We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to visit”

Old Vines Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Vines Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in West Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunnyside
Transit: Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.
Description: Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. Voted in the Top 20 Winery Restaurants of the World by the Daily Meal (October 2013). OpenTable Top 100 Best Restaurants in Canada (March 2015). The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I love visiting the vineyards... and if you have a chance to do the tour that includes Quail's Gate do so... it is a fun place. Good wine, nice people, fun time.
I have visited on most of my visits to Kelowna and I am never disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank emayer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 601 of 959 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were a bit disappointed here because our expectations had been set so high with all that we had heard about ths place. The sablefish was ordinary and the beef tenderloin very good but more because of the lovely cut of BC beef rather than anything special about the way it was cooked. We would go back to Raudz time and time again but would not come back here now that we have tried it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kathymurray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are from Alberta so are very much in tune with our beef dinners, but the dinner we had at Quail's Gate had local beef which was absolutely incredible. On the other hand the menu featured many local suppliers which lent itself to the freshness of the meal. It was also a great room. Get there early to get a window seat.

Thank Ron096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The winery is easy to find, well laid out and the staff was very friendly and helpful. While the wine is not to my taste, it was presented by knowledgeable individuals. The restaurant was extremely busy-only could get lunch reservations several days ahead. However, it was lovely.

Thank Karen93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Kelowna is beautiful with its lake setting and a lot of the wineries perching on the hillside. Quail's Gate Winery is one of them. We went with TripAdvisor and had dinner at its Old Vines Restaurant on our second and last day of our short stay in Kelowna. This being late September and the days are getting shorter, our 7pm dinner quickly descended into darkness outside which took away the best part of eating there .....the VIEW.

Service was good at this restaurant and the staff friendly. The price in general was on the expensive side. Unfortunately we were rather disappointed with the food quality for that evening despite all the good reviews the restaurant seems to have garnered. For starters: my wife's roast beets for $8 was OK, my tuna & crab salad tasted just-defrosted and blend for a steep $18, our dinner guest had the special tomato salad for $15 looking rather kind of small in size. For main entres: my wife's sable fish for $33 tasted unremarkable when I was offered a bit. My guest ordered the Game Hen for $28 which she said was tender and good. But my own so called Lamb Duo was outrageously disappointing for $40 to come as only "one" single piece of lamb rack plus a separate piece of lamb shoulder, with nothing remarkable about their taste either. Our Berry Mousse dessert for $12 each was very ordinary in presentation and taste.

Once is enough for us. Those who choose to go there should consider earlier dining hour to soak in the beautiful vineyard and lake ambience, or better still go for their lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HLeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vines Restaurant also viewed

West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Old Vines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing