We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! Great people!”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is so fantastic and the breakfast is scrumptious! Once we found A View of The lake last year, we decided to make this a yearly getaway for us. Steve and Chrissy are the best and most knowledgable hosts you could ask for. The space is relaxing, inviting and warm and the room we stated in (Valley view) is spacious, comfortable and very restful. We wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Kelowna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 580 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

You'll enjoy stunning views from a lovingly and meticulously renovated house overlooking Kelowna. We had the place to ourselves and loved every minute of it. It was still too chilly in April to enjoy the large outside deck area but you can admire the view of the city and lake from the large, increadibly clean guest lounge area or the jacuzzi in the huge main bedroom with floor-to-ceiling windowns. I think it was called the Grand View Room. Note not all the rooms have a lake view.
The award-winning chef/owner serves up great three-course breakfasts and if you are lucky he will show you his demonstration kitchen in another part of the house. He and his wife also had great recommendations for restaurants and sights in the vicinity. The bed was huge, though a bit too soft for us while the pillows were too thick (as we get older we prefer somehwat harder matresses). If you like to sleep with the windows open, there is some road noise as well from the highway far below but it's not a major problem. And on a chilly April morning we "loved" the owners' foresight for putting in a heated bathroom floor. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tryangle, Owner at A View of the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hello Kim and Suzh,
It was lovely meeting you when you stayed with us in April.
Thank you for your comments we love to hear what our guests have to say when they have stayed at A View of the Lake Bed & Breakfast. We appreciate your remarks that you found our pillows were too firm and full.
We have five different types of pillows in each of our rooms; if you had mentioned it we could have given you some softer and thinner pillows for your comfort, as we have an assortment of spare pillows.
However the suite you stayed in has a two inch pillow top on top of the mattress. We could have moved you to another room if we had known the bed was too soft.
We hope you had a wonderful time traveling through Canada and we hope to see you again if you are in the Okanagan valley.

Keep well

Chrissy and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Take the bridge from Kelowna across to West Kelowna and start winding your way up the mountain. Halfway up you will find A View of the Lake. And what a beautiful place you have found!
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a lovely view of the valley and lake, a very comfortable bed with luxurious sheets, fantastic breakfasts and wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are made by an award winning chef so you will not be disappointed.....even if you stay for 3 nights you will still be delighted every morning!
We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay in Kelowna! The back deck and the the glass walled guest lounge were inviting and comfortable, truly a place to lounge. You can't get enough of the view. We will definitely return to Kelowna and stay at A View of the Lake. It is exceptional!
And did I mention that our hosts were very knowledgable and helpful in suggesting hiking expeditions and wonderful restaurants. I can't say enough good about our long weekend here!!

Room Tip: There are two rooms looking out over the lake and they do have wonderful views. The Grand View has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycleChic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We actually stayed at A view of the Lake twice during our recent trip to Kelowna. The first stay was after we found the place through the local Tourist Information office and the second time was after we returned to Kelowna a few days later. The first room was the Lake View room which has a great view of lake Okanogan, very comfy bed, and your own heating/cooling controls. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the eggs benedict version which was a highlight. Each morning we would come down to breakfast and be treated to a multi-course breakfast that would keep us going for hours. The second room that we stayed in was the garden view and once again the bed was very comfortable in a very nice room. Steve was very helpful with recommendations for things to do and places to eat. This is our favorite place to stay when we are in Kelowna.

Room Tip: If you don't care to have a view of the lake the garden room is a good value choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I've stayed in quite a few B&B over the years, but this one surpassed them all! We stayed in the Grand View room and it was lovely, clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we had an amazing view - whether in the bed or jaccuzzi tub. There is a large comfortable open area meant for guests only that includes a large balcony/patio. It was a little too cool to take our breakfast there during this stay, but still a great place to wind down and enjoy the view after a long hard day of visiting wineries. The owner Chef Steve was phenomenal! Very interesting person with a ton of information about the area (and the rest of the world too). To say the breakfast was delicious feels like an understatement - three course gourmet breakfast it certainly was. My only regret is not being there in the summer to have my breakfast on the patio! No better B&B in Kelowna - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily1749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was a very last minute booking for us as we headed homeward from a visit with friends in the okanagan. What a perfect choice! The room we chose was so inviting. From the comfortable king size bed, to the jacuzzi tub overlooking the lake view, to the huge shower..... All were immaculate! And the 3 course breakfast in the morning was delicious! Topped off by the hospitality of our host, Steve, it was a great stay. Hoping to go back for more than one night soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debvan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Where to start? The view? The massive hangout area on the main floor? The food?

One thing I can say for sure is that we will never stay anywhere else. Steve is an amazing host and has world class culinary skills. The view from the massive deck is breathtaking.

Do yourself a favor and go stay here.

Shawn and Chelsea

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
20 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
6 mi away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,207 reviews
4.2 mi away
A Touch of English Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
A View to Remember B&B
A View to Remember B&B
#8 of 26 in West Kelowna
80 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lakeshore Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Apothic Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Apothic Boutique Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 26 in West Kelowna
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range: $92 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing