We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent host and facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 23 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Excellent host and facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This B&B is really a perfect setting to enjoy the beautiful Kelowna. Excellent service and facilities. No doubt best B&B we ever visited. Definitely will choose to stay here if we ever visit Kelowna again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSH_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
363
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the pampering and relaxation we experienced in this delightful home. The view is stunning, as advertised. Rooms and common areas are spacious, tasteful and comfortable. Food was amazing - best breakfasts anywhere. A feast for the palate and the eye. Steve and Chrissy are lovely, amusing people, and very gracious hosts. Excellent advice offered re tours, attractions, and dining options as well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September and were happily surprised to find a clean welcoming B&B with very helpful and friendly hosts. The rooms were nicely decorated, and the bathroom was especially nice. Kelowna was a wonderful place to explore and we wished we had more time. This place is a great place to be the base for your stay. Definitely recommend it. The only reason why we didn't give it five stars was because the bed was too soft (we prefer firmer beds). I would give this 4.5 stars if I could (it is very hard to get 5 stars from me).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llpooppob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights in early October for the Okanagan marathon. Beautiful home high in the hills, we stayed in the Grand View room. Fantastic room overlooking the lake & Kelowna city centre. Worth waking up at dawn to see the sun coming up over the city. Breakfast is not your usual affair. Guests eat together at the large dining table (too cold for the patio), 3 great courses of inventive tasty cuisine, easy to see Steve is a chef of some regard. Hence his great local restaurant & winery recommendations.
Unfortunately there's no restaurants within walking distance because of the beautiful location in the hills on the west side of the lake, but's its only 5-10 min drive to the centre.
Considering the breakfast you get within such a beautiful home, also great value.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stewsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful home and setting with great views of the lake and valley. Rooms are modern and large. You know you can expect a great breakfast when prepared by a professional chef. Eating outside on the covered deck in the warm Okanogan morning was delightful. Steve welcomed us warmly and was great at giving advise on the local sights and restaurants. We are hoping to go back this winter for some skiing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canvair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not sure where to start... This was our first B&B experience. Right from the first contact Steve and Chrissy were very communicative and helpful in planning our trip to Kelowna.

From our arrival time (we were really early - they were really welcoming) to our departure, everything was exquisite.

The rooms (we stayed in Lake View first, and then into the Grand View) are marvelous. The Lake View overlooks Knox Mountain and Okanagan Lake - it is charming and relaxing, with a queen bed, spacious room and excellent shower are - a very nice option for sure.

The Grand View Suite is exactly that, GRAND and with a VIEW. The jetted-bath, built for two, literally has a corner view of the entire valley, with luxurious lotions and warm candlelight, a wonderful relaxing way to finish an evening. The king bed is super comfortable. The custom bathroom with heated floors, dual sinks, and a shower that makes you melt (body jets AND a rain head) are the finishing touches.

The common room is anything but common. Leather couches, a full library, honour bar, fireplace - very nice. The deck overlooking the Westbank, East Kelowna and the lake is a spectacular place. Steve will make sure a fresh pot of coffee is ready to go for those who wish to get up early to enjoy the sun as it rises directly over Black Mountain.

Breakfast is a gourmet meal itself. Set-up on the deck, three courses of deliciousness. Always different each morning, Steve and Chrissy serve up a meal beyond compare. Fresh fruit from the gardens, including the neighbours - hope they know ;) crepes, waffles, omelets, eggs - something different everyday.

We have extremely high expectations - Steve & Chrissy met everyone of them. We fear they may have ruined us for other B&B stays.

Book early - there is a reason this B&B is ranked #1.

Room Tip: Any room is good, but the Grand View is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairwaymob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We highly recommend this beautifully appointed B&B. The rooms are large as are the available sitting areas, indoors as well as on the outdoor patio. The patio has an amazing view over the valley and lake. Breakfasts were truly delicious and the presentation was befitting of the master chef/owner. Steve and Chrissy were gracious hosts and very helpful with our daily planning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Property: A View of the Lake
Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing