We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

If, like us, you usually prefer hotels to bed and breakfasts, then a visit to A View of the Lake will totally convert you to the b & b experience.
We stayed there three nights whilst touring British Columbia and couldn't fault any aspect.
The accommodation was immaculate, stylish and very comfortable. The breakfasts were memorable to say the least.
Everyday, Steve produced a totally different three-coursed meal, and all were delicious. Breakfasts were served at a large table on the patio (with a lovely view of Lake Okanagan) where the company of the other guests added to the pleasure of the occasion.
Throughout our stay, Steve and Chrissie were the perfect hosts - attentive without being
ingratiating, friendly but not over-familiar and always making us feel happy to be in their home.
You might think all this comes at a price but no - it's exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Valley View Room which had a very comfortable king sized bed and well-equipped spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twogotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 580 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed at Grand View Suite, the room is huge and has a great view of downtown Kelowna and the Okanagan lake. Steve and Chrissy are super nice hosts. The breakfasts were delicious. Steve's version of Eggs Benedict is to die for.
I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Steve and Chrissie offer warm hospitality in their superb property with its breathtaking views. Steve is an accomplished professional chef and his breakfasts are memorable. The bedrooms are comfortable, extemely well equipped and some have stupendous views. The bathrooms are also spacious and beautifully finished. The public rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast on the balcony offers a delight for the senses. Some of BCs best vineyards are close by. Steve gives visitors insightful advice on local attractions, nature trails etc. We are recommending this property to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My friends and I went to Kelowna for the weekend to enjoy food, wine and great company and the highlight of our trip was this little B&B. Our stay at the View of the Lake was absolutely perfect and we all agree it’s Kelowna’s best B&B by far.

We arrived very late in the evening and were greeted by a patiently waiting Steve who showed us to our rooms. I had the Valley View room with two twin beds for my friend and I. The spacious room was absolutely lovely and the plush carpet was heaven on my feet. The room was meticulously cleaned and I noticed the attention to detail immediately when I saw the little basket of toiletries, which even included make-up remover pads. There was a soft cotton robe handing in the over-sized walk-in closet, and a small safe to hold my valuables. The beds were perfectly made and had a nice fluffy comforter.

The next morning, after waking from a sound sleep, I walked to the patio where we were to have breakfast. The view of the lake from the table was truly breathtaking, and the breakfast was so yummy I almost have no words to describe it. Our first day, we enjoyed three lovely courses which included cherry crepes, fresh fruit with mango yogurt, and a to-die-for salmon cake with poached egg on top. The second day I had raisin apple French toast, prosciutto and melon, and a fluffy spinach and feta omelet. Chrissy was perfectly attentive, noticing that I liked having honey with my coffee, she had it ready for me when I arrived for breakfast. It’s this kind of care that you can’t find just anywhere.

I can honestly say that I’ve never had a more pleasant experience at a B&B and I could sing their praises for a long time to come, but the only way you’ll truly understand is to stay there and experience it for yourself.

Thank you to our gracious host & hostess for making our trip so enjoyable & memorable!

Room Tip: Book early, it's the best B&B in Kelowna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diva_enroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

When we checked in Steve was helpful in providing maps and information about the Kelowna area. We stayed in the Valley View Suite which had a bit of a view of the lake. The room was large with a walk-in-closet ( wall safe in the closet) and bathroom with heated floors. It was clean and no detail was overlooked. The first morning we enjoyed our three-course breakfast out on the deck. It was a little cool and there was construction noise, but this was beyond their control and the view made up for it. The second morning we ate inside - still with a wonderful view. The breakfasts were the best I have ever had including such things as cherry crepes, banana bread with sticky toffee sauce, fruit parfaits, and omelettes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for two nights on route to Seattle where we were catching the U2 concert. Boy are we glad we decided to do so! Steve and Chrissy are the perfect hosts! Aside from the breath taking views and peaceful atmosphere the facility offers, it is also inviting, comfortable and oh so relaxing. Steve was even gracious enough to give us a lift to a bar down the road so my wife and I could watch the Canucks game on TV (considering there are no TV's in the room which we actually prefered there not be). Speaking of the room, one word sums it up "WOW!!". We were privileged enough to have been guests in the "Grand View Suite". We almost skipped our wine tour because we couldn't bare to leave it. The view, the jacuzzi, the rain shower were wonderful! Worth every penny. The gourmet breakfast Steve prepared in the morning was absolutely delicious! The best we have ever had! This couple have truly outdone themselves with this property and we will be singing their praises to anyone who will hear us. Thank you for a truly magestic stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were disappointed when we learnt that the owners of this B&B were out of the country during our stay. The lady who was covering for them was lovely and very accomodating but the big draw of this B&B, and probably why it rates so highly on TripAdvisor, was the gourmet breakfast, prepared by the owner, a prize-winning chef (quote from the website: To make your stay complete, we are delighted to serve you a gourmet three course breakfast cooked by chef Steve – or by Chrissy, who has picked up many tips from him over the years”).

We were in Kelowna for the weekend to visit the local vineyards, and were hoping to get some local knowledge from the owners, although the lady looking after the B&B did have some local knowledge and was able to answer our questions, her knowledge was maybe not as extensive as people that live and work in the area full time.

It's not so much that they were away, as everybody needs time off, but the fact that we weren't told of this is the big problem. If we had known we may still have kept the booking but to not be told is a touch annoying.

Having said all that, the B&B was absolutely lovely. Great location, great room (especially the shower) and well equipped and an elegant house in general. All very clean and quiet - perfect for a short stay in the valley and close to many of the main vineyards. There was wi-fi but it rarely worked; The lady covering for the owners said she was told it was a problem when she started and that she was unable to fix the issue.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoopySimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tryangle, Owner at A View of the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

It was unfortunate that we had to go back to the UK. In the five years we have been open this is the first time we have been away during our busy season and have someone look after our home, and hopefully the last time.
We were lucky enough to find Marie who is a professional inn sitter with over 15 years experience to look after our B & B.
We are sorry that you were disappointed and we could not be here to greet you personally. But we trust you had a great time and we look forward to meeting you next time you are in the Okanagan Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
2.1 mi away
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
#5 of 5 in West Kelowna
436 reviews
6 mi away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,197 reviews
4.2 mi away
A Touch of English Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
A View to Remember B&B
A View to Remember B&B
#8 of 26 in West Kelowna
80 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lakeshore Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Le Chateau Du Lac B&B
Le Chateau Du Lac B&B
#7 of 26 in West Kelowna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing