We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brentwood on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Zurich B&B and Inns
1 review
“Couldn't ask for more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Friendly staff, idyllic setting, home style food and professional services combined to make the perfect spa weekend. Every year I look forward to this special retreat. Joan and Peter have created a little haven for us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24chickadees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The days pass so easily here...just a beautiful Bed and Breakfast which feels like you've come back home. First class without being snobby. Peter and Joan have created a gem on the shores of Lake Huron...with an ambience which invites easy conversation with others leading to friendships which endure. A great breakfast is all you need till supper, which you can enjoy out or bring it back to the kitchen to prepare or heat up. Highly recommended..we've already booked our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed the lovely views over Lake Huron from the lawn and the beach, which is private and pretty. However, swimmers may prefer to go to nearby beaches in The Pineries provincial park or Grand Bend to be able to walk out on sand, rather than traverse the rocks here. Lovely to sit and watch the sunset or read in a hammock though. For a day on the beach here, one should bring one's own beach chairs as the few Adirondack chairs provided are on the deck behind willows and cannot be moved.
Catherine, the manager, is gracious and very helpful with reservations and suggestions; the local town of Bayfield is a great place for lunch or dinner.
This B&B is a suburban home that has been renovated and converted to a B&B; from the front view, you feel as if you are in a normal subdivision, until you go around to the back and see the expansive views of the lake.
One caveat here is that prices seem fairly steep (around $300 per night) for the type of accommodation: clean, but simple, rooms and baths, simple breakfast and minimal service (we needed to request fresh towels, rooms are tidied and beds made, but not vacuumed and bathrooms were untouched, apart from garbage taken out daily) so one needs to be prepared for that. There is a certain dated feel to the decor, which may just be a matter of taste, but the guest kitchen definitely needs updating.
The owners are very friendly, but overall it feels as if the B&B is being run to a strict budget, and there are no little extras (i.e.nice toiletries, choices at breakfast, outdoor area chairs cleaned) that one may expect at this price point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Californiadreamer227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badminton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my second stay with family at the Brentwood which is the most perfect retreat on the shores of Lake Huron. The rooms are well appointed and full of character and the sitting rooms are just asking for you to sit and relax and read a book. There are so many places inside and out at the Brentwood where you can find a quiet corner away from everything - even when the hotel is fully booked which is only 9 rooms anyway - and the whole atmosphere just lends itself to chilling out completely. Breakfasts are fantastic and usually very sociable, but there is no pressure to feel the need to mingle if you don't want to. The guest kitchen is very well appointed and we made good use of the garden room and the outdoor barbeque and the firepit on the beach! This is one of my Canadian family's favourite retreats and I would recommend it 100% and very much hope to visit again. It also suits me because it's very much an adult establishment rather than one that encourages families with children. Catherine cannot help you enough and nothing was too much trouble. Plus who needs the Caribbean when you have the beach at the Brentwood - completely devoid of people and with beautiful views!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the blue room and the bluewater room - both of which were fantastic. I can't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Brentwood is so much more than a B&B with all it offers – right on the lake, close to Grand Bend and Bayfield, the indoor saltwater pool and hot tub, the sauna, the fully appointed kitchen for guests, the many sitting areas, and outside... beautiful gardens, lawns, pathways, the lounge areas both up by the house and right on the beach. The moment we arrived we were so warmly welcomed, it was instantly comfortable and we felt like family coming home. Joan and Peter are the most wonderful, gracious, interesting, captivating and lovely hosts! Catherine is warm and wonderful. Sandy’s breakfasts are outstanding – with a new and delicious breakfast menu every day with pots of hot fresh coffee and jugs of cold orange juice waiting on each table. The Monday evening BBQ was such a treat with so many fabulous main dishes and desserts set out to help yourself – you can’t resist second helpings! There is both a vibrant energy and soothing aura at Brentwood – it is so easy to lose yourself in relaxation and calm! We will return to this idyllic place that truly is a little piece of heaven on earth!

Room Tip: We had the Brentwood room - large, very comfortable kind size bed, huge ensuite bathroom, overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I did the mid week special which is 5 nights arriving on Sunday and leaving Friday morning.. Breakfast was included each morning and each menu was different.. Either Peter or Joan sat with us or both.. and other friends we made.. We always had a great time exchanging stories and laughter.. On Monday night they gave us a BBQ supper which was tasty.. During the day we would spend on the beautiful sandy private beach WOW!! I'm glad Catherine told us to bring our swimmsuits and water shoes.. Catherine was very helpful for anything we needed to do or go.. All the staff were friendly and helpful.. They had a fire on the beach and we roasted large marshmellows MMMM.. Our room was the "Safari", which had a large balcony and separate AC.. & fireplace .. and a King size bed.. Peter and Joan thanks for a wonderful time , looking forward to next year .. :)

Room Tip: The lower rooms would be closer to the beach and closer to the shared kitchen..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Last year we visited on a whim for our 10th anniversary. This year we came back with friends and stayed longer. The hosts are accommodating and very pleasant. The staff knocks themselves out to please. The beach is breathtaking. I just can't say enough about this place. We stayed in the Bluewater room this time. VERY small. But beautiful view. Breakfast was great and the Monday night dinner was so much more than we ever expected! Thank you, folks! You are top notch!!!!

Room Tip: Safari is gorgeous (balcony). Brentwood is huge but a bit outdated although lovely. Huron, Blue, Pin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zurich
1.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
22.0 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
16.3 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood on the Beach

Property: Brentwood on the Beach
Address: 33937 Moore Crt, Zurich, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Zurich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brentwood on the Beach is a 10,000 square ft house that has been operational as a 9 room luxury bed and breakfast for 25 years. We are located directly on the 375 km Lake Huron shoreline. Brentwood is a 4 star B&B with all the amenities you would expect to find in one of the resorts Ontario has to offer. We are located in St. Joseph on a private, sandy beach between Grand Bend and Bayfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Brentwood on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood On The Beach Ontario/Zurich, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing