We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to like?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwick Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenwick Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Huggate B&B and Inns
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely comfortable room, warm welcome and delicious breakfast. Fran and her family have created a beautiful garden incorporating old woodland trees and actually have a living healthy elm. I haven't seen one for 30 years so it was exciting to spot it. The views are stupendous. Thank you Fran.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredaBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in the great value "Eco pods" which were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and set in lovely farm grounds. A warm friendly welcome and great hosts - not a bad word can be said!

Each pod had lovely powerful warm shower, 2 comfy beds, microwave & fridge plus outdoor seating and a nice make your own breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garethleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We 3 friends stayed at Greenwick Farm as part of a riding holliday round the Wolds. When we arrived the whole family greeted us and showed us to the lovely ,neat stables and paddock for our mounts. Having settled the horses in we were shown to the charming eco pods which are small chalet type units equiped with a useful kitchen area, comfy beds and a very nice bathroom. After a hot shower and several cups of tea we were chauffeured to the pub in Huggate where we enjoyed a very nice meal. Fran drove us back and we all slept soundly. Breakfast in the farm house was lovely and would have seen us through the day but Fran had provided us with an ample packed lunch as well. After a days riding we opted to stay in ( too tired to get dressed for dinner!) and to our delight Fran brought out home made quiche , salad and even a glass of very nice wine.
Nothing was too much trouble for these smashing people, the pods were spotlessly clean with views of the beautiful garden and farm, the grazing was excellent for both horses and people,
We were sad to leave and would happily have spent all our holliday based there

Room Tip: eco pods are great ,for more luxury try thr farmhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Greenwick Farm is a mixed family farm on the breezy top of the Yorkshire Wolds. The main house sits in beautifully landscaped gardens with views down the valley. We visited for one night with friends while walking some of the Wolds Way. We had a lovely welcome from Fran with tea and homemade cake. Our friends had rooms in the house and we had one of the new pods in a small paddock by the side of the farmhouse.We knew where we were sleeping as Fran had made it quite clear, and she would not take a booking for the pods without explaining what they were. We were really pleased with what we found. They do look a bit like a pine shed but once through the door they are cosy, with everything you could need for basic self catering (including cereals supplied) and a good nights sleep. The small kitchen area has toaster, kettle, microwave, cutlery and china, washing up necessities etc. The beds are lovely and comfortable with mattresses Fran said were made by the blind, and good linen. In fact the whole place had quality fixtures and the shower room was lovely with a large shower. The place is compact and there is limited storage, it's not intended for large travel travel cases. There is thermostatically controlled heating. The paddock is to have some flowers planted and a barbecue added, but if you want to go to the local pub for a meal and do not have transport Fran will take you and collect you. The pods are cheaper than a room in the house and are very good value. We would stay again.

Room Tip: There were 2 pods when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etihwllig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just back from 2 days following the Hockney trail and staying in the Greenwick Farm Eco pod. first to say what a warm welcome we received, and then to say how cosy and comfortable the ecopod was. we had delicious lemon drizzle cake and Yorkshire tea on arrival. The pod was warm and very well appointed.... Brilliantly powerful and hot shower, very comfortable beds, and thoughtfully presented living sleeping space. there were covered boot stores outside for those walking and fridge, micro wave and kettle to make drinks or heat up food. Our host offered to drive us to a nearby pub for our evening meal but we were travelling by car. Great place to stay for what we wanted.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

To clarify right at the beginning here, this review is not for staying in the actual farmhouse itself but the wooden cabin outside in the farmyard.

We stayed here for a single night as part of the Way of the Roses cycle ride. First things first, to get there, this is a four mile round trip detour off the Way of the Roses route itself and uphill to boot. When we cycled here there was also a head wind which didn't help matters.

When we arrived, the person that was house sitting at the time came out, saw us with our bikes and said it was this way. We followed her towards the large shed thinking that this was where the bikes were going to be stored for the night - as it turned out, this was where we were staying. Our bikes remained outdoors.

I wasn't aware that we were staying some where 'different' that evening and was a little surprised by this. Once inside you are greeted by a tiny 'kitchen' area and two bunk style beds on each side of a walk through to the bathroom at the rear.

I'll have to be honest here and say that as we'd been staying in nice B&B's all week, I was quite underwhelmed by this. Disappointed even. It was a cold day when we arrived and the place hadn't been pre-heated which didn't add to the experience. It took a good 3 hours for the place to warm up properly once we'd worked out how to turn everything on.

The so called kitchen area has chopping boards, cutlery, plates, dishes, a toaster, kettle and for some reason a microwave oven. There is also a radio to listen to for entertainment (there is no TV). A full size fridge is there for the storage of the milk, orange juice and butter. Not sure why a fridge of this size is needed either as it does take up a lot of space and is noisy.

As you will have gathered, this cabin is also where you have your breakfast. If some eggs and beans had been supplied, perhaps we could have made use of the microwave? Cereals are supplied in Kilner jars and there are tea bags and coffee.

The bathroom to me was probably the best room. I've stayed in B&B's with much smaller bathrooms than this so this was OK. It had been painted and had a decent shower. Whilst there was a mirror in there in a photo frame style stand, I think one mounted on the wall wouldn't go amiss.

One of the big issues with this wooden cabin style accommodation for me is the actual location. It strangely sits across from the main farmhouse next to some kind of outbuilding or barn. Given where the farm is and the surroundings of the countryside, the views from the windows are, well, lets be honest here - truly terrible. Out of one window there is the view of a septic tank and a recently dug hole (see photos). Out of the other, a pile of rubble and the farmhouse in the background. To me it looks like the cabin was put in an area where farm machinery might have previously been stored. We felt we had to keep one of the blinds permanently down as you felt people could look in at you from the farmhouse. The overall experience of staying in a yard isolated from the farmhouse doesn't generate very welcome feelings. The grounds around the cabin need addressing urgently to make future visitors feel more connected to the local environment rather than feeling like accommodation guinea pigs in a disused farmyard.

Later that day, Fran the owner arrived from her holiday and brought over provisions for the breakfast. She took us into Huggate that evening and dropped us off at the Wolds Inn where there is a restaurant. The food here is pretty reasonable and the portions large and whilst I didn't see any of the rooms here, I would have preferred to stay here as it is on the actual Way of the Roses bike route (and the rooms are cheaper).

Fran picked us up later and dropped us off at the cabin. Overall, the experience of staying here whilst not being unpleasant, wasn't really what I wanted. Would I stay here again? I would have to say that I wouldn't. Given the detour and the size of the place I would have much preferred a B&B or a pub in which to stay. If you were wild camping you'd see as a welcome upgrade or if you were on a budget you might consider it. For us it did the job but we were glad to be back on the road in the morning.

As we were preparing to leave in the morning and was paying Fran in the car park area, she told us about the future plans of the cabin. She said that there was still quite a bit of work to be done, things like putting up a bathroom mirror, putting blinds on the windows, tidying up the outside area and putting a barbecue in as well as another cabin. In other words, the place is nowhere near finished, yet we were still charged the full price. All this information was relayed to us at 9.20am and was all really a little late in the day.

A couple of months ago we stayed in York in a hotel that was undergoing some refurbishments to the outside. The manager thought this would inconvenience the customers and gave a generous discount. I thought this was a piece of savvy PR and gave it a favourable review.

Fran did ask us if we'd enjoyed our stay and we said it was OK. I did say that we'd stayed in some nice B&Bs en route and this was a bit unusual. She then said that it was really for walkers and cyclists mainly. We were stood there with our bikes at the time? Incidentally we also do a lot of walking.

Room Tip: I would stay in the farmhouse unless on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are walking the Wolds Way make a point of staying at Greenwick Farm an excellent B/B, we were greeted warmly by Fran with tea and homemade cake. The rooms are really well decorated, nice and spacious and everything you could want is provided including chocs, and biscuits. We were given a lift down to Huggate for an excellent pub meal and picked up afterwards. We had a lovely big bath in our room to soak in but the water could have been warmer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huggate
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
0.0 mi away
Wold Cottage
Wold Cottage
#1 of 1 in Wold Newton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#4 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#2 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robeanne House Bed & Breakfast
Robeanne House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Shiptonthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwick Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwick Farm

Property: Greenwick Farm
Address: Huggate, Huggate, Driffield YO42 1YR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Huggate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Huggate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwick Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Greenwick Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing