We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much needed escape”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the pampering and relaxation we experienced in this delightful home. The view is stunning, as advertised. Rooms and common areas are spacious, tasteful and comfortable. Food was amazing - best breakfasts anywhere. A feast for the palate and the eye. Steve and Chrissy are lovely, amusing people, and very gracious hosts. Excellent advice offered re tours, attractions, and dining options as well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for A View of the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 569 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September and were happily surprised to find a clean welcoming B&B with very helpful and friendly hosts. The rooms were nicely decorated, and the bathroom was especially nice. Kelowna was a wonderful place to explore and we wished we had more time. This place is a great place to be the base for your stay. Definitely recommend it. The only reason why we didn't give it five stars was because the bed was too soft (we prefer firmer beds). I would give this 4.5 stars if I could (it is very hard to get 5 stars from me).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llpooppob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights in early October for the Okanagan marathon. Beautiful home high in the hills, we stayed in the Grand View room. Fantastic room overlooking the lake & Kelowna city centre. Worth waking up at dawn to see the sun coming up over the city. Breakfast is not your usual affair. Guests eat together at the large dining table (too cold for the patio), 3 great courses of inventive tasty cuisine, easy to see Steve is a chef of some regard. Hence his great local restaurant & winery recommendations.
Unfortunately there's no restaurants within walking distance because of the beautiful location in the hills on the west side of the lake, but's its only 5-10 min drive to the centre.
Considering the breakfast you get within such a beautiful home, also great value.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stewsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful home and setting with great views of the lake and valley. Rooms are modern and large. You know you can expect a great breakfast when prepared by a professional chef. Eating outside on the covered deck in the warm Okanogan morning was delightful. Steve welcomed us warmly and was great at giving advise on the local sights and restaurants. We are hoping to go back this winter for some skiing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canvair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not sure where to start... This was our first B&B experience. Right from the first contact Steve and Chrissy were very communicative and helpful in planning our trip to Kelowna.

From our arrival time (we were really early - they were really welcoming) to our departure, everything was exquisite.

The rooms (we stayed in Lake View first, and then into the Grand View) are marvelous. The Lake View overlooks Knox Mountain and Okanagan Lake - it is charming and relaxing, with a queen bed, spacious room and excellent shower are - a very nice option for sure.

The Grand View Suite is exactly that, GRAND and with a VIEW. The jetted-bath, built for two, literally has a corner view of the entire valley, with luxurious lotions and warm candlelight, a wonderful relaxing way to finish an evening. The king bed is super comfortable. The custom bathroom with heated floors, dual sinks, and a shower that makes you melt (body jets AND a rain head) are the finishing touches.

The common room is anything but common. Leather couches, a full library, honour bar, fireplace - very nice. The deck overlooking the Westbank, East Kelowna and the lake is a spectacular place. Steve will make sure a fresh pot of coffee is ready to go for those who wish to get up early to enjoy the sun as it rises directly over Black Mountain.

Breakfast is a gourmet meal itself. Set-up on the deck, three courses of deliciousness. Always different each morning, Steve and Chrissy serve up a meal beyond compare. Fresh fruit from the gardens, including the neighbours - hope they know ;) crepes, waffles, omelets, eggs - something different everyday.

We have extremely high expectations - Steve & Chrissy met everyone of them. We fear they may have ruined us for other B&B stays.

Book early - there is a reason this B&B is ranked #1.

Room Tip: Any room is good, but the Grand View is perfect!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairwaymob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We highly recommend this beautifully appointed B&B. The rooms are large as are the available sitting areas, indoors as well as on the outdoor patio. The patio has an amazing view over the valley and lake. Breakfasts were truly delicious and the presentation was befitting of the master chef/owner. Steve and Chrissy were gracious hosts and very helpful with our daily planning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The B&B a view of the lake, is a lovely place in West Kelowna. It is on the other side of the lake with regard to the city center, therefore, nice and quiet place. The view of the lake, isn't spectacular, but the place, breakfast, and friendlyness make up for this.
The rooms are lovely, well kept, with little nice details, as makeup remover in the bathroom. The common space is great, a big balcony with a view of the lake, and a big common room.
The breakfast was getting used to, because all the tenants sit on a big table. This makes for great conversations, but it was a bit getting used to for us. Breakfast is really yummy.
And just a lovely and friendly couple....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,143 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range: $94 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing