We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, meal, and service”

The Barrel Top Grill
Ranked #32 of 98 Restaurants in West Kelowna
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Description: The Barrel Top Grill is a winery lounge operated by Little Straw Vineyards during the warmer months in the Okanagan Valley. We feature a creative small plates menu for mid-day dining with both outdoor and indoor seating available. Chef Trevor confirms that we have gluten-free and vegetarian options on our menu.
Restaurant details
Description: The Barrel Top Grill is a winery lounge operated by Little Straw Vineyards during the warmer months in the Okanagan Valley. We feature a creative small plates menu for mid-day dining with both outdoor and indoor seating available. Chef Trevor confirms that we have gluten-free and vegetarian options on our menu.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is an intimate bistro style restaurant at the Little Straw Winery, overlooking the vineyards on Mount Boucherie. The food was excellent, and at a great price relative to the high end restaurants at Quails Gate and Mission Hill. The head chef introduced himself and the food, which he cooked himself from his own recipe. We had the beef and the salmon. Also tried the Marechal Foch, which was quite good. Great date night pick!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mattsheldrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for The Barrel Top Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

It was our first winery restaurant visit and what an experience! The location is situated amongst rows of grape vines growing with a beautiful view looking over at the Okanagan Lake on an intimate balcony. The staff are all upbeat and friendly, very attentive to all your needs - we even got visited by Barrel Top Grill's very own chef, Trevor, who is such a great man to speak with especially about his own fresh growing garden that he just runs down to from the restaurant to pick the veggies that are featured in his menu!! The food - oh the food, it was like we were at a 5-star restaurant while we slowly enjoyed every piece we ate from the appetizers to the main dish. When you order the fruit and cheese platter, do not assume anything Lol! It was an invention beyond any taste buds and so very creative on how to represent the fruit on this platter. Myself I had the Funghi Involtini - YummO! Perfectly seasoned meat, wrapped around pan seared Portobello mushrooms served with fresh vegetables from the garden just below the dinning balcony. As for my partner he enjoyed savoring the Prosciutto Chicken Florentine ... We both agreed this was one of our TOP RESTAURANTS we have been too so far in our travels. Well done Chef Trevor and The Barrel Top Grill!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CRussell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Trevor has developed not only an excellent menu but a very personable presentation style since I first dined there 2 years ago. He is not afraid to present his true self. a rare treat. I visit Little Straw frequently as a Wine Tour Guide and enjoy the tour even more when he is present. Good work to him and all the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped at Little Straw winery today and had lunch at the on site barrel top grill. Just had to provide an excellent review for Barrel Top as we had an amazing lunch! I don't know if I caught his name but the chef introduced himself personally and looked after us every step of the way! He grabbed our drinks and made some great suggestions for us. My wife wanted the chicken club but did not want prosciutto or mayo. The chef said he would personally spruce it up and after describing the delicious maple cheese he personally grilled it for her with on the bbq right next to us with garlic butter instead of mayo and the chicken club was AMAZING! As for me, the chef recommended the beef sliders which were some of the best I've had. He made the patties himself with his own blend of herbs and spices and grilled them right in front of our eyes! Complete with fresh ciabatta buns, lettuce and tomato. Had the tapestry white wine which was amazing! The chef was nice enough to provide my wife with a sample of wine before she ordered a glass also. The view from the patio is amazing, stretching out over the vineyards all the way to the lake. Also a shout out to the friendly girl downstairs at the winery tasting bar itself. Samples of wine are free or by donation to the food bank. Very accommodating and friendly! What can I say, amazing staff (thanks again chef!) amazing food, amazing view, five out of five. If you are fortunate enough to dine at this gem in Kelowna you won't be disappointed!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reviewontherun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleStrawSue, Owner at The Barrel Top Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We are so glad you took the time to write such a positive review of our winery restaurant. Chef Trevor prides himself on giving his guests a memorable experience as he delights in providing personal attention to detail. Thank you for recognizing that our winery is blessed with a beautiful setting, as well as a fine collection of staff. We do appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

The people here are wonderful. Trevor the chef even came out & spoke with us when we had lunch here. The Tapas sampler was excellent fare and great value as well, perfect proportion size. Will definitely be back to eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cruzquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleStrawSue, Owner at The Barrel Top Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your lunch at our winery lounge and that you appreciated Chef Trevor's enthusiasm. And thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrel Top Grill also viewed

West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Barrel Top Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing