We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, would love to return!”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B, would love to return!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at A View of the Lake for just one night, but we wish we could have stayed for longer, it is a fabulous place. Our room was light, spacious, and everything was finished to a high specification. We were in the Lake View Suite which as its name suggests boasts a fantastic view. The open plan sitting area was perfect to enjoy a glass of wine and look out at the view, and the decking area outside was huge. Steve and Chrissy were excellent hosts, and breakfast was superb - enjoyed out on the decking chatting to other guests, we could have stayed there all day! If you are deliberating over where to book in the Kelowna area - this place is such a great find, look no further...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JR22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
381
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Immediately following our first dinner at 'A View of the Lake' with Steve and Chrissy, I decided that we would be back - it was that good. It has been a year but we made it back for another 'demonstration dinner' , which was equally as entertaining and delicious, and this time we stayed over-night. The dinner, with wine pairings, was awesome and fun, again, and my family enjoyed themselves almost as much as my wife & I. We stayed in the 'Lakeview Room' which is spacious with a huge bathroom & shower-room and, like its name suggests, has a great view. Our hosts and the other guests kept us entertained, on their gorgeous sun-deck with a spectacular view, until ..............late. In the morning the breakfast is another gourmet affair that Steve creates, Chrissy serves on the 'Deck', and is surprisingly sufficient for a big appetite. Overall this is a great experience and a great place to stay when you are in the area. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akselson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Steve and Chrissie run an excellent B&B. We chose the Grand View room, where the views are indeed impressive. The room is beautifully decorated and furnished, the bed is large and very comfortable and the bathroom with its large walk in shower is luxurious. There's also a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom with views out to the lake. Breakfast is served on a large terrace with equally spectacular views of Kelowna and the lake. Our breakfast on both days was excellent. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: There are lovely views from the Grand View Room and the room and bathroom are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a B & B like no other we have ever known. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Chrissie with offers of tea, wine etc. Steve showed us to our rooms. The Grandview room we occupied was just amazing with Spa bath in the bedroom, large comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. We had use of a large sitting room and tea/coffee facilities downstairs and also we used the terrace with a wonderful view of the Lake where we also had our gourmet breakfast in the morning. Steve is a first class chef and the breakfast were to die for.! Great to see no TV's in rooms. Great hospitality from Chrissie and Steve. Best B & B ever better than 5* hotels we have stayed in. On a scale of 1 to 10 this rates about 14!!

Room Tip: Choose Grandview room for that extra bit of luxury, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthportRaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose the A View on the Lake from reading Trip Advisor and it lived up to the reviews. We stayed in the Valley View room which was spacious (it even had a dressing room!), with a well-appointed bathroom. Steve and Chrissy made us very welcome to their majestic hillside home. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the lake was amazing as was everything that Chef Steve cooked. It was a pity that we could only stay one night but our time in Kelowna was short. A great place, highly recommended and would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived my husband and I were made to feel very welcome at Steve and Chrissy's excellent B&B. Our room was very well appointed and modern. We enjoyed meeting other guests on the large deck that offered a great view over the lake and surrounding countryside. Breakfast was superb and we hope to be able to take in one of Steve and Chrissy's dinners in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fantastic hosts! Unbelievable breakfasts! Incredible views! Large clean rooms! Home like atmosphere! It was a shame that we couldn't stay longer. If we go back to Kelowna we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,100 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Property: A View of the Lake
Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing