We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The rooms were dirty and the management was very rude!!!
We picked this hotel because it was central for tours we had booked! But the beds were dirty, and the staff was not helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 90Roxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 West Kelowna BC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 417 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

Pros – cheaper than most of the other Kelowna hotels; reasonable value
Cons – need to drive 5 – 10 mins to get to Kelowna town centre; thin walls; mediocre breakfast

This is my 2nd time staying with this hotel. We had a promotional code and paid $99/night for a standard room with 2 queen sized beds. The lobby was updated but not the standard rooms. I was told their luxury rooms were updated but I didn’t want to pay extra for it. There was no elevator and it was a bit of a workout to carry the luggage onto the 2nd floor (where we stayed).

Room was generally clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was small but manageable. Walls were a bit thin though and this could be a problem if you have noisy neighbours. The hairdryer smelled burnt if you use it continuously for more than 5 mins. Breakfast is free so don’t expect too much.

Overall, this is not a bad choice if you are on a budget and don’t mind driving 5-10 mins (each direction) to Kelowna town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossover604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our experience was horrible.

First, I called 1-800-4Comfort. I did some checking on the different hotels in the area and found a Comfort Suites that I wanted to stay at. Unfortunately, once I got to that location, they said I didn't have a reservation with them but with another Comfort Inn about 30 minutes away. They were full so couldn't help us but directed us to the other hotel.

When we checked in at the new location, we were immediately harrassed. First, they claimed that our confirmation number was invalid and part of a scam. Although I made the reservation well in advance through 1-800-4choice, they argued and claimed I must have done it on the internet through some other group. I told them I booked through their main # and gave my debit card as I avoid using credit cards.

The lobby was busy, so the desk clerk gave me keys to the room and said we'd work it out after she took care of the other guests. I was traveling with my sister and her two liittle girls (6 yrs and 12 yrs). It was hot out so we started changing into our bathing suits, just to have someone come into the room. There was no knock or any other warning. Luckily I've stayed in enought rooms to put the security bracket into place. When I asked who it was, I realized it was the desk clerk who had invaded the room and said we had to pack up and leave immediately.

She claimed they didn't recieve payment and I would have to pay again as they were all booked up and couldn't give me a room wihtout securing another charge. Even when I pulled up my authorization on their provided internet system, they claimed my e-mail was false and that no reservation was there for me. When I looked over their shoulder and saw my name on their reservation list, they still refused me a room.

Since the room had a strong odor of stale smoke (and it being called a non-smoking room), them violating us by coming into the room unannounced, and their refusal to help resolve the situation, rather their continued use of the term "scam" and us being at fault, I told them I'd stay in my car before I'd ever stay with them again. If for no other reason, I really questioned our safety if they could come into the room at their pleasure.

Of course, I have a stop payment with my bank to deny this transaction. But If you want safe accommodations and want to avoid drama like this (which from start to finish lost us 4 hours of time playing in Kelowna), stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beware787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Second time we've stayed here. We find it comfortable and the desk staff are accomodating and freindly. We did notice that the cleaning staff are either new since our last trip or overworked. Bed got made and trash emptied but the bathroom was definitely not cleaned during our four nights.
The other thing that irks us is the breakfast which is billed as "Deluxe Continental". It was definitely not deluxe during our first stay last year and was even less so this time. one toaster to service several dozen guests when the best thing there is toast and toaster waffles (no NOT fresh) is completely insufficient. then the usual muffins, pastry and cereal. Fisrt day we had hard boiled eggs. Last day no eggs and the juice machine was out of order. Pitchers of juice instead?? Nope, just a sign, sorry for the inconvenience. They're sorry. Sorry and a toonie will get me a bottle of juice at the Petrocan across the street. We've stayed at hotels in the same price range where breakfast included bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, real waffle machines, fresh fruit (not dried up shrivelled oranges starting to turn black) boiled and scrambled eggs in addition to the meager fair offered here.
We'll still stay here but at 149 bucks a night for a 79 dollar room when you say deluxe breakfast you need to deiver deluxe. And don't tell us you're sorry, Show us you're sorry. It's called customer serivice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradWMission_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed one night on the way to Big White resort and wanted cheap, clean room to crash one night. This place fit the bill, nothing fancy but no major complaints for what it is.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed for two nights with a small maltese dog, and therefore received a room that allows pets. While we appreciate that the Comfort Inn accepts pets, we were disappointed in our room. The carpet was badly stained and the sofa bed very shabby. A look behind the sofa bed was frightening. The actual bed itself was comfortable, but there were cigarette burns in the comforter. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The room itself was very nice. Everything was very modern and up to date. The bedding was beautiful and very comfortable. Everything was given in abundance (towels, toiletries, coffee etc...), and complimentary toothpaste, toothbrush, razors etc were available if needed. Free fresh waffle breakfast every morning. It had a pool and exercise room. I felt very secure as rooms, pool, and exercise room all needed key cards. Only downside - Pop and goodies in the down stairs looby were overpriced, but that's to be expected.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redhotpinkfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
Holiday Inn West Kelowna
#4 of 5 in West Kelowna
225 reviews
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#14 of 34 in Kelowna
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,143 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 West Kelowna BC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 West Kelowna BC

Address: 1655 Westgate Rd, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3P1, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Price Range: $69 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 West Kelowna BC 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in beautiful West Kelowna, Super 8 Hotel West Kelowna offers a great experience and service for good value. The hotel is located a very short distance to many of the best wineries in the Okanagan valley, halfway between downtown Kelowna and historical Westbank. Complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, Ample parking, suites with kitchenettes and some meeting space options combined with it's central location make this place the perfect base for groups and individual travellers wishing to explore this great area. We pride ourself in the quality of our service and strive to exceed your expectations at every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 West Kelowna BC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Westside Hotel West Kelowna
Comfort Inn Kelowna
Kelowna Comfort Inn
Super 8 West Kelowna BC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing