We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic family run hotel don't miss the Black Forest cake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Staufen B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic family run hotel don't miss the Black Forest cake”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here twice in the past year. The location is great, right in the pedestrian zone of Staufen and a stroll from the vineyards and ruined castle. The hotel is family run and has lots of charm. The staff can be rushed but be patient and you will get great service. The rooms have been partly modernised with new bathrooms. The beds are really comfortable and the slightly old fashioned décor is charming. The mini balconies with chairs are a lovely touch. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The restaurant has great traditional food and is good value. Local wines are really good but the very best is the homemade Black Forest Gateaux.....worth coming back for!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeemBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
24
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this quaint family-run hotel, located in the heart of Staufen. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. The free continental breakfast was, by far, the best one we had during our travels through Germany and Switzerland. Staufen is full of charm and a wonderful place to stay while touring the Black Forest area of Germany. We found this hotel in the Rick Steve's tour book.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here because it was a Rick Steves recommendation. I must say it was very ecclectic when it came to decor! I just thought it was rather quirky, but it did not hamper our stay one bit. The rooms were very large and comfortable but the decor was weird. We laughed a lot about the green couch thing...then my husband laid down on it and it was so comfortable that he fell asleep!!! The breakfast in the morning was amazing. The owner and the staff were all very nice to us. The town of Reutte was very nice...we walked around the town and it was very pleasant. Fine, but nothing special for a one night stop while going to see the castles. I did notice a cigarette odor, which was unpleasant (I really can't stand cigarette smoke) but figured it's Europe...there are a lot of smokers and they have different standards. I really didn't think I could complain; it wasn't like I requested a non-smoking room so my own fault. The town had very good restaurant at the end of the street by the city hall. All in all a very pleasant stay for the price, but needs updating on decor to compete with the other hotels I think. Still, price was good!

Room Tip: If you want something classy and tastefully decorated, look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyMeToKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a family-run hotel in the center of town with a restaurant at the ground level.
Unfortunately we were not able to eat dinner at the restaurant when we were there because it was closed for holiday. We arrived after 6 pm and the owner already left. We were given instructions to open the front door and retrieve our room key. Our room on the second floor was comfortable with a balcony and very quiet. We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning and it was excellent. Overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The staff were kind but were not overly helpful. We couldn't find them in the morning for help with directions and site seeing, and at night they were in the restaurant and were too busy. Our room was clean and comfortable, beautiful balcony and views. The town is so charming and the vineyard is worth exploring. The hotel's restaurant had excellent food however the wait staff were rude to us when we tried to speak what German we knew.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliesue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We greatly enjoyed the hospitality provided. The rooms were clean and the meals were very good. The location in the middle of town is excellent for wandering around and exploring and a parking space right in the middle of town is provided. The staff spoke very good English and were quite willing to help with directions and advice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelerskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Hotel Hirschen and town of Staufen were definitely one of the highlights of our two week trip to Germany. We stayed two nights along with Rebecca C and her family who had the upstairs apartment. Our room was quaint and comfortable with two large windows and sleeping for three. The bathroom, though small, was immaculate as was the rest of the room. They were closed when we arrived but the lockbox worked perfectly and the key to one room led to the key for the apartment (2 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms). The next morning, breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the owner was very friendly and helpful as we tried to decided what sights to see. We took the gondola up Baldchen mountain and hiked fairly easily to the top, then traveled through gorgeous Black Forest mountain drives to Schweinwassen Amusement/Animal park. Great time for the kids to get out see some fabulous animals, run around and play on a great playground. After returning that evening walked around the town of Staufen - although it is small, their was a nice crowd at the wine co-op and we stopped for a drink at a restaurant on the marktplatz. The hotel is in an ideal location - quiet yet central with free parking in the back. Spent the next morning shopping and walking the town again (next time we will eat at the Cafe Decker on the river!) and left for Triberg and Wiesbaden feeling we had had a true taste of small town local culture. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you are there in summer and used to a/c, ask for a fan. There was one in the apartment, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djswice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staufen
0.0 mi away
Die Krone
Die Krone
#1 of 4 in Staufen
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Kreuz Post
Gasthof Kreuz Post
#2 of 4 in Staufen
41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hofmann zur Muehle
Hotel Hofmann zur Muehle
#4 of 13 in Bad Krozingen
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Romantik Hotel Spielweg
Romantik Hotel Spielweg
#1 of 3 in Muenstertal
147 reviews
4.3 mi away
Waldhotel Bad Sulzburg
Waldhotel Bad Sulzburg
#2 of 2 in Sulzburg
109 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akzent Atrium Hotel Baden
Akzent Atrium Hotel Baden
#3 of 13 in Bad Krozingen
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel

Property: Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel
Address: Hauptstr. 19, 79219 Staufen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Staufen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staufen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing