We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint peaceful hotel in Staufen, Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Staufen B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this quaint family-run hotel, located in the heart of Staufen. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. The free continental breakfast was, by far, the best one we had during our travels through Germany and Switzerland. Staufen is full of charm and a wonderful place to stay while touring the Black Forest area of Germany. We found this hotel in the Rick Steve's tour book.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 58 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here because it was a Rick Steves recommendation. I must say it was very ecclectic when it came to decor! I just thought it was rather quirky, but it did not hamper our stay one bit. The rooms were very large and comfortable but the decor was weird. We laughed a lot about the green couch thing...then my husband laid down on it and it was so comfortable that he fell asleep!!! The breakfast in the morning was amazing. The owner and the staff were all very nice to us. The town of Reutte was very nice...we walked around the town and it was very pleasant. Fine, but nothing special for a one night stop while going to see the castles. I did notice a cigarette odor, which was unpleasant (I really can't stand cigarette smoke) but figured it's Europe...there are a lot of smokers and they have different standards. I really didn't think I could complain; it wasn't like I requested a non-smoking room so my own fault. The town had very good restaurant at the end of the street by the city hall. All in all a very pleasant stay for the price, but needs updating on decor to compete with the other hotels I think. Still, price was good!

Room Tip: If you want something classy and tastefully decorated, look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyMeToKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a family-run hotel in the center of town with a restaurant at the ground level.
Unfortunately we were not able to eat dinner at the restaurant when we were there because it was closed for holiday. We arrived after 6 pm and the owner already left. We were given instructions to open the front door and retrieve our room key. Our room on the second floor was comfortable with a balcony and very quiet. We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning and it was excellent. Overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Una Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The staff were kind but were not overly helpful. We couldn't find them in the morning for help with directions and site seeing, and at night they were in the restaurant and were too busy. Our room was clean and comfortable, beautiful balcony and views. The town is so charming and the vineyard is worth exploring. The hotel's restaurant had excellent food however the wait staff were rude to us when we tried to speak what German we knew.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliesue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We greatly enjoyed the hospitality provided. The rooms were clean and the meals were very good. The location in the middle of town is excellent for wandering around and exploring and a parking space right in the middle of town is provided. The staff spoke very good English and were quite willing to help with directions and advice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelerskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Hotel Hirschen and town of Staufen were definitely one of the highlights of our two week trip to Germany. We stayed two nights along with Rebecca C and her family who had the upstairs apartment. Our room was quaint and comfortable with two large windows and sleeping for three. The bathroom, though small, was immaculate as was the rest of the room. They were closed when we arrived but the lockbox worked perfectly and the key to one room led to the key for the apartment (2 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms). The next morning, breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the owner was very friendly and helpful as we tried to decided what sights to see. We took the gondola up Baldchen mountain and hiked fairly easily to the top, then traveled through gorgeous Black Forest mountain drives to Schweinwassen Amusement/Animal park. Great time for the kids to get out see some fabulous animals, run around and play on a great playground. After returning that evening walked around the town of Staufen - although it is small, their was a nice crowd at the wine co-op and we stopped for a drink at a restaurant on the marktplatz. The hotel is in an ideal location - quiet yet central with free parking in the back. Spent the next morning shopping and walking the town again (next time we will eat at the Cafe Decker on the river!) and left for Triberg and Wiesbaden feeling we had had a true taste of small town local culture. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you are there in summer and used to a/c, ask for a fan. There was one in the apartment, but not...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djswice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The staff is friendly and very helpful, providing us with directions and maps for our Black Forest visit. We stayed with our two children in the apartment on the top floor. It was more than enough space and clean. Breakfast was good with meats, cheese, brotchen, fresh fruit and yogurt, fried eggs, boiled eggs, etc... The city of Staufen was beautiful and we are already planning our trip back. This hotel was a great value, we give it two thumbs up! Also, parking is available behind the hotel in labeled parking spaces...spacious enough for our American SUV. You have to drive one block through the pedestrian zone to get there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staufen
0.0 mi away
Die Krone
Die Krone
#1 of 4 in Staufen
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Kreuz Post
Gasthof Kreuz Post
#2 of 4 in Staufen
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Lowen in Staufen mit Haus Goethe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#4 of 6 in Staufen
9 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landhaus zur Badischen Weinstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel

Address: Hauptstr. 19, 79219 Staufen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Staufen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staufen
Price Range: $122 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing