera seems to have it all - incredible beauty and colours, a feeling of isolation, lagoons/water holes, yabbies (sautéed in olive oil and lemon juice), wildlife (kangaroos, emus everywhere, amazing birds), great hospitality, history and the icing on the cake, for me anyway, hot showers! The self-drive tour to the National Park is a must do with lots of points of interest along the way and sitting by a campfire next to the lagoon is a great way to unwind. Thanks Kilcowera, it was well worth the long drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HNabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent four nights in the Shearers Quarters - double bed room - and enjoyed every minute of our stay. There is plenty to do: bird watching, getting up close with wildlife generally, catching yabbies, and slowing down enough to take a bit more notice of what's around you. The owners, Greg and Toni, are good hosts, not intrusive but there to help. If you take a caravan or camp, there are plenty of options. You can set up at the Shearers Quarters with power and water or bush camp at Cardenyabba lagoon and use the showers back at the Shearers Quarters whenever you want to. The station is very accessible from Thargomindah, about 90km in total, with about 30km of that unsealed road in quite good condition when we were there (27-30 July 2012) You can also approach from the south via Hungerford, but that road may vary more in condition. Check first..

Room Tip: Askfor a queen size bed when you book, if you are staying in the Shearers Quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilcowera Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcowera Station

Property: Kilcowera Station
Address: Hungerford Road, Thargomindah, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Thargomindah
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Thargomindah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vastness and natural beauty of the Outback at Kilcowera Station, halfway between Thargomindah and Hungerford in SW Queensland. Kilcowera is a 49,000 ha working cattle station which also offers accommodation and camping for travelers. Visitors can take the sixty km self drive tour around the property and view Murderer’s Bore, Rustlers Roost, Cardenyabba Lagoon and the RAMSAR listed Lake Wyara. Guests are given an information pack on arrival to assist them in finding the various lagoons, creeks, waterholes, gorges, caves and wildlife to be seen on their tour of the property.Accommodation is provided in clean, comfortable Shearers’ Quarters. Linen is supplied and beds made up for visitors. We can supply meals or visitors can self cater in the fully equipped kitchen.Campers have the option of three separate campgrounds. The Shearers’ Quarters campground is set amongst green lawns and shady trees, power is available and guests will find BBQ’s, fireplaces stocked with wood, picnic tables and a basic camp kitchen.Camping doesn’t get any better than at Cardenyabba Lagoon which has secluded campsites right on the water’s edge with fireplaces and wood. Light the fire, throw your yabby pot in, sit back and watch the birdlife and the sunset over the tranquil water. Better still bring your kayak and have a paddle! And lastly there is true bush camping to be had at Youlaingee Springs where visitors will have a ten thousand star night sky, silence and a very real sense of peace and seclusion.Activities include guided or self guided tours to scenic areas, four wheel driving, bird and wildlife watching, yabbying, bushwalking, camp oven cooking and superb photographic opportunities. Your hosts Greg and Toni are available to answer the many queries you’ll have about Kilcowera and living and working in the Outback. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing