We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a unexpected surprise during a driving tour of the Rockies! Unfortunately we only had one night, but the place is excellent. Steve and Chrissie are great hosts - very friendly, helpful, and inviting. Cannot fault the standard of the rooms, as they are superb and obviiously a lot of attention has been given to every detail. Breakfast outside on the deck with the other guests was very enjoyable, and the food lovely and expertly presented. Would definitely recommend View of the Lake to anyone, anytime. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 582 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay on our anniversary! We stayed in the grand view and usually I'm leery about how clean bathrooms etc are but this room was hands-down the cleanest we've ever been in while travelling. The view was amazing, we couldn't wait for breakfast.. this was our first B&B and so we had no idea what to expect -but they both made us feel so incredibly welcome; like it was our home away from home. Loved every minute of it!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adridaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had an amazing stay at this wonderful B&B - A View of the Lake. Steve & Chrissy are excellent hosts.

* Located in a very quiet area, only a few minutes drive from downtown Kelowna.
* The Lake View room is spacious, modern, clean and a very comfy bed. The view is spectacular.
* Fantastic breakfast (on the patio overlooking the lake and a 3 course meal) prepared by professional chef Steve. So delicious! Steve is so skilled, he will meet any dietary allergies you may have!! Best gluten free blueberry pancakes I have ever had!!

I would truly recommend A View of the Lake. I've travelled the world and seen so many B&B's, this was by far the best.

Thank you Steve & Chrissy for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_traveller500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Many thanks to Steve and Chrissy for their hospitality, wonderful breakfast, and entertaining stories/conversation. All the previous comments are correct: great view, close to everything and so very comfortable. The house is set up with a common room and very large covered deck to enjoy the view and to have breakfast on. We had the Grand View Suite and Lake View Suite. Advice and suggestions are provided if needed. Not having a TV provided time to visit, read, and relax. There is internet so you can send messages to family and friends that they should have come too! Very much enjoyed meeting other people on their holidays. Chrissy and Steve are a great team.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Wonderful B&B, with an impressive demonstration kitchen and consummate hosts Steve and Chrissy. Breakfast quality reflects Steve's extensive past as an award winning chef, and we'd love to return and experience a demonstration dinner in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJNeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a great place. we were met at the door by Steve who was eager to help from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Our room, Garden View,was large and comfortable, awesome bathroom too. The gourmet breakfasts prepared by Chef Steve (and served by Chrissy) were outstanding..if you go, I hope you are lucky enough to have the cherry crepes...amazing. The common room and seating area off the balcony were beautiful...spectacular views. Would definitely recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Based on the tripadvisor rating, we chose this place for the celebration of the 40th anniversary of our dinner group. We are 3 couples from the Toronto area. The B&B deserves the excellent tripadvisor rating. There is a fabulous view of Lake Okanagan from a large porch, large enough for breakfast to be served there when the weather is warm. There is a very large and nicely furnished central sitting room, also with a dining table (It was cool during our trip; so this was where we ate.). In that room there is also a fridge and bar. The hosts, Steve and Chrissie, are unusually intelligent, perceptive and considerate. I am very picky and drink Earl Grey tea with lemon. Not only was it always available at breakfast, but a number of slices of lemon were put in the fridge for me to use whenever I wanted. This without asking.

Steve has formerly been the chef at Quail's Gate and, prior to that, at an award-winning restaurant in Bermuda (I forget the name.) Breakfasts reflect this: 3 courses of fresh interesting food.

We asked for the open kitchen dinner. Steve only cooks this for groups of 4 (The B&B has 4 rooms and we were using only 3 or them.). We asked if we could pay extra for the dinner and Steve agreed. Well, we thought that we got a bargain! The food, the accompanying wine were the equivalent of the best restaurants in Toronto. Well matched and maybe fresher. And, it was so much fun, so personal, to sit in the impressive demostration kitchen, watching the use of sophisticated equipment and expert techniques, while chatting to this delightful couple.

I am recommending my kids go to Kelowna just so that they get to stay at A View of the Lake.

Room Tip: Their biggest room, with its own view of the lake and a jacuzzi, is worth the extra. One of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaneSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
6.0 mi away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
#5 of 5 in West Kelowna
429 reviews
4.2 mi away
A Touch of English Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
A View to Remember B&B
A View to Remember B&B
#8 of 26 in West Kelowna
80 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lakeshore Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Le Chateau Du Lac B&B
Le Chateau Du Lac B&B
#7 of 26 in West Kelowna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing