We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, disappointed by the cake...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perrywood Coffee Shop

Perrywood Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Inworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, disappointed by the cake...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I visit Perrywood's Coffee Shop every so often and will continue to do so as it's situated in a lovely garden centre and the view from the conservatory in the coffe shop is amazing (makes you forget you're in Essex!). The refurb looks really nice too.

That being said, on my last trip, I went to order a cake and my companion enquired whether the filling in the cake was indeed, real buttercream. The lady serving us retorted: "What do you mean real buttercream?". I said: "well not some kind of icing or frosting". She then went off to ask the kitchen what the buttercream was made of, only to come back and say it was made with Stork! (Stork being the margarine you would use to cook a cake, not make a BUTTERcream out of). We were all a bit surprised by this... buttercream should be made with butter, icing sugar, some kind of flavouring (vanilla, cocoa powder, coffee or whatever goes with the cake) and sometimes a little milk to loosen it up. I have noticed that since the recession, cafes/coffee shops and other eating establishements, seem to be trying to cut costs by making their fillings with margarine or just icing, instead of the real deal. It's a shame because I know Perrywood do actually make their own cakes (which is not always the case) and that is a definite plus point when going out for a treat.

Unfortunately, the lady serving did not automatically offer to exchange the cake for another option - seeing as we had actually enquired before she served the cake, and she had not gone off to find out until after she had cut it and plated it up. I was going to just stick with it as I felt quite uncomfortable - there was a queue of people standing behind us waiting. As I really didn't want to eat a load of raw Stork, my companion asked if I could have something else. The lady serving was gracious enough to give me a different option when my companion asked for it, which I appreciated and tasted very nice.

Having eaten lunch here several times before, I would echo the comment someone made earlier: it would be nice to have a hot vegetable option to go with the main courses. The lunch options listed when I was there the other day having my afternoon tea, sounded delicious, so we will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoshannaVered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    69
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ok but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food here is ok but very expensive, you can pay over £4.50 for a slice of cheesecake. On a whole it is a pretty nice place to stop off though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank harry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourneo, Public Relations Manager at Perrywood Coffee Shop, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We aim to keep prices as low as feasibly possible for high quality produce, whilst providing generous portions of homemade food. The majority of our customers feel they receive value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“scrummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

nice home made food, but does get too crowded I think its a local meeting place . nice cakes, savorys etc

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank romfordgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourneo, Public Relations Manager at Perrywood Coffee Shop, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We're glad you liked our food! The coffee shop is very popular. Many locals like to meet up with friends and enjoy the home cooked food, as do customers travelling from afar. We like to think that this reflects a vibrant atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

the garden center was very busy but there was so many members of staff there was no waiting for advice. Staff very helpful and very knowledgeable
lovely Easter display with lots of unusual things to buy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourneo, Public Relations Manager at Perrywood Coffee Shop, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always try and ensure our staff are on-hand to help, and we pride ourselves on our seasonal displays. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
318 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“:-) Smiling Faces :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Coffee Shop has had a part-make-over - ever trying to keep one step ahead of the game.
It was all done quickly and efficiently, with minimal distruption to customers and everyone needs congratulating. Dare say some regulars had a moan but 'hey ho' .... :-) .... it is the staff and food that are the constants here and we've never been disappointed with either. We love visiting and being greeted with smiling faces. Smart new toilets into the bargain. Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourneo, Public Relations Manager at Perrywood Coffee Shop, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We're very proud of the way our staff coped during the coffee shop refurbishment. We've been delighted with the many positive comments received. Our aim is to make every area of the centre an enjoyable experience and ensure that any changes are for the benefit of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perrywood Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Perrywood Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing