We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect idyll on Lake Huron”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brentwood on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my second stay with family at the Brentwood which is the most perfect retreat on the shores of Lake Huron. The rooms are well appointed and full of character and the sitting rooms are just asking for you to sit and relax and read a book. There are so many places inside and out at the Brentwood where you can find a quiet corner away from everything - even when the hotel is fully booked which is only 9 rooms anyway - and the whole atmosphere just lends itself to chilling out completely. Breakfasts are fantastic and usually very sociable, but there is no pressure to feel the need to mingle if you don't want to. The guest kitchen is very well appointed and we made good use of the garden room and the outdoor barbeque and the firepit on the beach! This is one of my Canadian family's favourite retreats and I would recommend it 100% and very much hope to visit again. It also suits me because it's very much an adult establishment rather than one that encourages families with children. Catherine cannot help you enough and nothing was too much trouble. Plus who needs the Caribbean when you have the beach at the Brentwood - completely devoid of people and with beautiful views!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the blue room and the bluewater room - both of which were fantastic. I can't t...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Brentwood on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Brentwood is so much more than a B&B with all it offers – right on the lake, close to Grand Bend and Bayfield, the indoor saltwater pool and hot tub, the sauna, the fully appointed kitchen for guests, the many sitting areas, and outside... beautiful gardens, lawns, pathways, the lounge areas both up by the house and right on the beach. The moment we arrived we were so warmly welcomed, it was instantly comfortable and we felt like family coming home. Joan and Peter are the most wonderful, gracious, interesting, captivating and lovely hosts! Catherine is warm and wonderful. Sandy’s breakfasts are outstanding – with a new and delicious breakfast menu every day with pots of hot fresh coffee and jugs of cold orange juice waiting on each table. The Monday evening BBQ was such a treat with so many fabulous main dishes and desserts set out to help yourself – you can’t resist second helpings! There is both a vibrant energy and soothing aura at Brentwood – it is so easy to lose yourself in relaxation and calm! We will return to this idyllic place that truly is a little piece of heaven on earth!

Room Tip: We had the Brentwood room - large, very comfortable kind size bed, huge ensuite bathroom, overlooked...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I did the mid week special which is 5 nights arriving on Sunday and leaving Friday morning.. Breakfast was included each morning and each menu was different.. Either Peter or Joan sat with us or both.. and other friends we made.. We always had a great time exchanging stories and laughter.. On Monday night they gave us a BBQ supper which was tasty.. During the day we would spend on the beautiful sandy private beach WOW!! I'm glad Catherine told us to bring our swimmsuits and water shoes.. Catherine was very helpful for anything we needed to do or go.. All the staff were friendly and helpful.. They had a fire on the beach and we roasted large marshmellows MMMM.. Our room was the "Safari", which had a large balcony and separate AC.. & fireplace .. and a King size bed.. Peter and Joan thanks for a wonderful time , looking forward to next year .. :)

Room Tip: The lower rooms would be closer to the beach and closer to the shared kitchen..
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Last year we visited on a whim for our 10th anniversary. This year we came back with friends and stayed longer. The hosts are accommodating and very pleasant. The staff knocks themselves out to please. The beach is breathtaking. I just can't say enough about this place. We stayed in the Bluewater room this time. VERY small. But beautiful view. Breakfast was great and the Monday night dinner was so much more than we ever expected! Thank you, folks! You are top notch!!!!

Room Tip: Safari is gorgeous (balcony). Brentwood is huge but a bit outdated although lovely. Huron, Blue, Pin...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our second visit to Brentwood, this time for 3 nights instead of 2. As two mothers with hectic lives, we were looking for a relaxing getaway from life's craziness, it far exceeded our expectations - AGAIN!

We stayed in the Huron Room this time, which is two twin beds that can be put together for a king. Very comfortable room with a nice view, although a little cold at times. Breakfast each morning was a little different than the previous, always tasty and Joan/Peter were always up for conversation and laughs at breakfast. If you happen to be there on a day that Peter cooks his apple cinnamon pancakes, you are in for a real treat!

Catherine was very courteous and tended to our every need. She's a great addition to the B&B, she really cares about the property and its guests. We wondered if she ever sleeps! :)

Note that every Monday night they do a barbecue (so their guest BBQ's outside are unavailable). At first we hesitated but are glad we opted in. For the extra charge, it was well worth it with all the delicious food they presented. I have to make my husband the bacon wrapped sausage!

They've added a formal firepit area down on the beach for guests. Be sure to mention it to Catherine if you are interested, she will take care of getting it going for you, as well as bring down marshmallows and sticks.

Thank you so much Joan, Peter & Catherine for making our girl's getaway perfect. We will be back next July!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Let's get right to it - Brentwood on the Beach is the BEST B&B/hotel I've ever been to! We were there during the last weekend of June, 2012 - which marked the 20th year since our first visit. Our family has kept coming back because of the facility, the food, the service, the hospitality and the fact that my blood pressure goes down the minute I get out of the car.

The indoor pool, plus the beach (which is fantastic) means that rain or shine, there is always swimming available for us and our kids. With the golf course less than 1/2 mile away and shuffleboard down at the end of the street, there is lots to do besides the beach. The rooms are all different, all very nice (we've stayed in most of them over the years), always clean and nicely private (you don't hear people in the rooms next to you!). Breakfast is varied,tasty every day and if you are fortunate enough to be there when the german apple pancakes are made, you'll not soon forget the experience. The grounds are lovely and they have it arranged so that there are multiple outside "rooms" where you can sit and read a book or just chat with someone. The outdoor grill is very nice and the little stream and waterfall they put in several years ago is charming.

There are a surprising amount of good restaurants within 20-30 minutes which the staff will gladly assist you in making reservation for based on what you're looking for. Did I mention the sunsets? It's an event worth planning to be around for each night.

Throughout the years we've come with our extended family, consisting of a group of up to 12, because this is a perfect place for families to reunite and bond. Joan & Peter are not just the owners, they have become honorary family members. We're not alone in this feeling because it seems that most of the guests are return customers.

Brentwood on the Beach has become part of our family's history and you'd be wise to make it part of yours. We have recommended it to numerous friends of ours who have come and found the same sense of joy, peace and relaxation that has been the hallmark of our experience each and every time we're visited.

All that to say, we REALLY like it here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed two wonderful nights in the safari room. Breakfast was spectacular. Good, hot food. Spent the days relaxing on the very private beach and watching the sunset from our balcony. At night, we gazed at the stars as fireflies surrounded our balcony.
It was a wonderful, relaxing weekend.
The staff are so friendly and the owner came around to every table during breakfast to welcome new guests and visit with old ones. It felt warm and casual. Worth every penny.
we have absolutely no complaints and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oktoberfester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zurich
1.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
84 reviews
22.0 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
451 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#7 of 8 in Grand Bend
30 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood on the Beach

Address: 33937 Moore Crt, Zurich, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Zurich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brentwood on the Beach is a 10,000 square ft house that has been operational as a 9 room luxury bed and breakfast for 25 years. We are located directly on the 375 km Lake Huron shoreline. Brentwood is a 4 star B&B with all the amenities you would expect to find in one of the resorts Ontario has to offer. We are located in St. Joseph on a private, sandy beach between Grand Bend and Bayfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brentwood on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood On The Beach Ontario/Zurich, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing