We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...”
Review of Tom-na-Creige

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom-na-Creige
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay...”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed with John and Lesley for 3nights...the place is amazing...good view of Loch Linhe ...we stayed with small kid and got the green room which is the largest of all...infect the best room of all...amazing view from the room.
John is very informative..and Lesley is lovable ...
and for all of your information ...Lesley is great cook...cooks from the heart...thanks for food Lesley.
Upside: The owners, view of the room, the rooms, food, Loch Linhe ....
Downside: Small bathroom, Its on main road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupeshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is a little B&B overlooking Loch Linnhe. The view was absolutely outstanding! The breakfast was the best meal (not just breakfast) that I had in Scotland.
The room was very clean with a great view of the Loch. It had a nice sitting room with TV that was available to the guests. It has a quiet policy whereby there are no TV's in the rooms. It was an easy walk in either direction for dinner at a hotel. We went to the Loch Leven Hotel and had a very pleasant and reasonably priced dinner.
This was the cheapest yet the best accommodation that we had in Scotland.
This area is extremely busy so it is best to reserve early!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfHarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

My wife and me stayed several times at this BNB. We often brought our visitors when we wanted to stay near Glencoe, our favorite location in Scotland.

We stayed in different bedrooms. Cleanliness, attention to detail, quiet and peace, delicious breakfast with fresh eggs from a nearby farm... We have never been disappointed.

The views from the large bedrooms and from the dining room on the loch are amazing. There is no TV in the rooms, but with such a beautiful view you don't need any.

John and Lesley (Oh, and Mac the boxer!) are great hosts. They make you feel at home and are always available if you need an advise on what to do and what to see around.

I look forward to returning there!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Best breakfast in Scotland? This B&B is a serious contender for that title. The hosts provide their guests with a choice of 4 juices, choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, and a cooked breakfast composed of items you select yourself the night before from a detailed menu (including, for eg, potato scones, eggs, sausage (2 different kinds), tomatoes, mushrooms, and specials such as smoked haddock, or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon). All this with an amazing view across the loch to the mountains beyond.

The hosts, John and Lesley, are helpful and friendly; they suggested places to eat where we could hear live music (and their recommendations were excellent).

Our room was very pleasant - clean, neat, comfortable bed, some very welcome hot chocolate, tea and coffee etc. The bathroom and shower were fine.

Only quibble - it's a bit of a pain to be unable to spend any time in the B&B between 11am and 4pm. I appreciate that the B&B is the hosts' home and that they want to have time to clean and tidy rooms etc without guests being around. But I can imagine it being a bit inconvenient sometimes not to be allowed to be in the property until 4pm. I think this is quite an old-fashioned approach and certainly in the last 2 decades I haven't come across any B&B or Scotland that has had a rule like this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scot_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Having seen the website I was really looking forward to our stay at Tom-na-Creige, and not only did it live up to my expectations, it far surpassed them.
The house itself is lovely, and the bedroom (we stayed in the red room) was large, light and airy with an incredibly comfortable king-sized bed. Little extras such as fresh milk and 'his and her' cake bars when we arrived set the tone for the stay.
The food was delicious, with only the best quality produce - the views over the loch are an added bonus when tucking into your full Scottish breakfast!
John and Lesley could not have been more accommodating; they really go that extra mile for their guests. They are friendly and take a genuine interest in your comfort and welfare without being intrusive. We were made to feel very welcome, and throroughly enjoyed John's rather dry sense of humour... Lesley went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. We couldn't have asked for more.
The only downside was having to leave....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolM021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

While this B&B is clean and comfortable and has some great views over the loch, it's far from perfect. The rooms are equiped fairly basically and the breakfast was not up to the standards of most places nowadays. Our final night there was disturbed by the sound of snoring from a neighboring room, which isn't ideal.

The worst thing was I got the impression the owners don't really appreciate having guests around the house, which is odd for people who choose to run a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigjock09, Owner at Tom-na-Creige, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
As we believe this issue could descend into a war of words we have chosen not to dignify this review with any direct comment of our own.

Suffice to say that, there are most definitely two sides to every story and the one side of this story is as accurate as its spelling.

In addition what a gift we would possess if we had the ability to control people’s nocturnal breathing habits.

If you have any doubts about the quality of the hospitality, food and accommodation available here at Tom-na-Creige please continue to read the reviews from other guests who have stayed with us and then draw your own conclusions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We spent two nights in June at Tom-na-Creige B&B. We were awed by the spectacular view of Loch Linnhe in the attractive lounge/breakfast room, and also from our lovely bedroom (the Green Room). The view alone is worth the stay, but there is so much more to recommend. John and Lesley were friendly and helpful from our initial email contact and throughout our visit. John greeted us in a kilt, which set the perfect tone for the Highland portion of our vacation. He gave us great suggestions of what to do and see & where to eat while in the area. We had a fabulous time exploring scenic walking trails, and driving on single track roads to mountain climber's lodge for a meal and to a remote loch for more splendid views. Felt like we had a relaxed, non-touristy tourist experience, if that makes sense. Lesley's breakfasts were delicious and artfully presented--not to mention that million dollar view in the breakfast room! They even gave us excellent suggestions as we departed for the Isle of Skye. We highly recommend this gem of a B&B for quality, value, friendliness, and that remarkable view!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grapeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.0 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
691 reviews
0.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alltshellach
Alltshellach
#2 of 2 in North Ballachulish
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Alltshellach
#1 of 1 in North Ballachulish
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tom-na-Creige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom-na-Creige

Property: Tom-na-Creige
Address: North Ballachulish PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in North Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Tom-Na-Creige North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing