We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome...!!!!”
Review of Koyna Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koynanagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koyna Lake Resort
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome...!!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I and my husband got the Wind Chalet to stay in and the view of the dam and backwater from the room was awesome.....Staff is well mannered and will cater to all your needs ...it had been pouring heavily almost through out our 1N/2D stay and the wind chalet rooms are away from the main reception/restaurant but caretaker took good care of us by providing us room service for dinner.
Food:- Our lunch (chicken masala n bhakri) and starters for dinner (chilli chicken and chicken dry fry) was mouth watering as a local touch was given, however, the chicken dum biryani was quite disappointing so they could improve on this one. Another suggestion to make is have a intercom telephone connection in the rooms, though they have provided a bell which rings in the caretaker's room but an intercom will be a beneficial addition.
This is a perfect getaway in this season!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Avidtraveller2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

View from the hotel is great .... Staff is well mannered . We took royal suite which has very beautifull lake view .Its a place where you want to go with your family. You can definitely go there if you want to live few days in the midst of nature , want to wake up with the sound of birds chirping ...

Room Tip: Royal suite is good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We 2 families had visited this resort in August 2012. We got the Wind Chalet to stay in. It is extremely convenient for 2 families as the verandah is common and the view from the verandah is simply breathtaking! Every minute the scene was changing due to the clouds and rains and one can go on and on just sitting and watching the beautiful landscape. Also to cater to these rooms is a special caretaker who manages everything and is very friendly too. The place is very clean and precaution has been taken to ward off creepy crawlies and insects. The food was simply mouth-watering as the local touch was given and we got to eat some fresh water fish too. The quantity served is also sufficient. The management is very efficient and helpful. Atrip to this resort in this season is highly recomended!

Room Tip: The wind chalet room is advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AsawariAgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A perfect getaway esp. in the monsoons. Pure tranquility and peace of mind. Nothing to hear but only the gusts of winds, the howling rain and the birds and the nature. The property is based in koyna nagar which is about 50 kms from Umbraj diversion en route to Karad.
Personal advise. The only ATM available from Umbraj to Koyna is on the Umbraj Phata. there is no ATM available on the way and believe me we made a very big mistake by not withdrawing sufficient cash. The best embarrasment was we pleaded the Toll guy to let us go since we were actually cash strapped and thankfully we were allowed to pass without much trouble.
Anyways about this property.... Its based in koyna nagar on a hill top called Humbarli. The View is fascinating . It faces the Dam or rather hovers the dam from above. We can see the Koyna Lake, Koyna Dam and the beautification made around the dam directly. The Hotel is ably managed by Mr Phadnis who with his warm gesture and ever pleasing talks ensures that the guests are well taken care of.
On our way to the resort Mr Phadnis called me on my mobile phone greeting me and asking me the time of arrival so that he can make the food as per my choice ....which was like unbelievable. This is not less than a 5 star treatment.

The property has rooms with Ac and without. Frankly you dont need a Ac for such a lovely weather but still the choice is available. In case a group is travelling there is a Dormitory available which can easily accomodate 10-12 people. Believe me the Dormitory is not the ones which normally any one would picturise. This one is spacious with comfortable beds and 2 separate toilets and bathrooms.

The Food is superb. Given the fact that the choice may not be wide spread since its a small village. We ordered for a Chicken Masala and Chappatis. The taste was fingerlicking good such that we asked the chef to prepare the same next day. Tea and Breakfast is also amazing. Basically its the weather that makes you very hungry.

The place is surrounded by trees and greenery and one can stroll along the roads viewing the birds and enjoying the rains. There are waterfalls which are beyound count which can be seen from the room balcony. There are other waterfalls which are in the vicinity. They are popular tourist spots. Be careful as they are accident prone.

Most important for Booze Lovers - Carry Your own STUFF. Nothing available at the resort and the nearest place is way down in the village and you dont want to wander in the gusty rains on a hilltop finding your way down just for BOOZE.

On your way back from the resort you can drop by a village called MHAVSHI...ask any one and they will guide the route. This place has the most biggest and beautiful Flower Nursery. Its worth a visit.



On a closing note - Its Rejuvenating, Relaxing, Rejoicing and Its Dam(n) Good !!!!

www.koynalakeresort.in

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank tushjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This review is of the Wind Chalet section of the Koyna Lake Resort in Koynanagar, Maharashtra. Please be sure to book early as there are only 4 such rooms available. The rest of the rooms are at the standard MTDC accomodation which are strictly budget. The resort is a little off the main room and is quite high on the hill from where the rooms offer a clear view of the koyna dam. The restaurant is a more made to order kind where you need to tell them what you need and there is no menu to speak off. Mostly the food will be a thali (veg or non-veg).

Koyna is strictly a place to go for a day. Beyond that there is not much to do. You could take a boat trip on the koyna reservoir and maybe end your day with a drink at the verandah or the garden of the wind chalet depending upon which room is assigned to you.

The road to koyna is the nice part. You could either take the longer option from mumbai to pune and then to satara or the other one via the goa highway. We took the Goa highway to Chiplun from Mumbai and then took a left at the main cross road at Chiplun just after the Vasishthi river bridge going on the Karad road. There is the kumbharli ghat along the way which is quite tricky with sharp and hair pin turns, but quite scenic. Be sure to keep asking people after around 30 kilometers on that road as there are no clear markers for koyna. There is actually a milestone on the right side of the T - road from where you turn left towards the road for koynanagar. At koyna nagar ST stop there is a left road up the hill. It is a steep incline with a single lane for a road, upto MTDC resort. Infact there is a gursale resort out there. From outside it looked fine. Dont know about the rooms inside.

All in all an okay outing... Probably just a go once place.

Room Tip: Take the wind chalet rooms they offer a clear view of the dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank manoftheyear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We visited Koyna Lake Resort on a friends suggestion for a relaxing week away from the hustle bustle of Pune City.The place is about 250+ km away from Pune and the resort about 3 km from the actual city.

The resort is a very simple place with very regular rooms and services.Do not expect a 5star service.If you require 5star service, would recommend not to visit the resort.The view from our balcony was just splendid.One can sit for hours together and see the beauty around the dam.

The resort is MTDC operated , hence not much of updation on the area.The room included a bed,2 plastic chairs and a small tv with an AC.We didnt even need the fan as it was cold during nights .The bathroom doors,main doors all need a change. Housekeeping needs to be informed about the change of towels.

The housekeeping team were very helpful and gave us insight about the places to visit in koyna nagar.

The resort has a kitchen which provides breakfast,snacks,lunch and dinner at specified times only.One needs to confirm the order one hour prior to it.The food is a regular marathi food with roti,veggies and lentils and rice.They served non veg too but not aware of the menu.No punjabi , chinese cuisine to be expected here.

In all if one needs a lazy relaxing week, enjoying the scenic beauty with no frills of a 5star , then Koyna Lake Resort is for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank neilbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Resort is located in excellent location, right on top of the hill.
Views are mesmarising, you get a good view fo the dam from most of the rooms
At anytime of the day, the views were excellent.

We were a group of families with kids, all of us enjoyed the trip. Rain did get tired even for a minute, always on. It started as we reached & was still continuing when we were leaving. Kids enjoyed the rain.

Food was very good, we all preferred non vegetarian.

Service & hospitality was excellent.

The staff at the resort did everything to make sure our stay is comfortable.

Biggest issue we faced was water seeping in to the room.
We were having 2 kids, one of us ahd to sleep on the matress in the floor. We have be cautious during the night, since we did not know when the water will reach us.

This was really a bad experience & nightmare

Buildings were realy old & not maintained. Rainwater seeping in to the rooms

Ozarda Falls was an excellent one. The trekking to the falls was adventerous & it payed off. It is not to be missed out.
Any one not able to trek, can use the steps which will take you to platform, were you can watch the falls from a distance.

We went to Nehru Garden, did not get time to venture, due to heavy rain. Looks beautiful. There is show about the dam, duration of 25 minutes. The show is in marathi.

We went for boating, which is next to nehru garden. We booked the boat for our group. This was a very good experience. The boating was for an hour which gives you good views of the dam & its surroundings.

We visited Ghat Matha in the evening, excellent view of the valley.

Room Tip: Poor room conditions. Pls take your own bath towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank vazhipokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koynanagar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koynanagar
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
979 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nisarg Resort
Nisarg Resort
#2 of 31 in Kolhapur
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Preeti Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
855 reviews
0.0 mi away
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
#34 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyna Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyna Lake Resort

Property: Koyna Lake Resort
Address: Humbarli hills, Koynanagar, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Koynanagar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Koynanagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Koyna Lake Resort Koynanagar, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing