We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in the Okanagan”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best B & B in the Okanagan”
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for 4 nights and were extremely satisfied all around. A View of the Lake is in a convenient and easy to find location near wineries, downtown and the lake. The views are beautiful in the day or night. The home is beautifully decorated and has everything you could want or imagine on vacation. It is quiet as well as serene.

Chrissy and Steve are wonderful hosts. They are engaging and interesting yet stay out of the way so you dont even notice them most of the time.

The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious. Each morning we could not wait for breakfast to see what masterpiece Steve had prepared. The portions were perfect size for us to start our day.

We were fortunate enough to attend one of Steve's food demonstrations and were not disappointed. This was an evening of fabulous food, wine and company. We learned so much and were entertained all evening. This was by far the best dinner that we had while in Kelowna.

I did not want to leave this oasis of the Okanagan. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
376
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Passionisme
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Wow!

What a place to stay we found this little gem the views are stunning, the rooms are decorated beautifully and the food is outstanding even for a fussy eater like me. I am lactose ovo vegetarian the chef cooked the best breakfast ever.

My husband on the other hand loves food he had 3 courses for breakfast. Steve is a wonderful chef and we will certainly be back for another visit to sample the cooking in his demonstration kitchen where Steve cooks while you watch and eat.

The hosts Steve and Crissy knows how to run a 1st class business.

  • Liked — the food, rooms, and the views fab hosts
  • Disliked — had to share it with others and we could not stay longer as they were fully booked
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Passionisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This is a great place if you like an elegant breakfast, quiet, very clean upscale B&B experience. They are located in Westside - about 10 minutes across the bridge to downtown Kelowna. The view looks across the water to Kelowna. We stayed in a room with no view - the Garden Room. The room was large as was the modern bathroom. The sitting area and deck are very spacious and are separate from where the owners live so you don't feel intrusive. The food is fantastic as the owner is a chef. I was in town for the triathlon and they accommodated my special breakfast requirements. He also does cooking demonstrations/tasting dinners in the beautiful new demonstration kitchen. Both Steve and Chrissy are very engaging people and seem to really care about creating a very positive B&B experience for their guests.


  • Liked — upscale property
  • Disliked — noise of air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port moody
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed in the Grand View room as well had friends stay in this room later on.

The room is beautifully done with exquisite furniture and fine bedding. The view is definitely grand, note that the corner tub is in the bedroom however there is a separate sink/toilet/shower adjoining.

The room does not have a tv, phone or internet access.

The common room downstairs is comfortable and the deck is lovely. There is no tv in the common room either. Free coffee/tea are provided as well an honesty bar with pop/wine/beer.

This place exceeded my expectations in regard to the "bed" portion but unfortunately falls short with the "breakfast". Portions are small and more care is given to presentation than actual food. The food was not bad however don't expect to be spoiled and stuffed with a hearty breakfast.

Be wary if you have any dietary restrictions as some at the table did, The regular meal was minimalist enough....

The hosts are indeed pleasant, cheery and friendly and the house was very clean.

  • Liked — Amazing room and view
  • Disliked — Disappointing breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portmoodygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tryangle, owner at A View of the Lake, responded to this review, September 1, 2007
We are very surprised by Portmoody comments, that she was not stuffed with a hearty breakfast.
Our breakfasts consist of three courses. Our 1st course is a danish or a crepe followed by a fresh fruit dish and then a cooked breakfast. As for the dietary needs of others Steve is a resident chef, we specialize in people’s dietary needs. We ask each and every customer on their arrival if they have any allergies likes or dislikes etc. We contacted Portmoody asking for specifics or whose needs we did not address as yet we have not heard from our anonymous writer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,082 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Property: A View of the Lake
Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing