We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Few days away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Escape

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner! Kitchen as you enter the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner!
Kitchen as you enter the front door
Open Plan Living Area
Lounge area.
Upstairs to the bedroom and en suite shower room.
Bedroom
Toilet and Basin
Large walk in Shower
Seating and Loungers in the Orchard.
The Back Garden.
Through the gate to the fields beyond.
The South Downs
The Pub next door.
Cara!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ringmer, Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dave-Bird...
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Few days away ”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We both had a few days of work and decided to look to get away. We Found the escape and made contact with Joy who was nice and helpful.

It ticked all the boxes for us dog friendly, log burner and near the pub.

When we arrived we received a very warm
Welcome and some lovely scones and jam.

The escape is a very high standard just like home from home.

Sydney our chocolate lab love running around the fields and take up the heat from the log burner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2017
Really glad you had a good break.
Thanks for the lovely review. Hope to see you again sometime. Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wander672...
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Excellent location. Very comfortable and beautifully decorated to a high standard. Owners welcoming and informative. Really enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful placed with delightful hosts”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for three nights in July 2016 and Joy and her husband looked after our small dog in the afternoons when we attended Glyndebourne. The cottage is small, but beautifully designed and thoughtfully kitted out. It has a beautiful garden and overlooks fields and countryside. There's a great pub a few hundred yards away and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Glad you both enjoyed your stay. It was certainly no hardship looking after your little dog!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage & Friendly Owners”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed her for 4 nights in May with our dog. We found the cottage comfortable and well equipped and even a speedy broadband (fast enough to watch Liverpool get beat in the Europa Cup.)
Good location to visit the surrounding area and we were fortunate enough to have good weather.
Only a couple of minor gripes, dog friendly but not a secure garden our dog likes to explore so we had to keep her on a lead when out. Two car parking spot very narrow been mentioned in other reviews but plenty of room on the road so no great issue.
Would go again in we were ever in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
The Garden is secure, but I ask visitors not to allow their dogs off the lead in the garden, as my own dog is quite gentle and is sometimes afraid of other dogs. The Garden is nearly an acre so there is plenty of room for everyone to enjoy some privacy and with a gate leading directly on to the fields for dogs to explore!
All our Guests use the Car park and it seems to suit everyone as long as they park considerately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaacintha
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We arrived on a cold March afternoon to find a plate of home-made scones waiting for us, the log burner blazing and an equally warm welcome from John and Joy. The Escape is immaculate, cleverly planned, beautifully furnished (with a very comfortable bed) and excellent value. Good traditional food at the lovely old pub next door means there's n need to cook unless you want to and the cottage is perfectly placed for exploring beautiful East Sussex. We had a wonderful time and would love to return to see the garden (Joy's handiwork as she's a professional garden designer) in full bloom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were impressed by the high standard of the property.
Liked least: There is a little noise from the road but nothing major.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Apologies for not responding to this earlier...just have missed it!
Thank you for the lovely review. I take a lot of pleasure from ensuring all our Guests enjoy themselves and making sure the garden is always attractive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendle48
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Excellent cottage in a delightful location. Garden to make you want to run home and start on your own (or give up completely). But why name your dog after a potato????

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and convenience of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
Glad you enjoyed the Garden. Cara is so named because she came from Wales and cara means friend. She certainly is friendly and enjoys meeting all the guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 pugs who were as welcome as we were. There is everything you would need here. A field out the back to walk the dogs in the morning and plenty of lovely walks a short drive away. The cock in pub a stones throw away is a lovely friendly welcoming pub with great food. The pugs were welcome there to and the complementary treats went down well. If you have dogs or not this is a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being away from a busy town.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2015
Thank you for the review. As dog lovers ourselves, we often stay in self catering accommodation with our dog, so we know how important it is to welcome the furry members of your family as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing