We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stay”
Review of Loch Leven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Leven Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights, the room was clean and comfortable, as were the public areas, and the staff were friendly and very helpful at all times. Located just off the A82 there is little if any traffic noise, and there are great views across Loch Leven and the mountains beyond; this is an ideal location for touring Glencoe, Fort William and beyond. The bar and menu prices are reasonable, with good choice of breakfast. Overall this hotel good value for money and I enjoyed my stay here and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Sabeard,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the Loch Leven Hotel in the future. We shall be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff who deserve the credit for your experience.

Kind Regards,

Craig & Noru Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 716 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although we did not stay in this hotel we visited it last night for some drinks in the cosy bar area and we asked the lovely new owner if we could view one of the rooms for future reference. The owner took us to three different unoccupied rooms and each of the rooms were beautiful and the whole place is spotless. The attention to detail and the welcoming and friendly staff and owner are a delight. Unfortunately we were staying at the Ballachullish Hotel on the other side of the bridge which we not happy with at all. Dirty furniture and furnishings and very shabby, the food was also terrible. The differences between the two hotels was immense. The Loch Leven Hotel is furnished and decorate to a much higher standard and has lots of different areas to suite every taste. The location is also breathtaking. Can not recommend it highly enough and as someone who has stayed in hotels around the world I can only say I can't wait to go and stay myself.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra £25 or so for the lovely deluxe room with bay window overlooking the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roserab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you Roserab for your kind comments. We are so glad that you found our brand of hospitality to your liking. My wife and I recently took over the hotel and are slowly but surely developing our service and the hotel to the standards that we believe our guests need and deserve. We shall look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting where we will hope to impress you yet further with our standards.

Kind Regards,

Craig & Noru Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 2 night stay and it was everything we wanted and more, so welcoming, warm and comfortable. We were totally relaxed and our 2 year old enjoyed it just as much, especially the ducks nearby and the walk down to the water. Stunning views and such a great location. Would highly recommend, will be booking again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Tracy,

Thank you for your kind words which mean a lot to us. It was our pleasure to welcome you at the hotel and we are so glad that you got to explore our surroundings with your family. We consider ourselves very fortunate to be surrounded by such beautiful landscapes which are the perfect backdrop for a relaxing break or indeed a fun filled action adventure. We shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel online & after checking in & meeting new owners, Craig & Noru, we were impressed. This place is great. Rooms are fine - clean & presentable but bar & company are awesome. Craig & Noru are great hosts & they plan on doing heaps to improve what's already a great place. Definite recommendation.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank ClintonHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Clinton,

Thank you so much for your positive response to your stay, it is very much apreciated. It was a delight to host and entertain you and we shall hope that we can welcome you back at some point in the future to see some of our visions for the hotel become a reality.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have eaten at this hotel for numerous years on our twice yearly stays in Ballachulish, and previously always been excellent food and atmosphere, but called in for a meal tonight and was totally disappointed, one the person behind the bar did not know what orange cordial and water was, ended up with a pint glass of water and ice with don't know what in, felt as if we where an inconvenience for eating there which have never felt in past, very disappointing meal too, not to same standard as previous visits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Lynn,

Thank you for your honest feedback which we greatly appreciate. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. My wife and I purchased the Loch Leven Hotel on 1st of October and issues such as these, we will of course, have to focus our attention towards resolving. There is of course no excuse for this lack of product knowledge and that the food also did not meet your expectations is similarly upsetting. We are looking in the coming days to improve upon the menu offering and shall be working closely with our Head Chef and kitchen team to improve the quality and variety on the menu and we will hope that this experience will not have stopped you from considering us on your future trips to Ballachulish.

If you should like to discuss the issues raised further then please do not hesitate to email or call me to discuss.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Charming hotel with character, superb location, views stunning,lovely staff, fabulous food and a great public bar atmosphere. OK, some of it does need a bit of a spruce up, but it's so much better than a bland chain hotel, it's quite easy to overlook that fact, and take in it's charm instead. Don't get me wrong it might need a refit but everything was clean, and attention paid to detail.
If you want a change from a corporate hotel, and like good quality food with a warm welcome, then this is a good one for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I found this one wet evening. We were shown to a table near the window and while we waited to order the sun came out and what an amazing view we had!
Friendly staff, and what looked to be an interesting menu with some chinese food on it too.
The food was delicious - very tasty and well presented.
We enjoyed the food so much that we came back again a couple of nights later!
Friendly staff too which was a bonus.
Well done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Liverpoolgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,227 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
897 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Hotel

Address: Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish PH33 6SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Ballachulish
Price Range: $116 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Leven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed atmosphere, beautiful loch-side setting, dramatic views of the mountains, near to Glencoe, Ballachulish, Fort William and Ben Nevis, this privately owned, family-run hotel in the heart of Lochaber has everything you could want for activity based Highlands holidays, or stress-free breaks in Scotland away from it all, enjoying the Scottish scenery and breathing the fresh, clean air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Leven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Leven
Loch Leven Onich
Loch Leven Hotel North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing