We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, useful location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Escape

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner! Kitchen as you enter the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner!
Kitchen as you enter the front door
Open Plan Living Area
Lounge area.
Upstairs to the bedroom and en suite shower room.
Bedroom
Toilet and Basin
Large walk in Shower
Seating and Loungers in the Orchard.
The Back Garden.
Through the gate to the fields beyond.
The South Downs
The Pub next door.
Cara!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ringmer, Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sarahj123...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, useful location.”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely, warm friendly cottage - felt at home as soon as we arrived. Comfortable bed, bathroom, kitchen area etc. Lovely garden too and sitting out spaces. Nice to have the pub close by but also a nice place to stay in and cook supper.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
So glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Glad you enjoyed yourselves and made good use of the PUB next door!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gillie W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“As rated, excellent !!”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely place to stay. Beautifully presented throughout. Peaceful and private set in a beautiful garden. Homemade scones and jam on arrival were a real treat, after a long journey. A gold star to Joy and John. Will definately visit again !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krhBedfor...
bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had stayed at the adjoining property (The Getaway) in the past and were delighted to find that The Escape was free for the dates we required. The accommodation felt very private and even though we didn't use the log burner, it was very warm and cosy to come back to after walking in the lovely Sussex countryside. There was plenty of storage room and well placed shelving in the en suite bathroom which made life easy. As others have said, the home made scones and jam were a real treat and much appreciated! We particularly liked the relaxing green colour which had been used throughout and was in keeping with the delightful garden surrounding the property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review! Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes Joy, John and of course Cara!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Few days away ”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We both had a few days of work and decided to look to get away. We Found the escape and made contact with Joy who was nice and helpful.

It ticked all the boxes for us dog friendly, log burner and near the pub.

When we arrived we received a very warm
Welcome and some lovely scones and jam.

The escape is a very high standard just like home from home.

Sydney our chocolate lab love running around the fields and take up the heat from the log burner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2017
Really glad you had a good break.
Thanks for the lovely review. Hope to see you again sometime. Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wander672...
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Excellent location. Very comfortable and beautifully decorated to a high standard. Owners welcoming and informative. Really enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful placed with delightful hosts”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for three nights in July 2016 and Joy and her husband looked after our small dog in the afternoons when we attended Glyndebourne. The cottage is small, but beautifully designed and thoughtfully kitted out. It has a beautiful garden and overlooks fields and countryside. There's a great pub a few hundred yards away and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Glad you both enjoyed your stay. It was certainly no hardship looking after your little dog!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing