We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quaint country cottage hideaway just outside...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Escape

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner! Kitchen as you enter the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner!
Kitchen as you enter the front door
Open Plan Living Area
Lounge area.
Upstairs to the bedroom and en suite shower room.
Bedroom
Toilet and Basin
Large walk in Shower
Seating and Loungers in the Orchard.
The Back Garden.
Through the gate to the fields beyond.
The South Downs
The Pub next door.
Cara!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ringmer, Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quaint country cottage hideaway just outside Brighton!”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A beautiful cosy cottage with all necessary amenities only a few miles outside Brighton.
You truest have the best of both worlds with this property.

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2014
Glad you all enjoyed your Holiday at The Escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stig_Burt...
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home from the most beautiful cottage. If we could pick it up and take it with us to wherever we holiday then we would. The situation is lovely in John and Joy's lovely garden overlooking fields, not to mention The Cock Inn next door with consistently fanastic and reasonable food (no noise from here by the way). The staff are friendly and attentive and even remembered our names after the first visit. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and cleverly designed to make most use of the space. The greens and creams and browns bring the garden into the cottage along with the lovely vase of flowers which awaited us, and the gorgeous cream tea prepared by John. We received a warm welcome from John and Joy, and of course their delightful dog Cara who made a point of staying while we unpacked, just in case we had any questions! The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it but the sun shone and we simply had to get up for breakfast in the garden. The walk in shower even provided views through the roof window across the fields and the setting sun. In our view it simply can't be improved upon. It is absolutely perfect for couples (although that option isn't available to tick in the choices below). A truly wonderful place and a credit to John and Joy in what they have achieved.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. Cara takes her role as head of customer services, very seriously...especially when she gets sweeties!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastridge...
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and High Quality”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty big enough for two people. High quality fixtures and fittings - wish I had a bathroom like that!
Fire lit and house warm before we arrived - fresh scones with jam and butter waiting for us. very friendly owner who could not do enough to ensure that we were comfortable. This property was reccommended to us and we have no hesitatation id reccommening it to others

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine1...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, lovely and peaceful”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We didn't get a chance to write in the guestbook because we stayed over the Christmas period and needed to get away to the next family venue, but it was the most perfect location for Christmas-ing away from home. Joy made it all so perfect for us with the lovely fire still burning away as we arrived in a terrible Christmas storm, and some mince pies to boot! We were very grateful for the bigger table you provided us with, as well as all the extra plates and cooking pans. We had such a lovely day and were able to host it for my Mum and her partner. The trip was made extra special by Joy and John's dog Cara who came to visit on a few evenings! The location is just superb - we were able to drive into Lewes and Eastbourne very easily and the Cock Inn at the end of the road is not only a superb place to eat and drink, but also an excellent help in finding the road to turn in in the dark! Lovely bedroom area and bathroom too and just right for two people to "Escape" it all. Absolutely loved it and would love to return.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Christmas is a special time, so we try to make everything just perfect for our guests.
Cara has been a charge of 'Guest Relations' for some time and we think she is a natural for the job!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnA951
Hereford
1 review
“A beautiful cottage with a wonderfully warm and cosy feel - perfect!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Joy and John, who had left us a bottle of wine to settle in with, and later in the week, after we returned from an arduous walk brought us home-made scones to enjoy with our much-needed cup of tea. The cottage is newly renovated to a very high standard and spotlessly clean (and I'm very fussy!) Joy and John have thought of everything: all the essentials that can really add up were all there - washing liquid, fabric softener (for the automatic washer), cling film, foil, kitchen roll, etc. etc. and the cottage is very well quipped and furnished, including a log burner. Upstairs the shower room is fabulous and there is plenty of cleverly-planned storage/wardrobe space.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall cleanliness and attention to detail
Liked least: No mop to clean our muddy footprints on the lovely wooden floor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
203thijsb
Reusel, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2018
Zo blij dat je je verblijf bij The Escape leuk vond. Bedankt voor de mooie recensie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBBerlin6...
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitzen im Garten mit Blick auf die Felder
Liked least: Lärm der Straße
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2015
Danke fur ihre tolle Ueberblick. Hoffentlich koennen wir Sie noch einmal in Sussex einen herzlichen Empfang bereiten.

Thank for the good review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Sussex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing